Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Valentine Dmitriev - Lori, Runaway Wife - Author Interview

My thanks to 92-year-old Valentine Dmitriev for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews & Giveaways for an author interview about her book, Lori, Runaway Wife.

1. How did you come up with the title?
The title, Lori, Runaway Wife, came to me as a spontaneous outgrowth of the story. In three words it gives the reader the name of the main character, who she is and what she does. From the title we learn that Lori is a married woman who abandons her husband. To find out why she takes the desperate step of running away and what happens to her after she leaves, one would have to read the book.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Yes. Domestic violence is a serious social problem. Statistics show that there are more than 600,000 cases of spousal abuse reported annually. The majority of the victims who remain in abusive relationships, do so because they have nowhere to go and no way of supporting themselves and their children. They lack education and marketable skills. Lori, on the other hand, is a nurse. As a skilled professional she is able to find a new road to freedom and happiness. My message stresses the value of education and the importance of professional as well as vocational training. These are the tools to freedom and a productive life.

3. How much of the book is realistic?

I believe the entire book is realistic. What my characters do or say is intended to reveal an aspect of their personality, their covert and overt motivations and desires.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
The only change that I would make would be to strengthen my message. With a word or a phrase here and there, without being too obvious or heavy-hand I would thread my theme through the book.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
The hardest part was deciding how to begin the novel. My first attempt was to start the book with a prologue. After writing a number of pages, I realized it was taking me off course and I still had to decide how to open the first chapter with a hook that would catch a reader’s attention. Many books do start with a prologue, but they are not always successful. Personally I prefer reading material that plunges right in with Chapter 1. I must admit, however, that my latest book, Stolen Bride, published two weeks ago, does begin with a prologue that turned out to be a good lead into the rest of the book. In fact I have to admit that I added the prologue after I had already written several chapters. These are some of the dilemmas that authors encounter.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I had already published seven nonfiction books on parenting and child development when I finally had the time and freedom to begin writing fiction. The challenge of creating characters and telling their story fascinated and excited me. Lori, Runaway Wife is my second novel. After the publication of my first book, a lighthearted romance, I wanted to write something more serious. As I worked on my second book, I was learning how to become an author and one thing that I learned was how to use my life experiences as a foundation for plot and character development.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
I was home schooled and learned to read at an early age. At first I read poetry. We had a volume of Longfellow’s Poems. Before I knew it, I was writing little poems that were published in our newspaper's "Children’s Corner." I wrote the poems simply because they popped up in my head. I did not think of becoming a writer, not yet. That happened when I was eight years old and had just finished reading Little Women. Perhaps I had been inspired by Jo March, but suddenly I knew, with perfect clarity, that I wanted to become an author and write books.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I admire many authors, both classic and contemporary, but my favorite is Jane Austen. She was a remarkably gifted writer with the talent to portray the human nature of her characters with wit, gentleness and a touch of satire. She has been described as, “One of the superb literary artists of the world.”

9. Tell us your latest news.
The second week of August 2011 marked the publication of my fourth novel, Stolen Bride. A kidnapped nineteen year-old Amish girl finds freedom and love in a new world.The book is available at Amazon, Barnes and Noble and other book stores.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I would like to tell my readers the following: If you have a dream, a goal you wish to achieve, hang on to it even if you have to put it on the back burner while you are committed to fulfilling other responsibilities. Keep your dream in your heart like the bulb of a flower, until the time comes for your dream to bloom in the light of day.

About the Book
Lori, Runaway Wife

Book Details:
Publisher: Publish America
Published: September 2008
Genre: Thriller/Suspense
Pages: 230
Format: Paperback

Blurb:
Pretty, young Lori Becker is a nursing intern at a Queens hospital and is a battered wife. Professionally skilled, she is socially naive. Intimidated by her brutal husband, Lori lives in the fantasy world of romance mysteries, idolizing their handsome author, Ian Damion. A car accident sends Francine Ross, an unmarried, pregnant woman to the maternity ward where Lori works. The distraught man accompanying Francine is Ian Damion. Francine’s full-term infant is delivered. Her casual liaison with Ian is over, and she grants him custody of his newborn son. Ian must return to Washington State. He needs a baby’s nanny. Concealing her identity, Lori volunteers. This is her chance to escape from her husband. Lori matures, develops self-esteem and falls in love with Ian, but when he returns her love and proposes, Lori must confess that she’s a married woman.

Background:
Author Valentine Dmitriev learned a lot about spousal abuse when she served as a juror in the trial of a man charged with attacking his ex-wife, torturing her all night, and raping her with the neck of a wine bottle.

As a lifetime educator, the author wove into the plot of abused wife Lori Becker the tale of how the young nurse’s life skills provided for her a means of escape and the tools to build a life of independence and freedom from fear.

Lori, Runaway Wife is a gripping story of a timid, battered wife who finds the courage to run away and the path to a new life. In telling this story, Dmitriev reinforces what social workers know from experience that spouse abuse victims are much more apt to survive if they possess life skills and career skills.

“Education gives women as well as men greater freedom to make better and more desirable choices,” says Dmitriev. “For women especially, an education that prepares them for a marketable skill gives them freedom – the chance to leave a bad relationship with the knowledge they can support themselves and their children independently.”

Excerpt:
Boyd called her frigid and her Aunt Hattie called her a slut. She was neither frigid nor wanton. She was a decent young woman with all the normal impulses a loving wife would have in response to a loving husband, which Boyd was not.

Desperate to escape from Boyd, and in her romantic need to remain with Ian, she was plunging, like a heedless diver, into an unforeseeable future. Reality brought a sting of fear. Springing to her feet she began pacing back and forth like the restless waves of an incoming tide.

Unconsciously Lori straightened her back and raised her chin. Esther had called her a professional and she was. She was proud of her work, proud that she knew how to use her knowledge and experience.

Today she had assumed a new identity. Her marriage, her married name were now erased from her consciousness just as she would obliterate obscenities scrawled on a blackboard by impertinent pranksters. She would never think of her marriage again and she could see no reason for revealing it to Ian or anyone else.

Like a bird she was free; flying through the air hundreds of miles away from Boyd and danger. Ian, though entirely lost in his work, sat only a few feet away. He was her rock, her security. The infant in her arms was the symbol of a new life, a new beginning. It was time to abandon her past. Time to unearth and discard the horrors buried in her subconscious.

Hummingbirds darted, feeding on a honeysuckle’s nectar. There was sunshine and rain, perfume and a painter’s palette of color, but still no word from Ian.

