Friday, December 30, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Seventeen of the young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches" - NOW AVAILABLE

A sneak peek of chapter seventeen of The Priest and the Peaches - a young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

NOW AVAILABLE!
Holiday Special
Kindle version only 99 cents until January 2
buy link
Kindle - $0.99

other available buy links
Nook - $4.95
PDF - $4.95
Smashwords - $4.99

Coming soon:

iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER SEVENTEEN
"Batman & Robin" collapse a ceiling

“Hey, Beeker, let’s play Batman and Robin. Watch this.” And just like that, Joey bounced across the bed and rolled onto the floor triggering a new round of heavy coughing.

Downstairs, Beatrice was in her living room lying on the sofa. Wrapped in a bathrobe and covered with a blanket, she was quickly using up the box of tissues on the coffee table as she attempted to restrain her cough and keep her nose dry. She heard the thump caused by Joey's landing. Turning her head upward, she glared at the ceiling. “They’d better not start,” she mumbled to herself.

Beeker started to laugh and decided to keep wearing his damp Batman pajamas. The shirt was stretched up passed his belly button and the legs on the bottoms barely covered his knees. “Okay, watch me.” He climbed onto the dresser before jumping down on the bed. Rolling onto the floor, he said, “Oh, I forgot something.”

He grabbed a dirty towel, tied it around his neck making a Batman cape. Back on top of the dresser, he flew with outstretched arms onto the bed again. The Batman and Robin show was in full swing. They both began taking turns leaping from the dresser to the bed before rolling onto the floor.

Maybe it was an adrenalin rush but the characters they were pretending to be took over their psyche. Beeker and Joey, coughing and sneezing, overcame their blazing fevers turning into superheroes. Time after time, they climbed up on the dresser and flew to the bed.

Beatrice was holding her pounding head in her hands. They have one more minute to stop or else.

The bed, supported by four wooden slats across the bed frame, held together as long as it could. Then Batman made an extra mighty leap and the bed collapsed, slamming to the floor. Not only did the box spring and mattress crash to the floor, the side rails ripped from the headboard causing it to fall forward. The combination of all the parts collapsing together made for a super loud crash.

Beatrice was so startled by the crash that she vaulted up from her prone position. She accidentally rolled off the sofa smashing her head on the edge of the coffee table.

The crash was so loud—it even woke Dancer. Robin, not concerned in the least about the collapsed bed, was about to make another leap when Dancer came bursting in. Seeing the mess he hollered, “What, are the two of you crazy? Look what you did. Oh man, Teddy is gonna freak. We gotta get this fixed. Dang, I gotta go to the bathroom. I'll be right back.”

Dancer hurried to the bathroom. As he reached the living room, he felt cold water squishing between his toes and under his feet. “What the heck is going on?” He sloshed into the bathroom. The big afghan was floating in water that was spilling over the sides of the tub. “Holy crap...oh, man.”

He ran back to the bedroom yelling, “What did you do? The tub is overflowing and there’s water all over the place.”

“Uh oh, Joey, we forgot to turn the water off.”

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Thursday, December 29, 2011

Cassandra Clare - Clockwork Prince - Review

Cassandra Clare sure knows how to write a love scene. Her hot and steamy writing, while appropriate for a young adult audience, will have women regardless of age tearing through the pages of her Infernal Devices sequel, Clockwork Prince in eager anticipation of the passionate make-out sessions and heated embraces. And, of course, the addition of a heartbreaking love triangle never fails to heighten the emotion of an already charged atmosphere.

This paranormal romance is set in late 19th century London at the Institute, a center of learning and seat of wisdom for a supernatural clave called the Shadowhunters. These ninja-like warriors are referred to as Nephilim, a race of humans whose lineage descends from angels. Their sole purpose is to protect humanity from the demons that crossover into the earthly realm. They also keep Downworlders in line such as warlocks, fairies, vampires and werewolves. However as the action begins, they are on the watch for Mortmain, their sworn enemy who seeks their destruction with his army of mechanized automatons. Not to mention, he wants to kidnap and marry our heroine, Tessa, who he believes is an instrumental component to his takeover strategy.

Being the object of Mortmain's obsession confuses Tessa because she herself is unsure of her exact genetic makeup. She exhibits the ability to take on the physical form of another person, yet she does not bear the mark of a warlock. Rescued by the Shadowhunters, she is offered protection at the Institute where she just happens to come between two best friends, Will and Jem. The boys share a special mystical bond whereby they pledged an oath to stand by each other for the rest of their lives. Tragically, although just a teenager, Jem is slowly succumbing to an untimely death. The opium he takes to stay alive has preternaturally aged him turning his hair and eyes silver. Yet he seemingly starts to regain his strength when he believes Tessa might actually care for him.

And that's where the drama begins. After being cruelly rebuffed by the painstakingly handsome, Will, Tessa is left in a state of confusion and dismay. Will is a self-proclaimed playboy who has no intentions of pursuing any kind of lasting romantic relationship with Tessa. He pushes her away for reasons unknown to her but are gradually revealed over the course of the novel. His advances toward her run hot and cold. Undeniably physically attracted to him, she is unable to reconcile his changeable behavior into something she would want to endure on a regular basis.

Little does Will know that Jem is harboring a flame of his own for Tessa. While always appreciative of Jem's kindness and friendship, Tessa is surprised that she also experiences a strong feeling of desire for him. The dynamics shift when Jem boldly makes his move during an unexpected nighttime visit by Tessa.
Jem caresses Tessa's body like his delicate hands painstakingly tune his violin. She intuitively knows that what they have is something special and she eagerly responds to his gentle touch.

