Friday, October 24, 2014

DJ Wilson - Ride to Restoration - Review & Giveaway



About the Book

In this second book, D learns that paying it forward is not without costs, toss in Candi Parker, the girl of D’s dreams gone rogue, along with vivacious Victoria Lawson, attorney at law, who willingly steps in to fill Candi’s thong, and D’s hilarious misadventures continue across Canada. Reality sets in and the bullets begin to fly just two days after he returns to the states.

D sends Victoria away to keep her out of harm’s way, before tackling his real life demons, aka A.J. Standford, the Ponzi scheming banker who has a bounty on D’s head, and Candi’s extended family, the Gambinos, who will profit from his demise.

The romantic side of the story poses multiple questions: Will D settle for Victoria after being royally screwed by Candi or will his feelings for Candi propel him back into her life and the crime family’s ongoing chaos? Will Candi take back her sleazy ex-husband Joseph or will she somehow manage to break with her powerful family and come crawling back to D’s loving arms?

With all of this going on, there’s bound to be hell to pay sooner rather than later. Like momma always said, “When you play with fire, you’re gonna get burned.”



My Review

There are many words of wisdom scattered throughout DJ Wilson's RIDE TO RESTORATION.

"Choose substance over style."

"To have a friend, you have to be a friend."

"The newness is gone along with the thrill of the chase."

"Our lives reflect the decisions we make."

"Look beyond that which disappoints you."

"Our minds are constantly at war with our past."

"Circumstances change, forcing people to change."

These little tidbits are meaningful in of themselves, but they combine to form a powerful whole. Wilson has a deft touch for infusing his fiction with life lessons that can benefit anyone. No matter where a person's at in life, they resonate beneath the surface of the story, making it that much richer.

Sure, the novel revolves around D and the women on the back of his motorcycle, but as a character he's also a biker philosopher, a deep thinker endlessly searching for inner peace and unconditional love. He's made a lot mistakes, having to start over one too many times, making him feel like he's alone in the world, drifting along in a sea of users and hypocrites.

But it doesn't dim his optimism any. He still believes in doing the right thing and championing people in need from terminally ill children to emotionally scarred war vets. He has an overwhelming desire to make the world a better place. Oftentimes, he gets frustrated when the people around him don't live up to their potential. He gives a lot because he expects a lot in return, not in terms of a monetary value or material goods, but an exchange of the heart, a union of spirits.

That Woodstock feel good mentality extends to everyone D comes in contact with. He may be naive. He may often get duped, but he's willing to give people a chance, no matter how many times he gets burned. His ex-wife leaves him after twenty plus years of marriage. His new girlfriend steals from him and takes off. He can be a bit of a sap when it comes to women, but it doesn't stop him from reaching out to members of the female variety who happen to catch his eye. He always goes in to each new relationship with the hope that maybe this time, this one will be the one for him, that kindred spirit he's been dreaming of.

His fortune cookie style of wisdom is simply stated, but it's backed by hard won experience. He's well aware of what it's like to end up on the short end of the stick, and he'd never knowingly do that to someone else. He wants to give everyone a fair shake, considering it his sacred duty as a human being. Of course, if a person dares to cross him by endangering someone he cares about, then all bets are off. He'll defend those he loves tooth and nail, right to the end, his loyalty knowing no bounds.

D's a lover and a fighter, but that's what makes him interesting. He tries to reconcile the two sides of himself and make them into a solid individual, but at times he struggles living up to the image he has of himself, breaking down at unexpected moments when he starts to lament his past. It's only when he sets his mind firmly on the future that he's able to move past his feelings of unworthiness and rejection and grab life by the handlebars. As a biker, forward motion is where he's most comfortable, when he forgets to look in the rearview mirror and focuses solely on the road ahead.

It's no wonder his signature line is, "Let's ride!"