Yet she was afraid. She bore too many emotional and physical scars from Boyd’s brutality. Perhaps in the months she had been freed from her husband’s attacks the rawness within her had healed and sex with Ian would not be as torturous to her as she feared. Still it was on trembling limbs that Lori slowly mounted the steps to Ian’s room.

Another man had possessed that lovely body. Another man had enjoyed her tantalizing kisses, her ardent love play. The torture was so great that if he had a sword he would plunge it into his chest to end the agony.
Lori wakened the next morning filled with dread and uncertainty. The devilish imp who pricked at her conscience during her sleep, returned with a vengeance, driving the sharp prong of his fork into her very soul, piercing her heart. A black cloud of guilt enveloped her. She told no lies, but her silence was equal to a treacherous betrayal of Ian’s faith in her.

She was tired of climbing Mayan ruins or paddling flimsy crafts down the Amazon. Most of all she was weary of herding hordes of disorganized, cantankerous tourists on worldwide exotic treks. She had seen enough of ruins and pyramids, snakes and scorpions, apes and kangaroos to last a lifetime.

Since his last e-mail informing Lori that he was sailing for Barbados there had been no other messages from Ian. Every morning and several times throughout the day, Lor9i bestirred herself to go upstairs and check the inbox, hoping against hope to find a message from him. Invariably there were no messages and with each disappointment her dark mood deepened.

Lori had never been to a prom, she had never danced in a ballroom, but since she was eight, up until her father’s death, she had taken piano, ballet and ballroom dancing lessons. With the first step it all came back to her, and she danced with the same skill and grace that charmed her teacher and parents.


About the Author
Valentine Dmitriev

Valentine Dmitriev has a Ph.D. in Early Childhood Special Education and is the published author of numerous professional articles, seven books on parenting, education and child development and three romance novels. For thirty-two years of her life, she worked with both typically developing as well as with developmentally and mentally disabled infants and preschool youngsters.

A pioneer in infant learning and early intervention and a member of the academic staff at the University of Washington, she was the founder and past coordinator of an innovative educational program designed to accelerate the mental and physical development of young children with Down syndrome and other disabilities. Her Model Preschool Program was so successful that the University of Washington, the Program and Dr. Dmitriev received national recognition.

As a result of this recognition, Dr. Dmitriev began serving as a consultant to public schools, developmental centers and universities that were interested in replicating her Model Preschool Program for Children with Down Syndrome and other Disabilities. Over the next fifteen years she traveled widely, giving lectures and conducting workshops in forty cities in America and eleven foreign countries including Australia, England, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Russia and Spain.

Valentine Dmitriev was born in Shanghai, China, of Russian parents who fled from St. Petersburg at the height of the Bolshevik revolution. From China her family, father, mother, maternal grandmother and she, migrated to Canada. After a few years in Vancouver, B.C., they settled in Seattle. Dr. Dmitriev remained in Washington State until 2005 when she moved to a Retirement Community near Hackettstown, New Jersey.

Finishing high school at the age of fifteen, Valentine entered the University of Washington. At nineteen she graduated with a B.A. in English and Creative Writing. Several months later, she married Nick Dmitriev, a fellow alumnus with a degree in electrical engineering.

Dr. Dmitriev's career began in 1950 when Alex, the youngest of their three children (a girl and two boys), was thirty months old. After taking some courses on child development and education, she took a part-time job as a nursery school teacher in a Parent Cooperative Preschool under the auspices of the Seattle Public Schools Family Life program. The advantage of this position was that Alex was enrolled in the same class that she was teaching.

Three years later when Alex entered kindergarten, she was able to accept a promotion within the Family Life program, becoming a Family Life instructor, another part-time job. No longer a preschool teacher, she was now responsible for supervising five Parent Cooperative Preschools. The focus was on teacher and parent training and maintaining the high standards of a superior preschool program.

As time went on, Dr. Dmitriev became increasingly concerned about the plight of young children with special needs, as there were no preschool programs for these youngsters. As a Family Life instructor, she did succeed in establishing one preschool for children with disabilities, but at the same time she realized that she was inadequately prepared to help these children, their teacher and parents. At this point she resigned from her Family Life position to enter a graduate program in special education.

By now her daughter, Cathy, was married, her oldest son, Michael, was in college and Alex was a high school senior. At last she felt free to pursue her new goals. Although Valentine was now a student in a Master's program, majoring in psychology and special education, based upon her past work experience, she was given an academic status and hired to work as a teacher in a developmental psychology experimental preschool. It was there that she began her pilot program for infants with Down syndrome.

Somehow between lectures and workshops and routine work at the University, Dr. Dmitriev completed the required courses, wrote her research dissertation, passed two days of written and one oral exam, and earned her Ph.D. In 1982, she took an early retirement and left the University, however, she continued her travels, frequently giving three-week workshops in one place. Also retired, her husband frequently accompanied her.

One month before their fifty-first anniversary, Nick suffered a massive stroke and died. Left alone, her children married and scattered, Dmitriev sold their Redmond, Washington, home and moved to their waterfront summer place on Whidbey Island, some thirty miles north of Seattle. At last she was able to fulfill her life-long dream of becoming an author. Before moving to New Jersey to be closer to her daughter, Cathy, and son Alex, she wrote and published five books. Comfortably settled in a retirement cottage, Dr. Dmitriev is currently writing her fourth novel.

Website:
ValentineDmitriev.com


Monday, August 22, 2011

Jim Dwyer & Kevin Flynn - 102 Minutes - Giveaway & Review

It seems hard to believe that we're approaching the 10th anniversary of September 11th. At the time, I had just moved to Manhattan about two weeks before the attacks. When it happened, I was alone in a Greenwich Village apartment scared out of my mind. I remember hearing the roar of American Airlines Flight 11 as it flew over my roof before crashing into the North Tower. I remember seeing an armed military fighter jet flying overhead ready to shoot down any more hijacked planes. I remember hearing people hysterically crying as they returned to my apartment building and made their way up the corridor of steps that passed my door. I could go on, but I can only offer a limited scope on a day that defies all magnitude.

I've wanted to read 102 Minutes: The Untold Story of the Fight to Survive Inside the Twin Towers by Jim Dwyer and Kevin Flynn for quite some time now. And I'm not afraid to say, it took me awhile to gather my courage before I could pick it up. I wasn't sure that even 10 years later I was ready to read about what happened inside the towers on that fateful day. The horror is beyond all imagining, but Dwyer and Flynn provide an important historical resource filled with humanity and backed by a gargantuan reporting effort. The amount of facts, interviews, phone recordings and email accounts is seamlessly woven into a gripping narrative that is utterly fascinating. I could not put it down once I started and ended up finishing the book in two days. The writers' ability to make you feel like you are inside the towers while these catastrophic events are unfolding is nothing short of investigative journalism at its best.