Meanwhile, as Will attempts to work out his longing for Tessa with help from Magnus the warlock, he takes her to a masked ball. They are there to spy on Tessa's brother, Nate, who betrayed the Shadowhunters to become Mortmain's right hand man. However after sipping the fairy-spiked punch, the two end up cavorting on a balcony as hair pins fly and inhibitions are cast aside. They share an intense moment of passion before Will runs off into the night to waylay a blue-skinned demon of significant importance.

Tessa can't stand Will's arrogance and aloofness, yet she can't take her eyes off him or remove him from her fantasies. However with Jem she feels a deeper, more intimate, connection that she can't deny makes her feel complete like she has finally come home. After a violent showdown with Nate, both Jem and Will plead their case to win her heart. In the end, she makes the decision to choose one over the other. The palpable heartbreak that ensues is gut-wrenching. One walks away destroyed, while the other is kept in ignorance of what has transpired. While Tessa is left with the knowledge of almost having perfect happiness in her grasp, only to have her world turned upside down.

Overall, a blockbuster paranormal sequel that simmers with longing and desire.




Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare is available for $19.99 at Amazon.com and at CassandraClare.com.

Thank you to Jessi for recommending this book. Follow her fantastic book blog and Twitter posts.

Review copy provided by Valley Community Library.

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Sixteen of the young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches" - NOW AVAILABLE

A sneak peek of chapter sixteen of The Priest and the Peaches - a young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

NOW AVAILABLE!
Holiday Special
Kindle version only 99 cents until January 2
buy link
Kindle - $0.99

other available buy links
Nook - $4.95
PDF - $4.95
Smashwords - $4.99

Coming soon:

iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER SIXTEEN
Going to see Aunt Vera

“Okay, so I'm not allowed to call your house? Is this a joke? Are you kidding me? What’s going on, Sarah? What, have I turned into a demon or something?”

“Stop it, Teddy. I asked you to trust me. Do you think you can do that? I'll explain everything when I see you.”

He knew it was best to leave it alone. “Okay, Sarah. Talk to you tomorrow. I love you.”

“Yeah, Teddy, I know you do.” Click.

He stood there, holding the silent receiver, suddenly feeling lost and alone. He did not know what to think. Sarah was his refuge—she listened to him, she understood him. They were in love. They were going to get married. And she didn't say, “I love you” back. It was as if she had turned on him. He had tried his best to be a man for his family and show them that everything was under control and everything would be all right. Taking the grief, the embarrassments and the fears that bombarded him over the previous six days, he tried to stuff everything inside. But the simple click of the phone became his coup de grace. Alone in Celia's back room, he started bawling.

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Fifteen of the young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches" - NOW AVAILABLE

A sneak peek of chapter fifteen of The Priest and the Peaches - a young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

NOW AVAILABLE!
Holiday Special
Kindle version only 99 cents until January 2
buy link
Kindle - $0.99

other available buy links
Nook - $4.95
PDF - $4.95
Smashwords - $4.99

Coming soon:

iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER FIFTEEN
"I have five orphans living above me"

Joanie came hurrying to the front door and as she got there, Dancer exited the bathroom. Joanie, seeing Miss Amon standing there, quickly put her arm around Joey's shoulder saying, “Teddy's not here Miss Amon. Can I help you with something?”

“Yes, I saw him on his way out. He ran right into me causing me to smash my head into the wall. He almost knocked me down. I was fortunate I didn’t have to be hospitalized. Thank God, Mr. Zimmerman came along. He saw the whole thing. In fact, it was he who helped me back to my apartment. Anyway enough about me, Joey told me that your lights and phone are...as he put it...broken. Is that correct?”

Dancer stepped in front of his sister. “None of your business. You just wait until my brother gets back if you want to talk to us. Right, Joanie?”

Miss Amon became angry. “That is no way to speak to a lady, young man. Where are your manners?”

“Yeah well, who said you’re a lady anyway?”

Joanie was aghast. She was still trying to process the incident with Teddy and Miss Amon and now Dancer told the woman that she was not a lady and to mind her own business. “Oh my God, Dancer. What's wrong with you? I'm so sorry, Miss Amon. Dancer, you apologize to Miss Amon right now.”

“You apologize, Joanie. I don't care. She doesn't like us. She’s trying to make trouble for us. I'm not apologizing to nobody. C'mon Joey, let's go see what Beeker is doing.”

Joanie was stunned and embarrassed by Dancer's behavior. No matter how right he was about the woman's motives, at 14, his behavior made him look like an ill-tempered juvenile delinquent. Joanie was frightened. Miss Amon never came to their door. Now in less than a week, she was there a second time. Teddy had slammed the door in her face ending her first visit. Now Dancer had insulted her. She was wishing that Teddy or Scratch would come walking up the stairs but that was not happening. Like it or not, she was in charge.

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Fourteen of the young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches" - NOW AVAILABLE

A sneak peek of chapter fourteen of The Priest and the Peaches - a young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

NOW AVAILABLE!
Holiday Special
Kindle version only 99 cents until January 2
buy link
Kindle - $0.99

other available buy links
PDF - $4.95
Smashwords - $4.99

Coming soon:

Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER FOURTEEN
"The keys are in Pops' leg"

Teddy headed to the back room to begin searching for the keys. His brief altercation with his brother made him momentarily forget about the box on the kitchen table. Teddy was surprised to see Joey sitting on the bed, legs crossed, hands folded, just doing nothing. “Oh hey, Joey. What's going on? You okay? Why are you back here all by
yourself?”