***

Ride to Restoration can be purchased at:
Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes and Noble, Google Play

Prices/Formats: $4.99 ebook, $11.95 paperback
Pages: 318
Genre: Erotic Romance
Release: July 16, 2014
Publisher: Riscatto Publishing
ISBN: 9781604148022
Click to add to your Goodreads list.


FREE ebook download 
of book one of this series

Smashwords Promo Code: MU83Y
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/458463
expires 10/24/14








About the Author

Raised in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee, I graduated from Cumberland University, located in a small town you've never heard just inside Kentucky quite a few years ago. At the present, we're living beside beautiful Dale Hollow Lake.

Blessed to travel, blessed with health, blessed with second chances, too numerous to list here.

As a blogger, featured on many sites, including the Huffington Post, I have been humbled beyond measure, more times than not, by all that life has thrown our way.

Successful, that's me, catastrophic failure, that's me too. We've been there, done that and have the life changing scars to prove it.

Our writings reflect life through the throes of heartache and loss, as well as through the joys redemption brings.

"Life is not waiting for the Storms to Pass, It's Learning to Dance in the Rain."

Links to connect with DJ:
Web Site
Twitter
Goodreads
Blog Tour Site


About the Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Richard H. Hardy - The Infinity Program - Author Interview & Giveaway



About the Book

Jon Graeme and Harry Sale are unlikely friends. Harry is a world-class programmer, but his abrasive personality alienates co-workers. In contrast, Jon is a handsome and easy-going technical writer, the low man on the IT totem pole.

Sharing a love of nature, the men set out together, planning to go their separate ways--Jon on a hike and Harry, fly fishing. Three days later, Jon arrives at the rendezvous point, but his friend is nowhere in sight. When Jon finds Harry unconscious on the floor of a cave, Harry claims to have been lying there the entire time. But he is neither cold nor hungry. What Jon doesn't know is that Harry fell into an underground cavern, where he came into contact with an alien quantum computer.

Back at work, Harry jettisons his regular tasks and concentrates exclusively on inventing new operating language to access the alien system. In the process he crashes his office's Super Computer and is fired. Jon convinces the company to give Harry a second chance, arguing that the system he has invented will make them millions.

Jon has no idea what havoc Harry is about to unleash.


Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?
I’ve never been very good at coming up with titles, but in the case of The Infinity Program I was lucky. While I was working on the book one morning, the title came to me out of thin air in a line of dialogue. When I write dialogue, it’s almost like I stop being me and become the character who is talking. My lead character used the phrase “infinity program” and as soon as I re-read the draft, I realized I had my title.



2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
My main goal in writing The Infinity Program was to write an entertaining book. But there is a message behind the fun: We must be better caretakers of our world or all that we love and cherish will be in jeopardy.



3. How much of the book is realistic?
I tried hard to create a realistic setting. Part of it was created out of my own work experience but most of it came from stories told to me by people who had previously worked for much larger companies. I must confess too that a lot of it was purely imaginative.


4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
If I could re-write the book at this point, I think I would re-work the love triangle in the book. I think there were many possibilities that I could have developed more completely.



5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
I always have trouble with the middle section of a book. When you get to the mid-point of a novel, it seems like so many different directions are possible. It’s almost like moving through a labyrinth. There is always the fear that you will take a wrong turn and end up totally lost. I had to do a lot of re-writing to get the middle section right.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I think the most important thing I learned is that problems can only be solved one scene at a time. If you try to work out every detail in advance, you end up locking yourself in a box. A corollary of this is persistence. I learned to stay with a problem and solve it before I moved on. A programmer/analyst once told me that making a programming mistake was like taking a wrong turn on a highway. If you catch the wrong turn immediately, then you can get back to where you want to go. But if you take a wrong turn and then make a second wrong turn, you can end up hopelessly lost.



7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
I was a big reader from a young age and even wrote a few stories. But I never thought of myself as a writer until I read a short story by Thomas Wolfe called Gulliver. It was a story about an exceedingly tall man and the difficulties he faced because of his height. At the time, I was 14 years old and over 6’4” tall. I was blown away with how a fictional story could get so directly to the truth of an experience. I decided then and there that I wanted to be a writer.