What surprised me is that even after a decade of continuous media coverage there was still so much that I learned for the first time in this book. There were roughly 14,000 people in the towers when the first plane struck and over 12,000 made it out alive. That is a staggering number. When they descended multiple stories of narrow staircases, the survivors then had to exit a lobby from which bodies and fiery debris were dropping from above. The fact that so many were able to safely evacuate is astounding.

The sheer amount of detail in the book is impressive. For example, no one could make it to the roof because a series of three doors were designed to prevent would-be suicide attempts from jumping off the city's tallest buildings. Yet, those above the crash zone even found a window washer with a key card that would open two of the doors, but no one was monitoring a video camera to push a button that would unlock the third door. Even so, a helicopter rescue was deemed unlikely due to the vast amount of smoke engulfing the tops of both towers. It is heartbreaking to witness the frustration of those trying to find a way out at all costs.

What boggles the mind is that the majority of the people in the towers - civilians, firefighters, police - had no clue what was going on. The millions of people watching the scene unfold on TV had a better vantage point than those inside fighting for their lives. It makes you wonder what would have happened today in the age of Twitter and Facebook when news headlines are so readily available via cell phone. In a state of utter confusion, 911 operators gave conflicting instructions to those calling from the World Trade Center. Some callers were told to leave, while others were instructed to stay and wait for help. In the midst of such pandemonium, it was hard for anyone to get a clear picture of what was going on. Was it a bomb? Was it a fire? In fact, due to the geographic nature of the buildings, some in the South Tower could not even see that the North Tower had been hit.

There are so many individual stories profiled in the book, but one that stands out for me is Battalion Chief Orio J. Palmer, a marathon runner and FDNY firefighter. His determination led him to climb 78 stories to reach the impact zone of the South Tower. He made it to an elevator staging bay where people would transfer to complete their ascent or descent. Many were waiting here when American Airlines Flight 175 slammed through. The death and destruction Palmer witnessed and radioed back was beyond belief. The saddest thing is that despite a valiant effort he too perished minutes later when the South Tower collapsed.

A poignant section features photographs taken inside the towers that day. You see Palmer in full uniform in the lobby. You see NYPD officer Moira Smith escort an injured man to safety before she herself perished in the collapse. You see pictures taken by survivor John Labriola as he snapped images of firefighters rushing up the stairs while a whole line of people trickle down and the lobby of the North Tower whose windows overlook a plaza filled with burning debris. These images are haunting as they offer a fleeting glimpse inside a moment of history.

The diagrams are also phenomenal. The illustrations of the two towers showing the floors that were directly impacted by the planes offer a reference point that you will return to again and again as you make your way through the chapters. The escape routes are also clearly depicted showing the staircases as well as the shopping mall beneath the towers through which many found safe passage.

The explanation behind the collapse of the towers is thorough and well-documented. The spray-on fire repellent that coated the steel foundation just wasn't strong enough to withstand the immense heat of jet fuel inferno. In fact, it was never properly tested in the first place. Not to mention during construction the number of staircases was reduced in order to capitalize on available real estate space. The building code was changed which allowed this to occur.

The horror of the day is told in pieces, but it adds up to a frightening whole. Survivors recount the towers swaying when each plane hit. Helicopter pilots report that some people were pushed to their deaths when those at the windows desperately tried to reach fresh air and escape the flames. Those in the restaurant on the top floor of the North Tower call desperately for help when the floor beneath them begins to give way. Dozens of firefighters are seen gathering on the 19th floor of the North Tower not knowing that the South Tower had just collapsed and they should evacuate. And all of this happened in a mere 102 minutes.

Overall,
a gripping, compelling piece of investigative reporting that shows what it was like to be in the World Trade Center on September 11th.

102 Minutes by Jim Dwyer & Kevin Flynn is available for $17.00 at Amazon.com and at Times Books.

Times Books just published a revised edition to honor the 10th anniversary of the attacks of September 11, 2001. In the new postscript, Dwyer and Flynn write movingly of the legacy of the attacks for those New Yorkers whose lives were forever altered on that day, and for all Americans who will never forget those 102 indelible minutes.




Congratulations to our winner: Annmarie Weeks!

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

Joe Henry - Lime Creek - Giveaway & Review

Life on a Western ranch is fascinating to me. The backbreaking work. The closeness to nature. The isolation. That's why I couldn't resist picking up Lime Creek, the debut novel from Joe Henry, an established songwriter who has penned tunes for the likes of John Denver and Rascal Flatts. The beauty of this book lies in its simplicity. It's around 150 pages of vignettes taken from the lives of a Wyoming cowboy and his sons. It is broken into two parts each containing four chapters. The first half is told from the point-of-view of Spencer as he grows from a young man to a husband/father figure while the second part advances in time giving voice to his now teenage sons, Luke and Whitney.

I enjoy reading writers like Henry because they are truly word artists. The vivid images they paint in the mind's eye endure long after reading. In "Angels," you'll walk with Spencer and his fiancee, Elizabeth, as they make their way through the barrels of a general store to be married by the justice of the peace. In "Family," you'll feel the mare's head on your lap as the exhausted vet snores away after delivering a foal. In "Tomatoes," you'll feel the icy water of Lime Creek as Luke and Whitney struggle to fill an old-fashioned washtub on a cold night. In "Sleep," you'll hear the guitar strains of "Silent Night" as the candlelight twinkles from the Christmas tree in the barn. And that's just part one.

Henry also perfectly captures inner emotions especially those of fatherhood. When Luke and Whitney use their mother's tomatoes for target practice against a crisp, white sheet hanging on the clothesline, Spencer knows he needs to punish them, yet he tries to contain a budding smile slipping from the corner of his mouth. After reprimanding them for their mischief, Spencer can't help but feel the tug on his heartstrings when he encounters the exquisite peacefulness in the exhausted sleep of his two little boys.

On the other side of the spectrum, you can feel the palpable tension when Spencer confronts an adolescent Whitney for complaining about feeding the cattle in below zero temperatures. Whitney has a point for being upset when he witnesses a cow's frozen ear broken clean off. However, Spencer preaches gratitude for the life they're living when he relates a war story about a young soldier who died frozen to a machine gun. The boys are shell shocked from the tale and silenced by their father's first time use of a four-letter profanity.