Joey looked sheepishly at his big brother. It was if he had done something wrong, but he hadn't. Teddy simply said, “Can you help me look for Pops' keys. They’re around here somewhere. We have to get the mail.”

Without hesitating, Joey said, “They're in Pops' leg.”

Teddy froze right where he was. He looked at little Joey wondering if he really heard what he thought he heard. “What? What did you say, Joey?”

“The keys are in Pops' leg. He put them in there when he went to the hospital.”

“Joanie, get back here. Hurry up.”

Joanie ran back to the room. “What? What's wrong?”

“Okay, get this. Joey just told me that the keys are in Pops' leg. This is getting weird. First the insurance, now this.”

“C'mon Teddy, how could they be in his leg? That's crazy.”

Joey got up on his knees and yelled at his sister, “It’s not crazy. Pops told me, and Pops isn’t crazy. You shouldn't say that Joanie. That's a bad thing to say.” Then he started crying.

“Oh my God, Joey, I didn't mean...okay, okay, stop crying. Just tell us when you talked to Pops?”

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Monday, December 26, 2011

Teaser Tueday - SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Thirteen of the young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches" - NOW AVAILABLE

A sneak peek of chapter thirteen of The Priest and the Peaches - a young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

NOW AVAILABLE!
Holiday Special
Kindle version only 99 cents until January 2
buy link
Kindle - $0.99

other available buy links
PDF - $4.95
Smashwords - $4.99

Coming soon:

Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER THIRTEEN
"Pops' grand finale"

At nine thirty Mr. Kelly told the kids they should begin to say their goodbyes. The four of them walked up with Scratch. Beeker and Dancer went up to Pops together. Dancer's arm was around his brother's shoulder and they were both crying. Beeker reached into the casket touching Pops' hand while Dancer laid his free hand on Pops' chest. They stood together crying, their hands both seemingly frozen in place on their father. Their broken hearts were visible.

Teddy stepped up to them and guided them away placing his arms around each of them. Joanie, with Scratch at her side, went up to Pops kissing him on the forehead. She and Scratch stepped away and it was Teddy's turn. He was dreading this moment. He remembered kissing Mom on the forehead when he said goodbye to her and how cold and hard her forehead felt. He was so unnerved that he never forgot it. Nevertheless, he leaned forward, closed his eyes and kissed Pops on the forehead. Once again, that same cold, hardness greeted his lips. He stood, looked at his father's dead face and whispered, “Love you, Pops. I'm sorry about the other night. Say hi to Mom for me.”

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Friday, December 23, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Twelve of the young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches" - NOW AVAILABLE

A sneak peek of chapter twelve of The Priest and the Peaches - a young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

NOW AVAILABLE!
Holiday Special
Kindle version only 99 cents until January 2
buy link
Kindle - $0.99

other available buy links
PDF - $4.95
Smashwords - $4.99

Coming soon:

Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER TWELVE
"I don't have any money"

Did you find any insurance papers?”

“This, here. But it says redeemed on it. What does that mean?”

“I'm not sure. Let me see.”

Joanie handed Teddy a clear plastic envelope filled with neatly folded papers. He removed the paperwork and unfolded it. There were six sheets and he slowly began to flip them over as he read through them. “Oh boy, Joanie. He cashed it in last September.”

“What do you mean?”

“I mean this policy was worth $7,500, but he cashed it in. He redeemed it. I guess these things are worth some money before you die. He only got $156 for it. So, this policy is worthless. I don't even know why he kept it.”

“He must have needed the money pretty bad. That's sad. So, now what do we do?”

“Geez, Joanie, I don't know. This is all new to me. The one thing I do know is that I have to tell Mrs. Kelly. Dang, I have no idea what a funeral costs. And we're supposed to pay for it. I think I’m getting a knot in my stomach.”

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Thursday, December 22, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Eleven of the young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches" - NOW AVAILABLE

A sneak peek of chapter eleven of The Priest and the Peaches - a young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

NOW AVAILABLE
buy links
PDF - $4.95
Smashwords - $4.99

Coming soon:

Kindle ($2.99)
Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER ELEVEN
Father KO's "Trumpet Man"

All things being equal, it seemed fitting that they had all come out to witness a man, obviously under the influence of something besides coffee, demanding to know where Esther was. “Esther? Esther, where you at, honey? C'mon, Esther. Stop fooling around.”

The guy was quite a sight. He was about 6’ 2” and very obese. He had a full beard, long stringy hair and of course, he was wearing a New Year's party hat. In his right hand was a tarnished trumpet. He obviously had some knowledge of the instrument because his left thumb and fingers were wrapped around the valve covers and his right three fingers were on the valve buttons. Scratch was making a futile attempt to reason with him. “C'mon, buddy. This is a funeral home. There’s no Esther here. You have the wrong place. You have to leave.”

Then Scratch put his hand on the man's arm in an attempt to lead him to the door. The man shoved Scratch turning belligerent. “Don't nobody touch me, man. I'll kick your ass.”

He immediately put the horn to his mouth and began to blow, creating a racket that quite possibly could have awoken Pops. Teddy felt a sudden rage swell up, and threw a punch at the guy. The way things had been going it was only fitting that he missed his target and hit Scratch square in his nose. Scratch put his hands to his face as blood started oozing through his fingers. Joanie started screaming. “He's bleeding! Stop it! Stop it!”

Father Sullivan hurried over and the man threw a punch at him, hitting him in the chest. Father staggered backwards into the wall. Joanie kept yelling while Dancer and Beeker tried to join the fray. The man was pushing everyone this way and that, swatting them away as if they were mosquitoes. His elbow connected with Beeker’s eye. Losing his balance, Beeker grabbed Dancer's shirt as they both fell down. It was a scene of utter chaos.