8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
This is really difficult question because I love so many books. But the book that had the biggest impact on me was Doctor Faustus by Thomas Mann. When I finished this book I turned back to the first page and read it over a second time. I recently purchased the new translation by John Woods and am looking forward to reading it again. I love all the different levels of meaning in the book. I found the main character, the composer Adrian Leverkuhn, absolutely fascinating.



9. Tell us your latest news.
My latest news is that The Infinity Program is now available on Apple’s Itunes.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
A writer is nothing without a reader. My sincerest thanks to all the readers out there!


***

The Infinity Program can be purchased at:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Smashwords
iBooks
Kobo

Prices/Formats: $5.95 ebook, $13.95 paperback
Pages: 250
Genre: Science Fiction, Romance
Release: April 1, 2014
Publisher: Camel Press
ISBN: 9781603819336
Click to add to your Goodreads list.


About the Author

Richard H. Hardy was born in Glasgow, Scotland, during a week of relentless bombing raids just before the close of World War II. The day he was born an incendiary bomb fell on the church across the street from where he lived, so he is fond of saying that he entered the world with a big adrenaline rush.

His family later moved to England and then on to America.

After college Richard bounced through a series of temporary jobs as he traveled around the country, wanting nothing more than to write fiction. A job driving a library van allowed him free time to write several short stories and work on a novel.

He and his wife moved to New Hampshire, where he took an entry level job at a software company. He was soon promoted to the technical writing department and ended up producing over 500,000 words of online documentation. After a few years he was promoted to the programming department and ended up as the Senior EDI Programmer, creating EDI maps and writing UNIX scripts and troubleshooting on AIX systems throughout the U.S. and Canada.

After he retired, he started writing fiction again. The Infinity Program is his first published novel.

Links to connect with Richard:
Web Site
Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
Blog Tour Site


Read an Excerpt:



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, September 19, 2014

Mia Kerick - The Red Sheet - Review & Giveaway



About the Book

One October morning, high school junior Bryan Dennison wakes up a different person—helpful, generous, and chivalrous—a person whose new admirable qualities he doesn’t recognize. Stranger still is the urge to tie a red sheet around his neck like a cape. Bryan soon realizes this compulsion to wear a red cape is accompanied by more unusual behavior. He can’t hold back from retrieving kittens from tall trees, helping little old ladies cross busy streets, and defending innocence anywhere he finds it.

Shockingly, at school, he realizes he used to be a bully. He’s attracted to the former victim of his bullying, Scott Beckett, though he has no memory of Scott from before “the change.” Where he’d been lazy in academics, overly aggressive in sports, and socially insecure, he’s a new person. And although he can recall behaving egotistically, he cannot remember his motivations.

Everyone, from his mother to his teachers to his “superjock” former pals, is shocked by his dramatic transformation. However, Scott Beckett is not impressed by Bryan’s newfound virtue. And convincing Scott he’s genuinely changed and improved, hopefully gaining Scott’s trust and maybe even his love, becomes Bryan’s obsession.

With a foreword by Cody Kennedy



My Review

Young adult author Mia Kerick frames her same-sex love story THE RED SHEET around the popular 2001 song "Superman" by Five for Fighting. Familiar lyrics like "Even heroes have the right to dream," and "It's not easy to be me," become fitting chapter titles when her protagonist Bryan Dennison wakes up one morning and wants to save the world. He doesn't know what brought on this radical transformation and why he suddenly feels like the ambassador of GreenPeace, the Salvation Army and Feeding America all rolled into one. As the first person narrator, Bryan is telling the story to the audience in order to understand what is happening to him.