Henry is able to flip perspective by contemplating what it's like to have such a father. When Luke and Whitney enter high school, they get into an argument with their football coach about attending practice. They make it clear that their first priority will always lie with their work on the ranch. They will not abandon their father by shucking their responsibilities whether the coach likes it or not.

While Luke is the more daring of the two - breaking his ribs in a playoff game, having his girlfriend sneak into his room, etc., Whitney displays a reliability of character that can be depended on. His devotion extends to trudging through a blizzard to unblock a heating vent in Luke's room on the chance that his brother might be overcome by carbon monoxide. They are a study in how the challenges of a hard life can mold a personality into something solid and strong.

Overall,
in the land of the Neversummer Mountains, the warmth of humanity is shown to endure.

Lime Creek by Joe Henry is available for $20.00 at Amazon.com and at Joe-Henry.com.

Congratulations to our winner: Cindi Hoppes!

Review featured on Examiner.com's Book Club home page

Monday, August 8, 2011

Stuart Gustafson - Missing in Mexico - Guest Post

My thanks to Stuart Gustafson for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews & Giveaways and sharing a guest post during the blog tour for his book, Missing in Mexico.


Guest Post
"Is it really safe down there?"
by Stuart Gustafson


Buenos días. One of the questions I get asked frequently as an author and vacationer to Mexico is, “Is it really safe down there?” I can’t answer that question in regard to everyplace in Mexico, but I can certainly answer it for my favorite place, the primary setting of my debut mystery novel Missing in Mexico – Los Cabos. Is it safe there? Yes, it is. Let me first tell you a little about the area, and then I’ll tell you why it’s so safe to go there. And why I love to go there and chose to write my first novel about it.

Actually, Los Cabos is a stretch of land running from San José del Cabo (San José) to Cabo San Lucas (‘Cabo’), a distance of about twenty miles. This marvelous land is at the absolute tip of the Baja peninsula some one thousand miles from the USA border and about three hundred miles across the Sea of Cortez (also called the Gulf of California) from mainland Mexico. So you can see that Los Cabos is quite separated from everyone else. Is there any crime there? Sure, there is, just like there’s some crime in your hometown and my hometown. But there’s just not much at all. My family’s been going there since 2003 and we’ve always felt safe walking around, taking a taxi, or renting a car while there. And just like it says in the book, it’s even safe to drink the water.

But that’s not the main reason I chose San José as the primary setting for Missing in Mexico – I wanted to spotlight the charm and the culture of the wonderful people who’ve always made me feel right at home. Now you might think that the name of the book is a bit of a paradox given what I just said about being safe there, but remember that the book is a fictional story – not a true one. I actually had the setting picked out long before I had the story line. The story could take place anywhere, except that I had to tell the story of the wonderful people of San José del Cabo. If you’ve been there, or when you do go there for the first time, then you’ll know what Jess Todtfeld, a former producer for ABC, NBC, and FOX means when he said this about the book, “The story’s so real I felt like I was right there!”

My recommendation for your first visit to San José del Cabo is to go sometime between November and the end of April. The weather is more pleasant during those six months plus the San José Art District conducts its weekly Art Walk on Thursday evenings. Those are great times to stroll through that central part of town along with other visitors, meet some of the artists, and usually even some of the gallery owners. By the way, Chapter Sixteen in Missing in Mexico gives a good description of the Art District so you’ll feel right at home when you go there for the first time. But whether it’s the Art District, the local shops, restaurants, or cantinas, I’ve always felt right at home in San José del Cabo, and I’m sure you will, too.

To get a little more taste of San José, you can read the first five chapters of the book for free on the books’ website at MissingInMexico.com So until the next time, Hasta luego (See you later).


About the Book
Missing in Mexico

Book Details:
Publisher: AITE Publishing
Published: May 2011
Genre: Mystery Tourism

Blurb:
Sarah Johnson is a 19-year college freshman who, along with her roommate Mary, spent an extra week in Los Cabos, Mexico after a family vacation over the Christmas break. Unexpectedly, Sarah's not on the plane back to Seattle, and her parents hire Stan, a seasoned Private Investigator, to locate her. Even with local help and some promising leads in the town of San Jose del Cabo, he's unable to find her, and he returns to Seattle to inform the parents. Months later he receives a mysterious letter from someone who says she can help him locate Sarah, and he jumps on the next plane to Los Cabos. Will this be the lucky break he needs to find her? Or will she remain missing -- Missing in Mexico?

Excerpt:

Chapter One/Uno

Flight # 1476 from Los Cabos to Seattle

Saturday, January 5th

The voice over the intercom system announced, “Ladies and gentlemen, we trust you had a good time in Los Cabos, but it’s now time for us to take you back to the States. The cabin doors have been closed, and Alaska Airlines flight 1476 with nonstop service to Seattle-Tacoma is ready for departure.”
“Hey, wait. Sarah’s not here; we can’t leave without her,” the girl in seat 14A yelled in a frightened voice. Mary reached up and pushed the flight attendant call button even as the flight attendant was already headed toward her seat. “We can’t leave yet; Sarah’s still down there,” Mary continued, now reaching the point of hysteria.
“Please calm down, miss. Everyone’s already onboard. You can look for yourself,” the flight attendant said in a calm voice as she pointed to the window.
“What do you mean everyone’s onboard? Sarah’s not here; she should be sitting right here!” Mary pulled her tearing eyes away from the empty seat and looked out and saw that the boarding ramps had been pulled away from the airplane, but what she didn’t see scared her. How come Sarah’s not out there, running in a panic toward the plane? “Where’s Sarah? She was just there with me. Where is she? Don’t leave; Sarah’s missing!” Mary cried out as tears began flowing down her cheeks.
The annoyed passengers felt a jolt as the plane was being pushed back. They were ready for their flight home from Los Cabos. But Sarah wasn’t on board; she’s missing – Missing in Mexico.


familia (fă·mĭl’·ē·ă) – family. Hay cuatro personas en mi familia. There are four persons in my family.



About the Author
Stuart Gustafson

Stuart Gustafson began writing in earnest after taking early retirement from the corporate world in 2007. His professional life involved travel and so it was natural for him to want to continue traveling once he didn't have to travel as a job. Now when he travels, it's for fun; it's for pleasure; it's to see new places in the world. The way he has chosen to combine his love of travel and writing is to write mystery novels set in exciting locations around the world where he likes to go.

His debut mystery novel Missing in Mexico is set in San Jose del Cabo at the tip of Mexico's Baja California peninsula, a charming location where he has spent 2-6 weeks each year for the past eight years. This is how Stuart researches his books, by immersing himself into the culture of the area, and getting to know the people and their charm. The best compliment Stuart has received was at a local event in San Jose del Cabo and some of the residents told him that Missing in Mexico was indeed about their town and would he please consider writing another book about San Jose or at least about Cabo.