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Ten of the young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches" - NOW AVAILABLE

A sneak peek of chapter ten of The Priest and the Peaches - a young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

NOW AVAILABLE
buy links
PDF - $4.95
Smashwords - $4.99

Coming soon:

Kindle ($2.99)
Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER TEN
L-Y-N

Father read the gospel in Latin at the altar and then walked to the pulpit looking out at everyone as he read it in English. When he had finished, he signaled for everyone to sit down. Looking out at the congregation, he began his sermon. “Two days ago, a dear friend of mine and a dear friend to many of you unexpectedly passed away. His five kids are sitting right here this morning in the first pew and many of you know them also. Velemer Peach, known to his kids as Pops and to his friends as Yimey, left his mark in the world simply because he did his best to help anyone who happened to come his way. Yimey had a little acronym he always used. I'm sure some of you know it. It was L-Y-N, and it stood for love your neighbor. Instead of saying hello or goodbye, Yimey would always say, ‘Hey Joe or Jan or whoever, L-Y-N.’ It was a beautiful thing. So, on this New Year's Day of 1966, in honor of Yimey, maybe we can truly start something new. I want you all to turn to each other right now, shake hands and say L-Y-N to each other.”

Somewhat taken aback by this unprecedented directive from the priest in the pulpit, the people in the pews began to squirm. It was amazing how people packed tightly together could still maintain their own personal space. Father Sullivan had asked them to step outside of it. It was unnerving. Father continued to encourage them, “C'mon folks, just shake hands with your neighbor and say L-Y-N. I promise, no one will bite you.”

There was muffled laughter that circulated throughout the church and then the people began saying L-Y-N to each other. When they were all facing front again and the rumble of the quiet L-Y-Ns had subsided, Father Sullivan simply said, “And there you have it. The golden rule as explained by Yimey. I hope and pray that you all remember it. God bless you all. Happy New Year and L-Y-N.”

As Father left the pulpit and walked back to the altar, a delayed reaction kicked in. Teddy started to quietly sob. Joanie followed and like dominoes, so did Dancer and Beeker. Joey did not know what was going on. People in the pews near them began to wipe their eyes and soon most of the congregation was doing the same. Father Sullivan's New Year's Day homily about Pops had taken two minutes and it was memorable for its brevity. It was beautiful in its simplicity. Years later, those who were there that morning still remembered it.

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Nine of the upcoming young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches"

A sneak peek of chapter nine of The Priest and the Peaches - an upcoming young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

Look for the ebook on January 1, 2012:
Kindle ($2.99)
Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER NINE
"What's a chastity belt?"

Teddy and Sarah sat next to each other on the sofa. Teddy pulled the big afghan up tucking under their necks. The only light in the apartment came from the almost dead Christmas tree. Peace and tranquility settled upon them—a welcome reprieve from a day full of chaos and confusion. After a few quiet moments, Sarah said, “I am so glad I stayed with you.”

Teddy lifted his arm and put it around her. Pulling her close he said, “Me too. Are you, okay? I mean with the not going home thing.”

“No, not really. I know she'll try to lay all this guilt on me when I get home tomorrow and…oh, just let's forget it for now. Okay? Nothing has changed anyway. I'm used to it. Just hold me. Okay?”

The sudden quiet coupled with the dim lighting quickly joined forces with their fatigue and vulnerability creating the perfect moment—and just like that they were kissing each other. Slowly, softly, their lips moved back and forth, their youthful passion springing to life. Then an unexpected voice doused the erupting flames. “Hey, what are you doing?”

Surprised, they both turned their heads to see Beeker standing next to the sofa looking down at them. “Damn it, Beeker. What are you doing up?” Teddy asked, “You're supposed to be in bed.”

“I can't sleep. I'm not tired.”

Sarah straightened up and ran her hands down over the sides of her tussled hair. “Okay, Beeker, come sit between me and Teddy. It's okay.”

She pulled the afghan aside and Beeker plopped between them. Sarah tossed the blanket over him tucking it under his chin. “So, what were you doing?” he asked again.

“Nothing, Beeker, nothing,” Teddy said. “We were just giving each other a kiss. Is that okay with you?”

“Yes, Teddy. It's okay with me.” Beeker than giggled a bit and leaned his head next to Sarah's arm. Within a minute, he was fast asleep.

Sarah said quietly, “I think it might be a good thing he came in here.”

Teddy sighed, “I know, I know. Problem is, I don't think I cared. I didn’t want to stop. When I start kissing you and holding you…well…something happens and…you know what I mean.”

“Maybe my mother’s right. We could get into trouble. We have to avoid these kind of situations.”

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Monday, December 19, 2011

Ally Condie - Crossed - Review

It's rare when a setting gets more emphasis than the characters in a young adult novel - but in the second installment in Ally Condie's Matched trilogy, Crossed - it does. Cassia searches far and wide for Ky - across deserts, over mountains, through canyons. In a post-apocalyptic world, those like Ky - who stand up to the Society - are banished to the Outer Provinces. These "Aberrations" are transported to the wilderness to fend for themselves against the "Enemy." As Cassia makes her way to her beloved, she is confronted not so much by other humans, but by poisoned streams, treacherous rock formations and varying temperatures.

Ky makes use of the natural environment to leave markers for Cassia like carving her name into a tree and chiseling a compass out of stone for her to find. He does not know that she is hot on his trail, but his yearning for her is so strong it cannot be contained as an intangible desire.