All Bryan knows is that he's attracted to chorus tenor Scott Beckett with his wire-rimmed glasses and porcelain skin—and he shouldn't be—not if he wants to maintain his street cred with the superjock crowd. Bryan excels at two things: bullying and basketball. Having Scott as his boyfriend just doesn't fit into that formula. He's a star athlete whose sole motivation is to win, at all costs. He cares too much about what people think of him to throw his reputation away on a boy he can't have. There's no way he's going to come out, even if he's able to admit, at least to himself, "Scott…well, he just did it for me."

However, practice makes perfect and little by little Bryan gains confidence in his feelings by standing up for his newfound convictions. He prays. He tells the truth. He puts the needs of others ahead of his own. He doesn't want to sit on the sidelines anymore. He's ready to champion the cause of right over wrong. But Scott doesn't want to have anything to do with him. Somewhere along the line, Bryan broke Scott's spirit, and it's killing him that he can't remember how.

The novel is part mystery as Bryan tries to remember the kind of self-absorbed jerk he used to be. His memory is riddled with gaps and as he sorts through the clues of his recent past he comes to learn that he was complicit in something terrible that happened to Scott. He works through the remainder of the book trying to make amends for what he did to him before the full weight of his betrayal slams onto his shoulders. The tension is heightened with every page as Bryan's interior journey comes full circle.

Yet through his love for Scott, Bryan is finally able to stand up for what he believes in. He chooses the hard road because it's worth it, not because it's easy. He knows that he can't escape himself. Strength only comes from suffering. He's not lost anymore. He knows that he won't slip back and become the person he once was because Scott was able to forgive him. He's aware now how closely hurt and love go hand in hand, and how love is its own form of kryptonite if it's not handled with care. With love comes responsibility, and Bryan is finally man enough to protect and guard Scott's heart with everything he has, letting the world know that he belongs to him. Now he's able to don his red cape in public, because being openly in love is what really makes him fly.

***

The Red Sheet can be purchased at:
Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Dreamspinner Press, All Romance Books

Prices/Formats: $6.99 ebook, $14.99 paperback
Pages: 190
Genre: Young Adult
Release: February 20, 2014
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 9781627987219
Click to add to your Goodreads list.


About the Author

Mia Kerick is the mother of four exceptional children—all named after saints—and five nonpedigreed cats—all named after the next best thing to saints, Boston Red Sox players. Her husband of twenty years has been told by many that he has the patience of Job, but don’t ask Mia about that, as it is a sensitive subject.

Mia focuses her stories on the emotional growth of troubled young men and their relationships, and she believes that sex has a place in a love story, but not until it is firmly established as a love story. As a teen, Mia filled spiral-bound notebooks with romantic tales of tortured heroes (most of whom happened to strongly resemble lead vocalists of 1980s big-hair bands) and stuffed them under her mattress for safekeeping. She is thankful to Dreamspinner Press for providing her with an alternate place to stash her stories.

Mia is proud of her involvement with the Human Rights Campaign and cheers for each and every victory made in the name of marital equality. Her only major regret: never having taken typing or computer class in school, destining her to a life consumed with two-fingered pecking and constant prayer to the Gods of Technology.

My themes I always write about:
Sweetness. Unconventional love, tortured/damaged heroes- only love can save them

Links to connect with Mia:
Web Site
Facebook
Goodreads
Blog
YouTube
Blog Tour Site


About the Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, September 5, 2014

Michael J. Bowler - There Is No Fear - Review & Giveaway



About the Book

The most famous boy in the world is a prisoner. He’s been charged with a crime he didn’t commit, a crime that could send him to prison for the rest of his life. Languishing within The Compound, the most secure juvenile facility in California, while the district attorney vows to make an example of him because of his celebrity status, Lance must endure the daily indignities of the incarcerated.

New Camelot is fractured without him. Ricky and Chris are bereft, living for the weekly phone call that becomes their only lifeline to the brother they so desperately love, while Arthur and Jenny feel the loss of their son with a sadness that can’t be quelled. And what about Michael, the highly volatile teen who helped write the proposition that will change California forever? Could he really be the monster he says he is? His hatred of Ricky is palpable, and his instability may well threaten the lives of everyone at New Camelot.