His second mystery novel, set in Sydney, NSW, Australia, is already underway, and Stuart took five trips to Sydney in 2010 to conduct research of the area to once again ensure that the book, even though it's a fictional mystery novel, would still contain authentic details. Publication date for that book is set for early 2012.

Stuart has been married for thirty-seven years to Darlene and they have one daughter and one son. Stuart and Darlene live in Boise, Idaho.

Website:
MissingInMexico.com


Connect With Stuart:
Facebook
Twitter


About the Tour

Partners in Crime Tours

Tour Participants:
August 1-Review@Tammy's Book Parlor

August 4-Review@A Good Day To Read

August 5-Spotlight@Suspense By Anne

August 8-Review@I'd Rather Be Reading At The Beach

August 8-Guest Post@Tribute Books Reviews

August 11-Interview@Chris Redding, Author

August 15-Interview@Blog Talk Radio's G-Zone (11am)

August 16-Guest Post@Words By Webb

August 17-Review@Oodles of Books

August 18-Review@Words by Webb

August 19-Guest Post&Review@The Book Shelf

August 22-Interview, Guest Post&Review@Joel M. Andre, Author

August 23-Review@Coffee and a Keyboard

August 24-Review@Let's Book It

August 25-Review@Reviews By Molly

August 26-Review@From The TBR Pile

August 29-Review@Stuff&Nonsense

August 30-Interview@Beyond The Books

August 31-Review@Cami Checketts

September 1-Review@The Musings Of A Book Addict

September 2-Review@Gelati's Scoop

September 5-Review@Kritters Ramblings

September 6-Review@Romancing The Book (Valerie)

September 7-Guest Post@The Top Shelf

September 8-Review@Rhode's Review

September 9-Interview@Stuff@Nonsense

September 12-Review@Lady Lit Reviews

September 13-Review@The Top Shelf

September 14-Review@The World According to Dave

September 15-Review&Guest Post@ Legacy of a Writer

September 16-Interview@Coffee and a Keyboard

September 19-Review@Reading, Reading, & Life

September 20-Review@Sweeping Me

September 21-Interview@Book Marketing Buzz

September 21-Review@GenreWench

September 22-Review@Terri Forehand

September 23-Guest Post@The Book Faery Reviews

September 26-Interview@Rhodes Review

September 27-Interview@CelticLady's Reviews

September 28-Review@CelticLady's Reviews

September 29-Review&Interview@Darlene's Book Nook

September 30-Review@Books, Products & More

Thursday, August 4, 2011

Charlaine Harris - Dead Reckoning - Review

Reading a Sookie Stackhouse novel is like sitting down with an old friend. She's such a likable character. You feel like you know her even though she only exists on the page. A down home Southern girl, she enjoys her Dairy Queen ice cream while making sure her toenails are brightly painted at all times. At heart, she's a girly girl, yet she's real and easy to relate to.

In Charlaine Harris' 11th installment of the continuing saga that inspired the hit HBO series True Blood, Sookie is once again running for her life against humans, vampires, werewolves, shape shifters and fairies. Merlotte's bar is firebombed leaving her with a singed ponytail and rattled nerves. She is repeatedly attacked by the newly released Sandra Pelt whose sister she killed. Her vampire "husband," Eric, is keeping a monumental secret that will affect their romantic relationship. Not to mention his club, Fangtasia,
is struggling under the reign of the new Louisiana regent, Victor. Things are looking pretty bleak.

Over the course of the series, Sookie has grown from a naive, socially isolated telepath to a pawn in a supernatural power struggle to a more jaded, cynical combatant. Still reeling from the effects of being subjected to fairy torture, Harris begins to portray her heroine as a hardened survivor. She realizes that she now belongs among the ranks of those who have taken a life. Her innocence is replaced by a skeptical and suspicious worldview.

Yet underneath the surface, the same sweet Sookie remains. Her first vampire boyfriend, Bill, used her to advance his career. Her Gran never revealed her hidden fairy heritage. Her lover, Eric, tricked her into a blood bond. Yet, she still holds onto an optimistic outlook. That's why you keep coming back to these stories to see how she is going to battle though the next catastrophe.

As the series progresses, I feel it has "jumped the shark" a bit. Dead Reckoning and the previous novel, Dead in the Family, are a tad jumbled and convoluted in storyline. It seems that there are just too many supernatural communities to keep track of - that it's hard to catch up with all of the pertinent characters in one book. Instead, they all tend to make cameo appearances. Sookie's brother, Jason, is briefly mentioned as he drives by in his truck. Amelia, the witch, arrives back in Bon Temps only to be thrown out of Sookie's house. Alcide, the werewolf, fulfills his shirtless scene requirement then exits stage left. There are too many people to touch base with in only 325 pages.

And it's a shame because that's where Harris connects with her readers - through the memorable, distinctive personalities that inhabit her novels. Whether it is the town drunk, Jane Bodehouse, sitting at Merlotte's bar or Pam the vampire's sarcastic one-liners, we look forward to reconnecting with these characters when we pick up the latest Sookie Stackhouse book. Unfortunately, in this go-around, we're left with quick glimpses of the cast instead of any lengthy, back porch conversations.

Overall, Dead Reckoning advances the narrative, of the Sookie Stackhouse series as a whole, setting up what looks to be an interesting book #12. However, as a stand alone book, it is creatively tapped out.




Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris is available for $27.95 at Amazon.com and at CharlaineHarris.com.

Review copy provided by Valley Community Library.

Review featured on Examiner.com's Book Club home page

Joel M. Andre - Cry of the Fallen - Guest Post

My thanks to Joel M. Andre for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews & Giveaways and sharing a guest post during the blog tour for his book, Cry of the Fallen.


Guest Post

"Write Because You Love To"
by Joel M. Andre

If you are writing to become famous and to make millions, chances are you are writing for all the wrong reasons. Along with that, you are going to find that most authors don’t make that kind of money in their lifetime as well. Certainly, there are people like Stephen King or even J.K. Rowling who can pull in those figures, but for most writers there may be a single hit story you release that will give you a taste of what they have.

Now, if you are writing because it is something that you enjoy doing, then you are on the right track. When I release a new book, my concern isn’t with having major sales and winning awards. I write horror that typically doesn’t have a happy ending. It is often along the lines of what you would find in the Twilight Zone and because of that, it tends to upset people.