The book rotates between the vivid description of the physical location and the poetry that Ky and Cassia use to define their love. They remember the forbidden words they shared when they fell in love while living in the Society. Poems provide a sense of comfort and connection like the Dylan Thomas phrase, "Rage against the dying of the light," as well as Tennyson's verse, "I hope to see my Pilot face to face." Cassia even begins composing a poem in her head to recite to Ky upon their reunion. While they are struggling through a world framed in prose, their emotion for each other is rooted in poetry.

Xander, Cassia's lifelong friend who is also her jilted Society-approved betrothed, sees her off on her epic quest. However, he provides her with a case full of blue pills that are supposed to keep her alive in the most dire of circumstances. Little does he know, they are full of poison. He also includes bits of information about himself inside the capsule packaging. He has a secret he wants her to piece together. But his rival, Ky, keeps Cassia from completing the hidden message.

The key to the title is explained near the end. Who was double crossed? Who was betrayed? Let's just say that the person responsible for Ky's picture appearing for a split second after Cassia's matching ceremony to Xander is revealed. A central character to the narrative is not above using manipulation to influence Cassia's emotions. A darker side of this personality is exposed making the reader examine the possible motivations underlying this behavior.

The conclusion is a bit on the frustrating side. It poses the question - what does Cassia really want? Is joining a rebellion faction worth the cost? Why is it so important to her to aid a resistance movement? Why does fighting the Society mean more to her than living a life of her own choosing? Why is she willing to be subjected to its influence when she can just as easily walk away? Book three is sure to delve into what is more important to her - who shares her life versus who she can become.

Overall, sometimes you get what you want, not what you need.




Crossed by Ally Condie is available for $17.99 at Amazon.com and at AllysonCondie.com.

Thank you to Yara for recommending this book. Follow her fantastic book blog and Twitter posts.

Review copy provided by Valley Community Library.

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Eight of the upcoming young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches"

A sneak peek of chapter eight of The Priest and the Peaches - an upcoming young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

Look for the ebook on January 1, 2012:
Kindle ($2.99)
Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER EIGHT
The Floating Leg

As the leg kept floating, people began pushing back, creating an impromptu path leading to the casket. When the people closest to Teddy and Joanie separated, the mystery of the floating leg was revealed. Holding Pops' artificial leg high above his head was Dancer. His face was beet red from the cold. His shirt was torn from the breast pocket down to his belt buckle. He had a nasty scrape above his left eye, and the fingers on his right hand were covered in blood that had managed to spread to his shirt and trousers. He was quite a horrific sight. He was also quite angry as he said, “Look what I found out back. Can you believe it? It was out back against the dumpster. Good thing I went out there. Pops was supposed to be wearing this. They threw it away. They threw it in the garbage.”

“Oh my God,” Joanie said. “What happened to you? You're bleeding everywhere. What do you mean…out by the dumpster? I can't believe this. Oh my God, Teddy. Pops' leg was in the garbage.”

Teddy was stunned. Suddenly he felt overwhelmed and insecure. Up until this very moment, he had been trying to be the man in charge, and he thought he was wearing his new crown quite well. Looking at his bloodied brother with torn clothes and a bloody hand wrapped around his father's wooden leg was a bit much to mentally process. What am I supposed to do? I don't know what to do. Everyone expects me to take care of this. Pops could. The thoughts stopped and his mind went blank. An unnerving sense of loneliness embraced him. Teddy started to shake.

Joanie looked at her brother and his demeanor frightened her. “Teddy, what's wrong with you?”
He did not respond, so she raised her voice, “Teddy, do you hear me? Dancer has Pops' leg. TEDDY! Did you HEAR ME?”

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Friday, December 16, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Seven of the upcoming young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches"

A sneak peek of chapter seven of The Priest and the Peaches - an upcoming young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

Look for the ebook on January 1, 2012:
Kindle ($2.99)
Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER SEVEN
"Yimey’s New Year’s Eve Jamboree"

The Peaches never imagined that an impromptu and quite unconventional party was about to begin at Kelly's Funeral Home. A steady cast of characters was about to descend for a mixture of odd, unforeseen and even outlandish farewells ultimately defining the man Pops had been—a man his kids really did not know. These people were Pops' friends from all over the neighborhood, a man they loved as Yimey—not Pops. If there was a marquee outside, it might have read, “Yimey's New Year's Eve Jamboree, Admission free—BYOB.”

The five kids only knew their father as Pops. Yimey, the man, they did not know. Teddy had started to get a glimpse into their father’s inner world, but that insight was halted in its tracks. Joanie, her maternal instincts jump-started at the age of 13, concerned herself with Pops' behavior and stayed on him about eating properly, getting more sleep, being home more, and cutting back on the cigarettes. The one thing she truly hated was the drinking and she was relentless in voicing her feelings about it. Pops would tell her, “Joanie, stop. You're my daughter, not my mother. Get off my back.” She never did, and he loved her for it. But of course, he never paid attention.

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Thursday, December 15, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Six of the upcoming young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches"

A sneak peek of chapter six of The Priest and the Peaches - an upcoming young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

Look for the ebook on January 1, 2012:
Kindle ($2.99)
Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER SIX
"God likes to laugh too"

Scratch started to laugh. He related how he and Teddy had been talking about Pops having a good laugh himself over his lost leg, and how the bony-faced receptionist had looked at them like they were nuts. Then Teddy started talking about how the leg had hit Scratch in the head before flipping into the front seat. Father Sullivan, laughing said, “Well, Scratch, at least it didn't kick you in the ass.”