As the election looms closer, Proposition 51 takes on an even greater significance in light of the pending trial of the century. The more harshly fifteen-year-old Lance is treated within the broken justice system, the more he contemplates the wisdom of his idea that children need more adult rights. If The Child Voter Act becomes law, won’t it simply allow adults to throw more kids into prison with impunity?

Whichever way the voters decide, his greatest fear remains the same: will he ever again be with the people he loves?

The Knight Cycle Continues…


My Review

"I'm not ready to be a grownup yet."

With that simple admission, author Michael J. Bowler sums up the essence of young adult literature. So often, writers try to make their teenage characters seem more put together than they really are. It could be a ploy, telling young readers what they want to hear, that authority figures suck. It could be a marketing strategy that love equals sex because sex sells. It could be the belief that teenagers are looking to escape their problems, not solve them, so let's keep them disconnected because they want to be. But that kind of mentality is shortchanging a smart and capable teenage audience.

Yet again and again, publishers choose to spit out the same old story that teenagers don't need adults, feeding them the line that they can overcome any obstacle on their own. All they need is a hot love interest and they're all set, able to conquer anything that gets in their way.

But Bowler knows teens better than most. In 2000, he was invited to visit the White House when he was named the National Big Brother of the Year. For thirty years, he has volunteered within the juvenile justice system of Los Angeles, and he's been a high school teacher for a quarter of a century. He's not writing about some abstract, fantasy concept of what teenagers are supposed to be. He knows them firsthand because he's at the epicenter of youth culture, both good and bad.

That's why the adult characters in THERE IS NO FEAR are just as important as their younger counterparts. King Arthur is a father figure, the stabilizing influence for a group of troubled teens who aren't sure where they fit in or where they belong. He's a source of unconditional love because he expects them to mess up and make mistakes. He knows they're not going to be perfect. He's ready and willing to welcome them home time and again, never shutting his door to the prodigal sons in his midst. Arthur says so poignantly, "I've learned that it's ever and always my job to set a right and proper example for them. I've learned to trust them, and never, ever give up on them."

There are many touching scenes between King Arthur and his adopted son/protege, Lance. When fifteen-year-old Lance is sent to prison, Arthur waits in line outside the gate, desperate to see him. He never misses a visit. The minute he arrives, he's anxiously watching for Lance's face behind the barred window to his cell.

Another key moment is when Arthur has a heart-to-heart with Lance about the abuse he suffered at the hands of his foster father. There is a lot of pain that gets dredged up in that conversation, but Arthur is astute enough to realize that Lance has been carrying around a lot of heavy misconceptions about himself that need to be addressed and set right. It's a talk that's not easy to have, but it's one that Arthur doesn't shy away from.

A second adult worthy of mention is Merlin. Although he only makes one appearance of merit in THERE IS NO FEAR, it's an important one. Lance is foundering under a false sense of identity. He thinks he has to be perfect to be truly worthy anyone's love. But Merlin sets him right, saying, "In this era there seems to be an obsession with the perfect male and the perfect female, and if you cannot live up to those ideals you are somehow a failure. These idealized notions of perfection are like your Hollywood movies, Lance–pure fantasy. Do not destroy yourself because you cannot measure up to the fantasy image of the perfect boy. Would that you could see yourself through my eyes, you would see a true hero, an amazing young man who is more real than most." And that's a certainly a message all media-obsessed teens need to hear—it's okay to be yourself.

If Bowler could be there for every teen out there, you get the sense that he would. However, even if he can't personally visit each and every teen, he's able to reach a lot more through his books. Bowler is an author deserving of a wide spread audience, especially among inner city youth who are at risk of becoming just another statistic in the criminal justice system, like many of the boys Lance meets in prison. They need to hear that they're not mistakes, and that they're loved and someone cares about them. And if Bowler's unable to get to them personally, I think he hopes that his readers will take up the cause, because he can't do it alone, he needs help. Social change may start with one person, but it culminates with the active participation of the many.