But I love writing, so while I will pour my soul into the books and short stories I write. Mostly, because the passion to write is inside of me and if you write for anything less than that passion, you are going to find that the process of writing becomes more of a chore than anything else. In fact, if you are passionate about it and start pouring out your thoughts and ideas on paper, it can be a very relaxing and therapeutic experience.

From here, I am simply going to challenge you to follow your dreams and take a stab at writing. Don’t sit there and make excuses that you don’t have the time to do it or that you aren’t very good. Just write and see what happens. As the words fall onto the page, they might turn into something amazing, of they could hold some personal secrets that you just wanted to let out. What you choose to do with your story after you’ve written it is up to you.

If the passion to write is inside of you, then use it. All the roadblocks along the way that you create in your mind can never really stop you. There is no absolute deadline you must write your story by and no one is going to require you to write the next great American novel. All that you are going to be required to do is sit down and write out whatever idea you have in your mind.

It is certain to be brilliant and with a little effort, there is no doubt that you are going to come up with something that you love. Who knows, it may even turn out to be your big break as well.


About the Book
Cry of the Fallen

Book Details:
Publisher: Darkcountry Publications
Published: September 2010
Genre: Suspense/Horror

Blurb:
All around her Lauren Bruni is faced with destruction. Her marriage has ended, and her professional life is at the breaking point. For Lauren, this is only the beginning of her pain.

In the small town of Cottonwood, AZ everything seems to be headed in the same direction. A serial killer is on the loose, and his trail of victims holds no connection. His rampage escalates and becomes far more brutal with each murder he commits.

As Lauren attempts to prevent her own life from collapsing down around her she must stop a killer with supernatural strength. But there is something far more sinister in the works than she could ever imagine. In the end it is up to Lauren to make the ultimate sacrifice to save a community from the purest form of evil.

About the Author
Joel M. Andre

Joel M. Andre was born January 13, 1981. At a young age he was fascinated with the written word. It was at fourteen that Poe blew his mind, and Andre began to dabble with darker poetry.

Between the years of 1999 and 2007 Joel was featured in various poetry anthologies and publications. In 2008 he released his first collection, Pray the Rain Never Ends.

Knowing there was something deeper and darker inside of his soul, Joel decided to take a stab at commercialism. Releasing the dark tongue in cheek, A Death at the North Pole, created a dark world among the death of Kris Kringle. Ultimately providing a tale of redemption.

October of 2008 saw Joel release his second book, Kill 4 Me. A tale in which a woman is haunted by a vengeful spirit through text messages and instant messaging.

Taking some time off and doing a lot of soul searching, Joel took things in a new direction and dabbled in the Fantasy Genre with, The Pentacle of Light. The tale dealing with five major races battling for control of Earth, and the acceptance of their God.

Finally, after missing his detective Lauren Bruni, he released the book The Return in October 2009, this time moving the action from the North Pole and placing it in the small Arizona community he was raised in.

Andre’s latest book is The Black Chronicles: Cry of the Fallen about a dead man who seeks revenge on the woman that tormented him in peaceful Northern Arizona.

Currently, he resides in Chandler, AZ.

Website:
www.joelmandre.info


About the Tour

Partners in Crime Tours

Tour Participants:
July 25: Character Interview~April @ Cafe of Dreams Book Reviews

July 26: Guest Post ~Roseanne @ http://roseannedowellauthor.blogspot.com/

July 27: Review~Giovanni@Gelati's Scoop

August 1: Review~Michael@ The Book Shelf Review

August 4: Guest Post~Nicole@ Tribute Books Blog

August 5: Character Guest Post~Charlotte@ ckvolnek.com

August 8: Review~Stacey@ The Write To Make A Living

August 11: Guest Post~Cheryl@A Good Day To Read

August 11: Interview~Cheryl@The Book Connection

August 12: Guest Post and Review~Darlene@Darlene's Book Nook

August 15: Review~Laurie@Lauriehere.blogspot.com

August 16: Review~Stephanie O @Romancing The Book

August 17: Review~Molly@Reviews By Molly

August 18: Review~Cheryl@ A Good Day To Read

August 18: Spotlight~Cheryl@Books, Products, And More

August19: Review~Dave@blog.elenchera.com

August 22: Interview~Blog Talk Radio's G-Zone

August 24: Review~Rick@Rhodes Review

August 25: Interview~ Chris@Chrisreddding.blogspot.com

August 25: Review~Cindy@Oodles Of Books

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Estevan Vega - Arson - Guest Post

My thanks to Estevan Vega for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews & Giveaways and sharing a guest post during the blog tour for his book, Arson.


Guest Post

"Entertain Me!"
by Estevan Vega

Netflix. Wi-fi. Blu-ray. These few tags are just a glimpse of the entertainment world. Isn’t it funny how much our culture idolizes entertainment? From music to movies. From live shows to quiet moments cuddling with our favorite novel. From theme parks to mega-churches selling salvation on a golden spoon. If your eyes are moving, there is usually something to be looked at, something to be watched. It’s an amazing phenomenon, really. I can’t remember the last time I drove in my car without listening to music. When I’m home, I’m on the computer killing time with blogs or Facebook, I mean, achem…writing. Seriously, I do write. And then before bed, I usually throw on a movie.

How much time and money do we spend on entertainment? Answer: a freakin’ lot.

Now, I am not the big brother suggesting we cut the ties with our favorite bands, divorce our favorite shows, or disown our beloved books. From one devourer of entertainment to another, I’m simply wondering if we should pause and reflect on what it is we’re constantly pumping into our brains. Does it affect who we are? Does it have an impact on our souls? Will it influence our current or future relationships? I feel that the more we have at our fingertips and the more that we are connected, the more convenient it is to lose pieces of ourselves and essentially become addicted to these devices. We begin to become someone, something else.

Ever see the movie Gamer? It’s this action flick with Gerard Butler and that dude from Dexter. Oh, and the Percy Jackson kid. Ludakris makes an appearance for a few minutes too. Well, basically, it’s about this futuristic society where a video game is created called Society. In this “fake universe,” people take on the personas and literal bodies (males can play females, and other freaky stuff) of other people. These “characters” people take over during game-play a la Sims style, are paid to perform whatever the gamer desires. On a major scale, though, the film revolves around this one guy (Butler), a death-row inmate, who must kill his way to freedom in a gaming world where he, with the help of his gamer, shoot their way to victory a la Halo style. Several acts of indecency and tons of blood and gore later, we’re left with this quasi-message about where the future is headed and how easily it is for our current society—an ever entertain me!, gratify me!, and pleasure me at all costs! world—to get there.