Surprised at the priest’s colorful language, they all started laughing like crazy, even Joey, who was, of course, knew all about that particular word. Intent on changing the subject, Father began, “Okay everyone, gather around and join hands.” Forming a circle, Father bowed his head as they all did the same. He began to pray, “Heavenly Father, these young people stand before you today somewhat confused and frightened…”

Beeker and Joey were still giggling. Father looked at them and said, “C'mon, boys. Stop laughing now. We're saying a prayer.”

Joey, a bit embarrassed, said, “You said ass.”

Joanie gasped, “JOEY, stop that right now.”

Father smiled, “No, Joanie. It's okay.” He put his hand on Joey's head and said to him, “Well now, Joey, I guess I did say that. We all just needed to laugh a little. That's why I said that. God understands. Believe it or not, God likes to laugh too.”

Wide-eyed, Beeker asked, “He does?”

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Five of the upcoming young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches"

A sneak peek of chapter five of The Priest and the Peaches - an upcoming young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

Look for the ebook on January 1, 2012:
Kindle ($2.99)
Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER FIVE
Back to the hospital

The few moments of lightheartedness ended abruptly as they walked into the hospital and approached the information desk. A thin woman with a long, bony face looked up from behind the counter. “Yes, may I help you?”

“Uh, yeah. We're looking for my father's leg.”

The woman's body froze and her eyes bulged out from behind her glasses. “Excuse me?” she asked.

Teddy started to wipe away some unexpected tears, and Scratch quickly intervened.

“I'm sorry, ma'am. His father died here the other night. Okay? He had an artificial leg and we think it was left here by mistake. We just want to get it so we can bring it to the funeral home.”

The lady breathed deeply and stared at the two young men as she processed what she had just heard. Then she replied, “Oh, I'm so sorry. Please, tell me the patient's name.”

Scratch answered, “Velemer Peach.”

“I beg your pardon.”

Scratch sighed, “Velemer. V-e-l-e-m-e-r. Peach. P-e-a-c-h. Okay?”

“Thank you.” She picked up the phone and dialed a few numbers. “Yes, this is the information desk. There is a Mr. Peach here and he is trying to locate an artificial leg that seems to have been misplaced.” There was a pause. “Yes, that's what I said. A leg. Could you come down here right away?” After another brief pause before she said, “Yes sir, I'll tell him.” She looked at Teddy and said, “Someone will be right over to see you.”

While they were waiting, Scratch said, “Hey, Teddy, do you think Pops is having fun with this leg thing?”

Teddy looked at him and slowly smiled. “Um, yeah, probably. No, definitely.”

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Four of the upcoming young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches"

A sneak peek of chapter four of The Priest and the Peaches - an upcoming young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

Look for the ebook on January 1, 2012:
Kindle ($2.99)
Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER FOUR
"How could they lose his leg?"

By 1965, most families had acquired telephones but the old tried and true method of intra-building communication in the Bronx was far from passe. After all, the phone company charged message units for every call. You certainly were not going to use the phone to call upstairs, downstairs or across the street. No way. You simply used the send & receive system. To send a message, you yelled out the window. To receive a message, you listened for the return yell. It was as simple as that. This extremely effective system even had a playback feature. If you did not understand the yell, you yelled back—“What?” The message would promptly be re-yelled by the sender.

Joanie went into the kitchen, opened the window, gulped in a big burst of frigid air, and turned her head up to yell, “Denis! Denis!”

A few seconds went by and the response came, “Yeah, what is it?”

“They lost Pops' leg. Teddy wants you to go with him and find it.”

There was a pause. Then a reverberating laughter filled the icy air. Joanie yelled, “You know what Scratch you're a big JERK.” Then she slammed the window shut.

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Monday, December 12, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Three of the upcoming young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches"

A sneak peek of chapter three of The Priest and the Peaches - an upcoming young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

Look for the ebook on January 1, 2012:
Kindle ($2.99)
Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER THREE
"Now we're orphans, right?"

Teddy saw everyone at once and immediately started to cry. He did not even realize that it was Sarah who had gotten up and was standing there hugging him. His tears were contagious and within seconds the somber room was filled with crying young people. Sarah hugged Teddy for about 15 seconds then moved back and held his face in her hands. She wiped away his tears with her thumbs and stared into his eyes. “Teddy, listen to me,” she said. “They need you to be strong. Okay? They need you to be in charge. They're all scared, even Joanie. They think they’re all going to end up alone. So, right now, try to be strong.”

He took a breath and looked down at her. “Alone? That's ridiculous. Me and Joanie are here and you…”

“Look, you are all in this together and have to survive it together. They just need some reassurances from you that everything will be all right and that they are safe. Understand?”

The magnitude of the situation was starting to hit Teddy right between the eyes. At 18 years old, he was quickly feeling alone and overwhelmed. Looking at Joey and Beeker, he suddenly realized how young they were. Dancer was only in eighth grade. I'm only four years older than Dancer. Beeker and Joey…dang, this is messed up. Okay, be strong, whatever that means… Then he heard a small voice that had been calling his name, “Teddy…Teddy?”

He turned to his right and saw Joey. Teddy rubbed the palms of his hands across his eyes wiping them dry. “Yeah, Joey? What is it?”

Joey, still sitting on Joanie's lap, had his head pressed back into her chest. His wide-open eyes overwhelmed his little face. He seemed to be slightly rocking back and forth with the top of his head staying right under her chin. Sniffles punctuated every third or fourth tear. He was frightened, all right. No doubt about it. He did not understand. He wanted all this talk about Pops being dead to stop. It wasn’t funny. He wanted him to come home. It had to be a mistake. Why, Pops had even promised that, no matter what, he was going to let him watch the ball drop at Times Square at midnight. Well, tomorrow was New Year's Eve. Pops had promised. He was positive he would be coming home any minute. They were all stupid. “Are you bringing Pops home later?”

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Friday, December 9, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter Two of the upcoming young adult ebook "The Priest and the Peaches"

A sneak peek of chapter two of The Priest and the Peaches - an upcoming young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

Look for the ebook on January 1, 2012:
Kindle ($2.99)
Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER TWO
"Before"

“What's wrong with me? What's WRONG with me? I'll tell you what's wrong with me—that mean old lady in the other room. That's what's wrong with me. And nobody cares, nobody, not Pops, not you, not anyone. She’s so mean to me. I hate her. I swear—I hate her. And now I'm going to hell because I hate my own grandmother.”

Teddy fumbled around inside himself trying to find something to say. His 15-year-old wisdom was still in the early developmental stages so all he could come up with was, “Hate her? Going to hell? That's ridiculous. I don't think…”

She cut him off and began to ramble, “Ridiculous! I'll tell you what's ridiculous. The fact that you and Pops don't have any idea what’s going on around here. That's ridiculous. She's gone crazy. Half of the time she thinks I'm Mom and calls me Elizabeth. Then she's nice. Then, all of a sudden, I'm Joanie and I'm scrubbing the woodwork again and, then I'm not doing it right and have to do it over. Sure Teddy, you are absolutely right. You don't think. The ceiling could fall down and you wouldn't think. Pops is never home. She hates him and is always saying mean things to him. So he stays away. LUCKY him. She tells the boys how rotten he is and tells them that he killed their mother…”

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com


Take a seven day journey with the five, newly orphaned Peach kids, as they begin their struggle to remain a family while planning their dad's funeral.

They find an ally in the local parish priest, Father Tim Sullivan, who tries his best to guide them through the strange, unchartered and turbulent waters of "grown-up world." A story that is sad, funny, and inspiring as it shows how the power of family love and faith can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

Lin Brooks - Where The Greener Grass Grows - Author Interview

My thanks to Lin Brooks for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews & Giveaways for an author interview about her book, Where The Greener Grass Grows.

Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?
The book is about two women who each wish they were living the other’s life. So it seemed perfect to name the book “Where the Greener Grass Grows,” because each of the characters gets the chance to be on the other side of the fence, where the grass is always greener.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Absolutely. People tend to look at other people’s lives and totally miss the blessings they have in their own. The book is about relationships--between friends, between mothers and daughters, between women and men. I hope readers will see how mothers raise daughters that are just like themselves, how friends can see the extraordinary in another’s life when all the other can see is the ordinary, and how relationships between men and women can be a source of great joy, as long as both make an effort to keep appreciate what they have.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
The book is totally realistic. The story could be your neighbor, your best friend, even you!

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
I don’t think so. It took me a couple of years and many drafts to give birth to this book. And like most mothers, I think the baby is absolutely perfect…..

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
The rewrites. Seriously. I had a really good editor, so the book I started with and the book I finished were completely different. It was worth it, but oh boy, it was a long process. There is nothing quite like getting a red-inked version of a manuscript you have already rewritten three times, only to find that the editor wants you to completely restructure the whole thing. It’s easier to write a new story than it is to rewrite one that you already thought was “finished.”

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
Oh, sure. There is a lot of me in this book. I started with a little personal experience, and the book just kind of grew from there. I saw the moral of the story developing and realized that it applied to me, too. I spend a lot of time working towards goals (A LOT of time!), and if I’m not really careful, I miss what’s going on right now.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
I’m an attorney. I started my practice many years ago writing lots and lots of legal briefs on minute little legal issues that had to be supported with dozens of citations to court cases. I get a little bit of a charge out of writing a good argument, but it can be very limiting. I wanted to write something that I could control…or not. I wanted to write something that didn’t have rules. At first, I told myself I couldn’t do it. I’m not creative, I thought. I can’t make things up. I can describe, argue and draw conclusions, but not create a plot that can flow naturally from one point to another, that makes sense and that’s even mildly entertaining. That’s a tall order. But what I found was that, once I breathed life into the characters, they kind of took over and wrote the book for me. I just sat back with my fingers on the keyboard and let them drive.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
Believe it or not, my favorite author of all time is Stephen King, which is so far from women’s fiction it’s not even funny. But Stephen King is an amazing story teller. He can spend pages setting things up and then *poof* yank it right out from under you with a cliffhanger at the end of the chapter that just dares you to close the book and go to bed. Who cares if it’s 3am? There’s a story to be told here.

9. Tell us your latest news.
I just got married to the sweetest guy on the planet (yay, me!). I love being a newlywed.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I’m getting ready to release my next book, Southern Exposure, on IsoLibris Publishing soon. Check out their website at www.IsoLibris.com for the latest. Happy reading!

About the Book
Where The Greener Grass Grows

Book Details:
Genre: Women's Fiction

Publisher: IsoLibris
Publication Date: August 2011
Format: ebook
Price: $3.99
Buy Link:
Kindle, Nook

Synopsis:
Sending the children off to college is never easy. For Lacey Marchand and Cara Myers, an empty nest is enough to drive them a little crazy -- but sometimes, a little crazy is just what the doctor ordered.

Now that their daughters have left for college, Lacey and Cara have too much time on their hands. With nothing else to do, Cara decides to help single-mom Lacey get a life. And what better way to get a life than a few blind dates?

Lacey, however, can't think of a worse way to spend her weekends. She has her own ideas for curing their empty nest problems -- Cara needs a new career. And a career just happens to be what Lacey understands best.

For Cara and Lacey, coping with the empty nest means reinventing their lives without losing their sanity. Where the Greener Grass Grows is the story of two mothers learning to live, to laugh and to let go.

About the Author
Lin Brooks

Lin Brooks is a lifelong Southern girl who lives in Mobile, Alabama with her family. Lin is a home improvement enthusiast and an avid reader with a bucket list that includes visiting Australia, running a marathon and trying every kind of margarita ever made.

Connect with Lin:
Web Site
Blog
Facebook


Thursday, December 8, 2011

SNEAK PEEK of Chapter One of "The Priest and the Peaches"

A sneak peek of chapter one of The Priest and the Peaches - an upcoming young adult ebook release from Tribute Books by Larry Peterson

Look for the ebook on January 1, 2012:
Kindle ($2.99)
Nook ($4.95)
iPad ($4.99)

CHAPTER ONE
"If only I had—"

Pops said nothing. Besides pain and fear, there was a resolute sadness etched into his face. It frightened Teddy, although he did not understand it. Their eyes locked, blue on blue, father and son, sharing what would turn out to be their final moment together. Teddy thought he noticed a solitary tear drip from Pops' eye and slowly roll down onto the pillow. Still, he remained by the door. He broke the silence saying, “Okay Pops, I gotta get home. See you tomorrow.” As he turned and headed to the elevator, Pops raised his hand and held up his thumb and pinky finger, but Teddy did not notice.

Walking away from the hospital, Teddy briefly stopped, turned and looked up at the third floor. He located the window of Pops' room and stared at it. Whispering, “I love you, Pops,” he began to cry. He knew he should go back, but he didn't. That decision would transpose into a lifelong, heartbreaking memory transfixed around the words—if only I had… Sometimes, you just don't get a second chance.

www.ThePriestAndThePeaches.com

Friday, December 2, 2011

E. Van Lowe - Earth Angel - Author Interview

My thanks to E. Van Lowe for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews & Giveaways for an author interview during the blog tour for his book, Earth Angel.

Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?
When I finished Boyfriend From Hell I immediately started thinking about where the series could go. When Boyfriend ended I had an angel stranded on earth with the mortal girl he loved. I wanted to come up with a catchy, memorable title to go along with that. I googled movie and song titles and Earth Angel came up. I thought "This is perfect. I love it.”

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
My books always have some sort of message. The message in this one is we have more power as a group than we do as individuals. At the front of the book there's a quote from the New Testament that says it all:

“…If a kingdom is divided against itself, that kingdom cannot stand. If a house is divided against itself, that house cannot stand.”

3. How much of the book is realistic?
The emotional places I send my characters is always real. The feeling one has when they realize the one they love has lied to them is crushing. That’s one of the things that happens in this book. My character's actions are usually based on very real emotions. However, the story is about angels and demons--that's not real. Is it? *laughs*

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
I really like the book, so nothing. Perhaps after I get some distance from it I will see a few things. But I'll never tell.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
It's all fun, and it's all hard. Now that I've written three books I find it harder to take readers someplace new and yet familiar enough that I won't lose my following.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I did. This book really stretched my imagination because in it Megan goes to hell. I had to create a fantasy world. In the past I've always dealt with a horror or something fantastic in the real world. I had to learn to let my imagination fly.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Yes. When I was ten-years-old I got pneumonia during the summer. For a kid who loves the outdoors, being housebound all summer could have been unbearable. Fortunately, my mother knew me well. She said “You love making up stories. Why not write some of them down?” Now, here’s the kicker. She said: “You can make money.” That was all my ten-year-old ears needed to hear. I was already a big reader. I started writing fiction. It got me through the summer, and I’ve been writing ever since.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
My favorite author of all time is J.D. Salinger. I read his nine stories in college and was hooked on the way he crafted character and emotion. In Pretty Mouth And Green My Eyes I literally cringed at the end of the conversation. The entire story is conversation, and yet so much is going on beneath the surface. I try to do that. I'm sure most times I don't succeed, but I try.

9. Tell us your latest news.
Some of you may know that I have been working on getting the Never Slow Dance With A Zombie movie musical launched. I believe there is going to be an announcement very soon. I will keep you posted.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Yes. I'd like to thank all the readers who supported Boyfriend From Hell, especially the book bloggers who helped get the book out there. Launching a novel is daunting, and all the love and support I received from readers and bloggers made it a lot of fun.

About the Book
Earth Angel:
Fallen Angel Saga - Book 2


Blurb:
Heaven Can Wait!

Just because Megan Barnett recently defeated Satan, has a fantastic new best friend, and has won the love of deliciously handsome, Guy Matson, doesn’t mean her troubles are over. Far from it. For Megan doesn’t realize it, but in her possession is a powerful weapon, a weapon sought after by both angels and demons and everything in between. They will do ANYTHING to get it.

In E. Van Lowe’s humorous, romantic and thrilling sequel to Boyfriend From Hell, Megan winds up in a gripping life or death battle to save herself, the boy she loves, and all of mankind from unthinkable evil.


About the Author
E. Van Lowe


E. Van Lowe is an author, television writer, screenwriter, Playwright and Producer who has written and produced such shows as The Cosby Show, Even Stevens, and Homeboys In Outer Space. He has been nominated for both an Emmy and an Academy Award. Van Lowe recently stepped into the young adult fiction genre with his comedic novel, Never Slow Dance With A Zombie. It was a selection of the Scholastic Book Club, and a nominee for an ALA Award. Boyfriend From Hell is Van Lowe’s second YA novel.