The Round Table-inspired works of Bowler's are certainly meant to entertain, but they do so much more than that. They're the trumpet call in the night. They're the summoning sword held aloft. They're a call to action to right the many injustices facing the world today. It's up to readers whether or not they want to remain passive bystanders, who read simply as a means of escape, or if they're willing to take Bowler up on his offer and join the New Camelot because it's real and it's there, waiting right outside the pages of this book.

***

There Is No Fear can be purchased at:
Amazon

Prices/Formats: $4.99 ebook, $13.95 paperback
Pages: 284
Genre: Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
Release: July 17, 2014
Publisher: self-published
ISBN: 9780990306337
Click to add to your Goodreads list.


About the Author

Michael J. Bowler is an award-winning author of five novels––A Boy and His Dragon, A Matter of Time (Silver Medalist from Reader’s Favorite), Children of the Knight (Gold Award Winner in the Wishing Shelf Book Awards), Running Through A Dark Place, and There Is No Fear––who grew up in San Rafael, California. His horror screenplay, “Healer,” was a Semi-Finalist, and his urban fantasy script, “Like A Hero,” was a Finalist in the Shriekfest Film Festival and Screenplay Competition.

He majored in English and Theatre at Santa Clara University and earned a master’s in film production from Loyola Marymount University, a teaching credential in English from LMU, and another master's in Special Education from Cal State University Dominguez Hills.

He partnered with two friends as producer, writer, and/or director on several ultra-low-budget horror films, including “Fatal Images,” “Club Dead,” and “Things II,” the reviews of which are much more fun than the actual movies.

He taught high school in Hawthorne, California for twenty-five years, both in general education and to students with learning disabilities, in subjects ranging from English and Strength Training to Algebra, Biology, and Yearbook.

He has also been a volunteer Big Brother to seven different boys with the Catholic Big Brothers Big Sisters program and a thirty-year volunteer within the juvenile justice system in Los Angeles. He is a passionate advocate for the fair treatment of children and teens in California, something that is sorely lacking in this state.

He has been honored as Probation Volunteer of the Year, YMCA Volunteer of the Year, California Big Brother of the Year, and 2000 National Big Brother of the Year. The “National” honor allowed he and three of his Little Brothers to visit the White House and meet the president in the Oval Office.

He has already written the two remaining books that complete The Children of the Knight Cycle and both will be released in 2014.

He is currently at work on a horror/suspense novel based on his screenplay, “Healer.”

Links to connect with Michael:
Web Site
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
Blog
Tumblr
Instagram
Blog Tour Site


About the Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Cathi Stoler - The Hard Way - Review & Giveaway



About the Book

Private Investigator Helen McCorkendale’s childhood friend, Jimmy Scanlan, has just opened January, the most lavish casino and hotel resort on the Las Vegas Strip. After attending the grand opening, Helen returns to New York and encourages her friend, Laurel Imperiole, Senior Editor at Women Now magazine, to create a get-away contest for readers offering a weekend at the hotel as the grand prize. The winner, Dawn Chapman, a jewelry store employee from Cincinnati, denies entering the contest and initially refuses the trip. Finally persuaded by Laurel to accept, she arrives at the hotel and nearly faints when she passes the hotel’s elite meeting rooms where the International Diamond Dealers Consortium is holding its annual meeting. She insists on returning home immediately.

Suspicious of her behavior, Jimmy visits her suite to encourage her to attend the Saturday afternoon pool party, saying she can leave on his private jet the next day. Later in the afternoon, he finds Chapman’s dead body by the pool. She’s been murdered—an unusual double poisoning by cyanide and diamond dust.