Scary.

If you’re wondering if I liked the movie or not, I did. I like movies that are satirical or what I call prophetic. Of course, movies are the most readily available and most sought-after medium (in addition to awesome books). For the last century, and probably farther back, however, science fiction novels predicted much of what we see concerning modern technology. Also, some of the horrors glimpsed at in certain Bradbury novels and the like are beginning to come true.

Like I said, none of this is meant to frighten you or make you throw out your child’s video games or your boyfriend’s action flick collection. Similarly, ladies, this doesn’t mean you have to part with your favorite novels or artists. This is just one writer speaking honestly and freely, while freedom of speech is still a possibility, for the most part. Will we ever reach a breaking point, I wonder? Will we become like the society in Gamer? Will we bow to Big Brother as in 1984? Will we force our children to burn books as in Fahrenheit 451? I don’t know. Obviously, it is my hope that neither fear nor ignorance nor blindness nor apathy will control us. I’m just one writer. You’re just one reader. But it is rather interesting, huh?

Now go spend an afternoon with your son. Go chill with your sister. Call your pops and tell him you love him. Make nice with your cousins. Then when you’re done, go buy ARSON, and get ready for ASHES, part 2 in the Arson series. Time is short, so spread the fire while you can.



About the Book
Arson

Book Details:
Genre: supernatural/YA/coming-of-age
Publisher: StoneGate Ink
Publication Date: May 2011

Synopsis:
Arson Gable feels like a freak. He can create fire. He never asked for it. He never wanted it. But he can't shut it off.

Before now, three things were true: he both loved and despised his grandmother; his life was going nowhere; and he was alone. But when a strange girl--who feels more normal behind a mask than inside her own skin--moves in next door, Arson hopes to find something he's never had: purpose. Using what he fears most about himself, Arson must face his consuming past and confront the nightmare that is his present as he walks the fine line between boy and monster. Dark, moody, and breathtakingly relevant, Arson, the chilling chronicle of an isolated boy with unimaginable ability, is sure to ignite the hearts and minds of a new generation.

Excerpt:

The lake was quiet.
A lazy fog hovered over the surface of the gray water, whispering in the wake of currents and steady ripples. The world seemed dead to Arson Gable, silent anyway. Like the calm before a storm.
It waited.
Arson stepped off the porch onto the lawn; his mind was swimming. This was where he came most mornings while Grandma slept. He cut his gaze toward the lake, that black womb which rested beyond and beneath the rickety dock. It was as if the lake knew his name and his heartbeats, much like the streets and corners of this town knew his name, cold and faceless as they were. Whether he wanted to admit it, this place was home, and there was no going back.
A bright light burned in the sky, somewhere far enough for him to notice but close enough to nearly blind him. He breathed deeply and blinked, welcoming the dark rush of black behind his eyelids. From where he stood, he could see the towering oaks rooted deep in the ground. Their thick branches stretched upward into the clouds, some parts draping over the shady spots of the worn-out cabin. One final glance and he was reminded that these tortuous, beaten things seemed to swallow the world. Just thinking about them—how he’d watched them ruin—made him seem small, so worthless.
Arson made a fist and felt the heat swell in his grip. He wanted to run into the brush, to get lost deep in the small section of backwoods Grandma had forced him to avoid ever since they’d moved here. But he didn’t move.
This town seemed so close-knit and yet so separated. Less than a mile up the road were a country market, restaurants, and a bowling alley. There was even a liquor store, a cheap pharmacy, and some fast-food chains, and a few miles past that, a movie theater and a nightclub. But at the heart of this place was disunity, a fierce and futile fight to be known and accepted. Arson never understood why Grandpa had picked here to have the cabin built, right beside the lake.
As Arson slowly approached the dock, his mind returned to thoughts of Danny, the only childhood friend he’d ever had. Dim mornings somehow made each memory more real, hard to let go and even harder to erase. Was he always here, always watching? Odd how seven years could come and go without warning, as if the world blinked and somehow forgot to open its eyes again.
In all fairness, it had never been his grandparents’ intention to stay anywhere for too long, but it seemed East Hampton, Connecticut, had become a part of them now, a part of him. “One day we’ll be like the rest of them,” he recalled Grandpa saying—a man of ideals, empty dreams, and hopes Arson could never freely call his own.
Eventually, they had grown tired of running. This dull corner of the world seemed ordinary enough for them to believe starting over again as normal folks would be possible. “Forget what happened all those years ago in Cambridge,” Grandma said so many times that Arson imagined her screaming it to him while he slept. But it was always there—the memory—a splinter in the back of his mind. No going back. Ever.
Arson staggered across the dock, images of child play and stupid laughter pouring in all at once. Danny’s face stuck out the most, and behind that he glimpsed their old home in Cambridge and flashes of his first birthday. His mother wasn’t there, though, nor dear old Dad, but that day had been recounted to him only once by his grandfather, and it stuck.
Nevertheless, with every joyous memory, distilled regret was close behind. He sometimes imagined what it might be like to get thrown in jail by some nameless special agent and be forgotten, or to wake up and find strong hands squeezing the life out of him.
Arson was an unusual boy. A freak. He knew it. And he hated it. Whatever lingered inside his bones always left as quickly as it came, breathing out in short moments of fear or rage. Over the years, he’d asked to be examined to locate the source of his imperfection and if possible terminate it. After all, why did he sometimes wake up in the middle of the night with a fever? How come his sweat sizzled when it hit the ground? What was he?
Grandma always argued there wasn’t much point in talking to no-good doctors or even finding out answers to questions he was better off not asking in the first place. Some people were just born with demons, she’d say.
Arson swallowed hard and threw a stone into the water. The splash shattered his reflection, and ripples spread across the dark surface. He wondered why he was the way he was, wondered why those little girl’s parents quit looking all of a sudden, why the investigation against two stupid boys evaporated. Perhaps they didn’t care about retribution, or maybe they were just sick of chasing shadows.
I want to be free, Arson thought, nausea creeping up into his gut. While boats raced along the surface of the lake, Arson stared in awe. They vanished so easily, like mist gliding across the water and dissolving into nothingness. What if men could do the same? There was a man once, he’d heard, who walked upon water and didn’t sink. Maybe he could too. Maybe one day there would be those who believed in him.
Arson’s gaze moved over the lake, across to the other side, where Mandy Kimball lived, and her neighbor, his science teacher from the ninth grade. Then his eyes drew back to the ripples spread out before him, to the dying cabin behind him, as he spit. Beads of sweat streamed down his bony frame, his ash-brown hair trapped inside the gritty creases of his forehead. Arson listened for the lake’s soothing melody but couldn’t hear it. He focused instead on the sound his feet made atop the splintering dock, kind of like the way swings sounded in cheap horror flicks—empty, rocking back and forth to no melody at all. Closer to the edge he came, lingering.
With shut eyes, he stepped out onto the water and began to sink. Peace soon abandoned him to the lake’s shallow world. In a blink, he was looking through the eyes of a ten-year-old boy.
“I don’t like fire,” he heard the boy say, so frightened, so naïve. “It’s dangerous.”
“Don’t be such a wimp,” came his older friend’s taunts. “Just light it already.”
With each shove and curse, the memory turned alive; it was as if it knew he was watching and didn’t like it. The pain still stung, images wilting and dying, only to come alive again and again.
I. Hate. Fire.
Arson could feel the cold, could even remember the way everything sounded or how there was no sound at all. Until the night shattered. The weight of remembering dragged him down while he sucked in a filthy drag of water, his coffined body jerking. The veins on his head began to swell. He was choking.
Time to return to the real world, to release the nightmare once more into the dark of the lake. The struggle eventually pulled him to the surface. Slinging his head back and forth, Arson fought to bring himself out of the bitter current, eventually falling upon dead grass. He tasted the grit of sandy dirt in his teeth. Panting, Arson stood up slowly and staggered toward the cabin, where Grandma Kay’s shadow guided him in.

There was something strange that came over Grandma when she exacted punishment, like a part of her enjoyed it too much. She said fixing their leaky roof was a good and righteous way of killing the demons inside him. Nothing like hard work. She said there was no way a lake could cleanse a boy’s troubled mind anyway and that he was just plain stupid for thinking it could. To ease his frustration, Arson let himself believe that if he had been caught any other day, her scorn might have resulted in worse than fixing a leaky roof, which Arson would’ve had to do eventually anyway.
Grandma’s reasons for why she did things, why she treated him a certain way, seemed to get worse with time. It was no secret that she loathed the idea of him diving into the lake, especially if fully clothed. She even claimed there were toxins in the water from pollution that had supposedly killed a bunch of fish years back. But maybe it was a fair trade. He’d returned to the lake all the toxins he’d soaked up with every vile thought. When considered, Grandma’s logic didn’t seem all that twisted. She probably just didn’t want him bringing any of that evil back with him, infected or not. She was superstitious, so Arson made a promise he knew he couldn’t keep and said it wouldn’t happen again.
The muggy June morning caused his palms to sweat. Arson almost lost his grip on the bucket during the climb to the top but regained his balance before losing any supplies. Spiderman would have been proud. Reading comic books all his life came in handy now and then.
Grandpa took care of the cabin to the best of his ability, had even showed Arson how to repair the roof years back. “If you want something done right, you gotta do it yourself,” he recalled. But in spite of his grandfather’s hard work, it was clear that time eventually wore away all things, even hope.
Arson worked for about an hour before carelessness got the best of him. A loose, jagged shingle sliced through the palm of his hand. Blood gushed from the wound and onto his leg. He swore as the sting began to overwhelm him. He chucked the hammer and tried to keep pressure on the cut.
“What happened?” Grandma’s voice echoed from below. “I heard you cussin’ all the way in the kitchen. You know how I feel about that.”
“Sorry, Grandma.” Arson was glad she left it at that. Sitting on the roof, he turned slightly toward the sun. It’s a gusher, he thought. Then, as he stared in amazement, he watched the wound cauterize itself in seconds. It burned.
“Arson, are you all right up there?”
He looked down at the remaining scar, struggling to make sense of it, neglecting the mess on his clothes. “Just fine, Grandma,” he called down.
“That roof isn’t going to fix itself. If I have to spend another night with drops of water hitting my face, I promise you’ll regret it.”
“All right,” Arson said. “I’ll get back to work.”
By evening, the task was complete. He braced himself and watched the sunset from the rooftop as it melted against a fluorescent sky. Arson listened as Grandma concluded her tea conversation with the man she loved.
Moments later, their time together ended with laughter, and he knew it was safe to come down. Arson caught her while she was clearing away the silverware and china.
“Did you finish the roof, love?” she asked in a pleasant voice.
“Yes, Grandma. It’s healed…I mean, fixed.”
“Marvelous. Say, whatcha mean healed?”
Arson grabbed the ladder. “I’m really tired. I’m not thinking straight right now. Maybe I just need some rest.”
“I think you’re right. You’re not making any sense at all. Say, do you want a piece of cake before I put it away? Grandpa didn’t eat much tonight. He’s never been much for carrot cake.”
“No thanks. Not hungry,” he said.
“Suit yourself. Put your tools away and get on up to bed, then. A growing boy like you needs his rest. I hope you learned your lesson, though. I don’t like you spending so much time in that miserable lake. The very idea doesn’t sit well with my soul.”
Arson nodded with reluctant eyes and put away the ladder and the tools. Then he rushed inside the cabin and up to his room to read a comic book before dozing off. Maybe tonight his dreams would be different.





About the Author
Estevan Vega

Estevan Vega published his first book when he was fifteen, and his second followed shortly after. His fascination for the supernatural ignited a desire to write his third and most praised work to date, Arson. For those just joining, Ashes continues the turbulent story. Vega currently resides in Connecticut, where he is feverishly plotting the next chapter in the series. Get stoked.

Connect With Estevan:
Website
Facebook
Twitter


About the Tour

Partners in Crime Tours

Tour Participants

August 1-Review@The Musings Of A Book Addict

August 3-Guest Post@Tributes Books Reviews

August 4-Guest Post@The Top Shelf

August 5-Review@Gelati's Scoop

August 8-Interview@Beyond The Books

August 9-Guest Post@The Calico Critic

August 10-Review@The Top Shelf

August 11-Guest Post@Stuff & Nonsense

August 12-Review&Guest Post@The Bookshelf

August 15-Review@Oodles Of Books

August 16-Guest Post@The Book Faery Reviews

August 16-Review@A Good Day To Read

August 17-Guest Post@Terri Forehand

August 18-Review@Coffee and a Keyboard

August 19-Spotlight@Suspense By Anne

August 23-Review@Hypnotically Entranced

August 24-Interview@Book Marketing Buzz

August 24th-Review@ Lady Lit Reviews

August 25-Interview@The Children's & Teens' Book Connection

August 26-Interview@Coffee and a Keyboard

August 29-Review@Frequent Reader, Infrequent Blogger

August 30-Review@Romancing The Book(Valerie)

August 31-Review&Interview@Darlene's Book Nook