Dawn Chapman was not who she appeared to be, and therein lies a mystery. But to Helen and Laurel, the main task is to take Jimmy Scanlon off the suspect list and clear his name. Will their luck hold? Or will it be a crap shoot, as they roll the dice and do it ‘the hard way,’ going for doubles when the odds are against them. Losing may mean losing their lives.



My Review

Gamblers are a fickle lot. If there's even a hint of a suggestion that a place is jinxed, they'll up and run like nobody's business, never to return. So when a contest winner from Women Now magazine is murdered at the newly opened January Resort and Casino, all of Las Vegas holds its collective breath. Will owner Jimmy Scanlan be charged with homicide or will he simply lose his shirt? Somebody's out to get him and his most trusted friend P.I. Helen McCorkendale is determined to get to the bottom of things and save him from the slammer, as well as impending bankruptcy.

The clues start to add up, one by one. The International Diamond Dealers Consortium is holding a convention at Jimmy's casino. The victim, Dawn Chapman, was poisoned when someone laced her gin and tonic with diamond dust, a modus operandi akin to swallowing ground-up glass. Jimmy's main rival on the Strip is the owner of The Florentine, who tried to keep Jimmy from setting up shop, but failed. His security detail has ties to the consortium, but he begged off holding the convention, claiming that a movie was being shot at his casino and he couldn't accommodate their needs, making it more than suspicious that he was setting Jimmy up to take the fall.

Helen has her work cut out for her, but she's ready and willing to take on some of the richest diamond dealers in the world. They don't want their dirty secrets coming to light, but she doesn't let anything dissuade her from investigating their back room dealings. She knows that she's walking on dangerous ground, looking into the de Groot family, one of the most prestigious in the diamond trade. They recently acquired a red diamond believed to be lost after Tsar Nicholas was executed during the Russian Revolution. With its sudden reappearance, more than a few jewel thieves are looking to steal it for themselves.

Was Dawn Chapman one of those thieves? When her criminal background is revealed, Helen begins to question the motives of this supposed jewelry store worker from Cincinnati. Who was she really and how come she didn't want to visit Las Vegas? Did she cross paths with someone in Jimmy's hotel before she turned up dead? Was it someone from the consortium or another hustler who wanted her out of the picture when it came to stealing the diamond?

Stoler poses a lot of questions as her narrative thread weaves its way toward a compelling conclusion. Sometimes the good guys win, and sometimes they don't. It takes a mystery writer worthy of her salt to shake things up a bit at the end, and not give readers exactly what they're looking for, but something decidedly more off center, something better. There's nothing worse than figuring a mystery out in the opening pages, and Stoler works in enough twists and turns to keep readers guessing all the way to the final chapter for an ending many won't see coming.

***

The Hard Way can be purchased at:
Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords

Prices/Formats: $4.95 ebook, $14.95 paperback
Pages: 280
Genre: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Release: April 15, 2014
Publisher: Camel Press
ISBN: 9781603819497
Click to add to your Goodreads list.


About the Author

Cathi Stoler’s mysteries feature PI Helen McCorkendale and magazine editor, Laurel Imperiole. The Hard Way is the third book in the series. The first, Telling Lies, took on the subject of stolen Nazi art. Book 2, Keeping Secrets, delved into the subject of hidden identity. Stoler’s short stories include: “Magda,” in the Criminal Element Anthology Malfeasance Occasional: Girl Trouble, “Out of Luck,” in the Anthology, Murder New York Style: Fresh Slices, “Fatal Flaw,” a finalist for the Derringer for Best Short Story and “Money Never Sleeps” both published at Beat to A Pulp. Cathi is working on a novella, Nick of Time, which features International gambler, Nick Donahue. She is also starting a new series, Bar None, A Murder On The Rocks Mystery, with female bar owner, Jude Dillane. Cathi is a member of the New York/Tri State chapter of Sisters In Crime. She is also a member of Mystery Writers of America.

Links to connect with Cathi:
Web Site
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
Blog
Blog Tour Site


About the Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway