Monday, April 30, 2012

Dan Romain - The Quaker State Affair - Guest Post



About the Book

What happens when “some day” finally arrives?

A mysterious explosion in Taiwan. Nuclear secrets stolen from Los Alamos. China’s manifest destiny at hand.

In the near future, America and China go head-to-head in a battle of technological bluffs, setting in motion a chain of events that could lead to skyrocketing oil prices, the end of the dollar, the American way of life, and the republic itself. The only man who might have an answer in the midst of the international crisis is Patrick “Mac” McDaniels, a world-renowned physicist who wants nothing to do with the government. Has he been conducting revolutionary energy research in secret? And if so, will McDaniels be America’s salvation—or its ruin?


Guest Post

When writing The Quaker State Affair, I realized that Americans have grown numb from all the buzz killing news thrust upon them every day. All of us are suffering from chronic media "TMI." As a result, we’ve become desensitized at precisely that moment in time when our perspectives need to be challenged.

So, I endeavored to write this book to be an enjoyable read notwithstanding the fact that all hell breaks loose. And, from the various books reviews we’ve enjoyed, I guess that I managed to do just that. I hope you enjoy the book and I’d love to hear from you.

The world revolves around the drill bit and yet, man has passed the point where we pump more black, unctuous goo (oil) today than we did yesterday. This comes at a time when our oil appetite continues to grow exponentially. Just imagine 1.3 billion Chinese with average incomes in 2035 equal to American incomes today (fact).

The problem is that oil is priced in US dollars and those greenbacks are losing their buying power at an unparalleled rate. Meanwhile, a worldwide movement is afoot to replace the US dollar as the sole currency used to purchase oil. When, not if, that occurs, life as we know it will turn to pooh. This book is about such a moment in time, sans the buzz kill, of course.

Compounding the geopolitical problem is an emerging China with serious structural and cultural issues that they will not be able to suppress for much longer. Their economy is riddled with corruption, unofficially high levels of inflation and political unrest arising out of the enlightenment of its people. Socio-economic tensions in China are real. Its rural population is depopulating at a time when Chinese need evermore from those migrating farmers. Pollution in China is out of control. They thirst for oil. Their imports are growing faster than their exports. The overall trade surplus of China has fallen 34 percent since 2009. America, China’s favorite buyer, is dead, flat, irritably broke. That’s a problem if your job is to centrally plan the world’s second largest economy.

Amidst all the turmoil, China is amassing a naval armada unequaled in man’s history. It uniforms over one million men and trains them at a pre-war frenzy. For what?

If one could construct a financial balance sheet to depict the world’s economic “net worth”, that image would paint a dire picture. The world’s sovereign paper-based currencies and the countries that print them are bankrupt. The corresponding Credit Default Swap redemptions would collapse the financial systems if that realization ever took hold. This, then, is a tale about all such things coming to a point in time when a seemingly harmless event pushes the inevitable into motion and sets upon the landscape a hundred years of backdrop that unfolds "overnight." It’s a story of intrigue, tragedy and hope.

***

Click here to read an excerpt.

The Quaker State Affair
can be purchased at:
Amazon
Barnes&Noble.com
MyBookOrders.com

Hardcover
Publisher: Two Harbors Press
Price: $22.95
ISBN: 9781937293406
Pages: 375
Release: November 1, 2011


About the Author

Dan Romain is a nationally recognized business consultant who built one of the most successful insurance firms in the country. A graduate of the University of Washington with a bachelor’s degree in economics and a member of the Omicron Delta Epsilon International Economics Society, he currently resides in Seattle, Washington, with his wife, Lori, their two children, Danielle and Brian, and their black Labrador, Kona. He has been widely credited as one of the few who accurately predicted the economic melt down.

http://www.thequakerstateaffair.com/

The Kingdom on the Edge Of Reality by Gahan Hanmer Spotlight



About the Book

Sometimes it's funny how fast things can change, and sometimes it's not...

Welcome to Albert Keane's beautifully designed medieval kingdom nestled in a completely isolated river valley in the Canadian wilderness. Peaceful, happy, and prosperous, it takes nothing from the modern world, not so much as a single clock.

There is a castle, of course, and a monastery. There is even a pitch dark, rat-infested dungeon - because you simply have to have one if you are trying to rule a feudal kingdom!

Farmers work the land, artisans ply their trades, monks keep school and visit the sick, and nobody (well, almost nobody) misses the modern world at all.

So why has Jack Darcey - actor, wanderer, ex-competitive fencer - been tricked and seduced into paying a visit? And why hasn't anyone told him that the only way to leave is a perilous trek across hundreds of miles of trackless wilderness without a compass or a map?

Because a tide of fear and violence is rising from the twisted ambitions of one of King Albert's nobles, and Albert's fortune teller believes that Jack could turn the tide - if he lives long enough ...


***

Click links to read the following PDF excerpts:

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

The Kingdom on the Edge of Reality can be purchased at: MyBookOrders.com

eBook
Kindle
- $7.99
Nook - $7.99
MyBookOrders.com - $7.99

Print
Publisher: Two Harbors Press
Price: $22.95 hardcover
$14.95 paperback
ISBN: 9781937293642
Pages: 360
Release: April 2, 2012

About the Author

Gahan Hanmer enjoyed a colorful career in the theater as actor, director, designer and technician, and also wandered extensively searching for love, happiness and truth. He unintentionally became a grown-up raising two beloved daughters and now lives in the high chaparral desert of California.

In describing his book, Hanmer says, "The Kingdom on the Edge of Reality has the shape of a fantasy (small kingdom set aside in time and space, saintly king, evil duke, prophecy, unlikely hero), the book is about a real kingdom set up in the present day by a wealthy eccentric in the Canadian wilderness; there is no magic, no bizarre weapons or fantastic creatures. Everything that takes place is the story is possible and plausible. It's not a fantasy. Among other things its a serious book about the human predicament and lies across several genres, or maybe falls through the cracks between several genres, and that's what makes it unique."

http://www.thekingdomontheedgeofreality.com/

Friday, April 27, 2012

David-Michael Harding - How Angels Die - Author Interview

My thanks to David-Michael Harding for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews and Giveaways for a guest post about his book, How Angels Die.

Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?
Both the title and the novel are drawn from recorded conversations with my father and uncles prior to their deaths. All were WWII veterans. One had parachuted into France on D-Day -2 and was picked up by a young French girl on a bicycle – his ‘Angel’.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Increase the reader’s recognition of the many faces of war and its impact – far beyond the flying bullets and blood of the front lines. To remind us of the destruction that war reigns down in lives lost and families destroyed in order that we avoid it at all costs.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
The historical research was painstaking in order to insure accuracy. The stories recounted by my family and interwoven in the book’s pages add a sense of realism difficult to replicate otherwise.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
No.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Time. Research involved was extremely comprehensive.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
The toll of war is so very high, it draws into question the futility of armed conflict in the current century and beyond.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I credit Rod Serling. He sparked an interest with ‘The Twilight Zone’ and ‘The Night Gallery’ which led me to his writings.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
John Steinbeck. His works are all about the journey of the story. The writing is straightforward and he doesn’t waste lines. While descriptive, Steinbeck evokes the reader to connect the dots to see and smell via words. His focus is on the characters and driving forward the story.

9. Tell us your latest news.
Newest piece, ‘Cherokee Talisman’, is being edited and scheduled to be released in the Fall of 2012.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you! Your response to ‘How Angels Die’ has been more than I could imagine.

About the Book

In the darkest days of World War II, when France found itself at the mercy of a brutal dictator, the frontlines of resistance may just have been in the grasp of a few good women. How Angels Die, the epic work of historical fiction by author David-Michael Harding, delivers a highly inventive and uncommon take on the French Resistance that is certain to appeal to anyone who relishes a blood-pumping drama, which also sheds searing new light on the astounding bravery, profound passion, and razor-sharp cunning of the fairer sex during the most trying times.

In four fateful days, two remarkable sisters, Monique and Claire McCleash, battle the German occupation of their coastal French town in the early days of June 1944. While their mission is the same, their methods of upending the occupation are irreconcilably at odds. The strikingly beautiful Monique puts her body and wit to work for the Resistance by dating and sleeping with German officers; her younger sister Claire elects instead to serve as an active combat guerilla fighter for the cause.

Brimming with high drama that is punctuated by family humor, How Angels Die lifts the veil on a lesser-known side of the French Resistance. Through the prism of two intrepid women, the novel illuminates how these women employ their formidable assets and fierce love of country to face down a vicious enemy. With page-turning action, unstoppable passion, and historical accuracy, this heart-racing novel is a must-read for sisters, history buffs, and action enthusiasts alike.

Genre: Historical Fiction
Formats: Paperback & ebook
Pages: 420
Publisher: Q&CY Books
Release Date: December 20, 2011
Price: $13.49 paperback, $2.99 Kindle
Buy Link: Amazon

About the Author

David-Michael Harding is a life-long writer whose work has appeared in national publications and has been recognized by the international writing community for his piece, The Cats of Savone. Harding’s previous historical fiction work includes, Forever Beneath the Celtic Sea, detailing the German submarine crew and their sinking of the ocean liner Lusitania. He is a former collegiate writing instructor and semi-professional football player. His experiences provide readers with well researched, crushing fast-paced action. Most of his days are spent writing from the cockpit of his sailboat, Pegasus, somewhere off the Nature Coast of Florida in the Gulf of Mexico. He is the proud parent of two grown daughters. This firsthand knowledge of the female psyche inspired the creation of sister protagonists in How Angels Die.

Connect with David:
Web Site
Facebook

Thursday, April 26, 2012

Andrew Hessel - The Do-Over - Guest Post

My thanks to Andrew Hessel for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews & Giveaways for a guest post about his book, The Do-Over.

Guest Post

As a writer, I’ve always believed the best stories seem to have two things in common:  The characters reveal the tale, and as they do the story takes on a life of its own.  Last year, after completing a crime-thriller trilogy, I understood this intimately.  I love those books and plan on revisiting the characters that have more stories to tell, but I’ve always been a genre-inclusive reader and demanded similar freedom and scope as a writer. 

THE DO-OVER is novel of hope, love and second chances, and admittedly, a departure from my earlier novels.  Genre-defiant, too, so I’ll call it a crime thriller-love story with dash of fantasy and a sprinkle of sci-fi. 

While that’s not exactly right, it’s not all wrong, either.

I wrote it because the world seems so dark at times, I thought a little piercing-of-the-gloom couldn’t hurt.  And I was looking to explore the emotional conundrum that is love and hope, despair and redemption.

So, Cups Drayton, my hard-boiled yet tender hearted cop hero, steps aside for Kiki Kinsler, a twenty-one year-old college girl whose world is upended by unspeakable tragedy at the hands at an accidental monster, a victim himself.  When all appears lost, she’s given the improbable, impossible gift of a chance to undo the horror, and correct it

We all dream of a second chance, but the question is how far would you go for yours?

But Kiki’s miraculous gift won’t come easily. To reclaim her future, she must first correct the injustices of the past. 

In doing so, Kiki learns that home is more than a place, it is also a time, and she must confront the parallel challenges of life and love, past and present, in a love story with a foot in each world, 2012 and 1981.

I love The Do-Over, and I’m fiercely proud of my crime thrillers.  The pages turn and the characters are real and memorable.  The bad guys incomprehensively bad and the good guys heroic but with feet of clay.  The characters of The Do-Over are human in a way that moves me still. My goal was a novel readers felt glad to have to read and eager to pass along.  I couldn’t be more surprised – or delighted – by the love story that evolved.

The final verdict, and of course the one that matters most, comes from readers.  Happily, I’m hearing that they find themselves thinking about the book long after the pages have stopped turning, and turn they do.  A writer can’t ask for more than that. 

I hope you enjoy The Do-Over and invite your comments.


About the Book

Kimberly Ann “Kiki” Kinsler is a twenty-one year-old college student excited to be returning home to Portland, Oregon for summer break and eager to see her family.

Instead of the happy homecoming that she anticipates, Kiki’s world is upended by an unimaginable tragedy.  Her parents and younger sister are dead, victims of Little Mo Biggs, a tragically accidental monster, himself a victim of profound parental neglect and abuse.

Kiki is also attacked and hospitalized but survives.

In the hospital, when all appears lost, she is given an opportunity to wipe away the nightmare, to un-do it, and correct the senseless tragedy. 

A second chance, a wonderful, improbable, and miraculous gift, that doesn’t come easily.

To reclaim her future, Kiki must first correct the injustices of Little Mo’s past, which only can be corrected at the root

In doing so, she learns that home is more than a place, it is also a time, and must confront the parallel challenges of life and love, past and present, in a love story with a foot in each world, 2012 and 1981.

The Do-Over is a novel of hope, love and second chances.

We all dream of a second chance.

The question is how far would you go for yours?

Formats: Paperback, ebook
Price: $9.00 paperback, $2.99 ebook
Pages: 285
Genres: Thriller, Romance, Fantasy, Sci-Fi
Release Date: April 22, 2012
Publisher: Old Dog Publishing, LLC
Buy Links: Amazon, Kindle, PleaseReadMyBookBeforeIDie.com


About the Author

Five years ago, after all the fun I could stand in the corporate world, I decided to do what I’d always loved best.  Four novels later, it’s been the most fun I’ve ever had.  It’s lucky to love what you do as I do, and that the power and the beauty of words can amaze me more every day.

Always an insatiable reader of fiction and awed by much of it, my FB Author page lists a few favorites.  My blog features an occasional post on recent reads, along with posts that are more rants and rambles, so, reader beware.

As a reader, nothing beats the pages turning, except running into great writing as they do.

As a writer, my mission is page-turning stories with events involving characters you’ll remember and care about.  Fair warning, some you will love, and for others hate may not go far enough. The stories are Oregon-based, but venture all over.

Lynne and I are transplanted Midwesterners (Chicago and St. Louis) living happily in Portland, Oregon for what seems like always now.  We have four wonderful children, five delightful-if-exhausting grandchildren, and an old black lab that turns thirteen next month.  Mac is the dog of my life, a medical miracle and one of the world most expensive man’s best friends.

It was a no-brainer to name the publishing company in his honor, as he inspired one of the characters, as well as the title of The Old Dog’s New Trick, the second book in the Cups Drayton Series, and graces the cover.

What’s next?   I have fingers in two pies, a new Cups story and a sequel to The Do-Over, the first book in the Kiki Kinsler Series.  Cups and Kiki will decide.  Before long, one of them will command immediate and complete attention.

You can learn about the books, the blog, Old Dog Publishing, and me, at the website, and I’ll thank you in advance if you stop by www.PleaseReadMyBookBeforeIDie.com.

Thanks for reading.  May the pages turn and deprive you of sleep.

Connect with Andrew:

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Desperately Wanting Wednesday

Desperately Wanting Wednesday is not only for releases that I’m waiting on, it’s also for already released novels that I just haven’t purchased yet, or gotten to.

 



The Color of Snow
by Brenda Stanley
Publication Date: June 1, 2012

When a beautiful 16-year-old girl named Sophie is found sequestered in a cage-like room in a rundown house in the desolate hills of Arbon Valley, Idaho, the entire community is shocked to learn she is the legendary Callidora--a baby girl who was kidnapped from her crib almost seventeen years ago and canonized in missing posters with portraits of what the fabled girl might resemble. Authorities soon learn that the cage was there to protect people from Sophie, because her biological father believes she is cursed.

Sophie is discovered after the man she knows as Papa, shoots and injures Damien, a young man who is trying to rescue her. Now, unsocialized and thrust into the world, and into a family she has never met, Sophie must decide whether she should accept her Papa’s claims that she is cursed and he was only trying to protect others, or trust the new people in her life who have their own agendas. Guided by a wise cousin, Sophie realizes that her most heartbreaking challenge is to decide if her love for Damien will destroy him like her Papa claims, or free her from past demons that haunt her mind.

Click here to add The Color of Snow to your Goodreads to-read list.

Friday, April 20, 2012

Karina Fabian - Live and Let Fly - Update & Giveaway

Congratulations to our winner!
mbreakfield
marlenebreakfield [at] yahoo [dot] com

To enter the giveaway for a PDF ebook of Live and Let Fly by Karina Fabian:

1) Click here to add Why God Matters to your Goodreads to-read list.

2) Leave a comment with your email address.

(ends 4/22/12, midnight EST)

Now Available
Price: $5.95
Format: ebook (.pdf, .prc, .epub, html)
Buy Link: MuseItUp

When a dragon and a nun play secret agent, all Hel breaks loose!

For a dragon detective with a magic-slinging nun as a partner, saving the worlds gets routine. So, when the US government hires Vern and Sister Grace to recover stolen secrets for creating a new Interdimensional Gap--secrets the US would like to keep to itself, thank you—Vern sees a chance to play Dragon-Oh-Seven.

No human spy, however, ever went up against a Norse goddess determined to exploit those secrets to rescue her husband. Sigyn will move heaven and earth to get Loki—and use the best and worst of our world against anyone who tries to stop her.

It's super-spy spoofing at its best with exotic locations (Idaho--exotic?), maniacal middle-managers, secret agent men, teen rock stars in trouble, man-eating animatronics, evil overlords and more!

Read an Excerpt


Charlie started to close the door behind us, his other hand gripping the handle of his dagger so tightly I could hear the leather wrap on the handle strain, as we listened to the footsteps coming our way, slow, bored. My predator's instincts rose; then I had a great idea. I shook my head at Charlie and winked, and he shuffled out of my way, leaving the door ajar. I settled myself with my back to the door, just inside the shadows and let the script play itself out:

CLUELESS MINION enters Stage Left. He pauses, hearing a noise, but does not report it. Instead, he fondles the stars on his nametag and moves toward the empty hallway, his mind on adding another. (Probably saying, "I was proactive today!")

CLUELESS pauses at door, hesitating. He stands and, back to the door, reaches for his walkie-talkie.

Suddenly, a well-muscled and gorgeously scaled tail whips out from the crack in the door and wraps itself around his neck. He only has time to grab ineffectively at the tail before he's drawn into the darkness. The door shuts behind him.

Pan shot of the empty hallway.

FADE TO BLACK

I slammed my victim on the floor and pinned him with my forelegs, then I leaned my face in nice and slow, making sure he got a good look at my fangs before he saw my eyes. "Where's the girl?" I growled low and menacingly.

"Wh-What g-g-girl?"

Charlie crouched down by Stutterboy and glanced at his nametag. "Look, Philip, we're in a bit of a hurry. We know Rhoda Dakota's being held captive somewhere nearby. Now you can be a good survivor and tell us where…or you can be dinner."

"I-I don't—"

"Phil A. Minion." I mused and drooled a bit for effect. I live for these moments, I really do. I licked his cheek and asked Charlie, "Can I have fries with that?"

"Why not? This is Idaho."

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Mathias B. Freese - This Möbius Strip of Ifs - Author Interview

My thanks to Mathias B. Freese for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews & Giveaways for an author interview about his book, This Möbius Strip of Ifs.

Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?
The title itself appeared in my award-winning essay, “To Ms. Foley, With Gratitude,” which is also the opening essay in my latest book, This Möbius Strip of Ifs. A Möbius strip is essentially a ribbon with a twist. A mathematical model, it is used as a metaphor by physicists to describe why we, living within four dimensions, are unable to perceive other dimensions outside of the single boundary of time. For me it is a metaphor for unknown opportunities – possibilities outside of our perception. We can only remember the past and how we thought our future might have been.

2. Is there a message in your book that you want readers to grasp?
Sam Goldwyn famously said to a writer that if he wanted a message in his screenplay he should call Western Union. I observe, I experience, I respond and I have no messages to send which is really naïve on my part; my very existence declares a message. Since this is a non-fiction work of creative essays, I joust with American culture. A mixture of my reminiscences, insights, observations, and criticisms, I set out to examine the use and misuse of psychotherapy, childhood trauma, complicated family relationships, my frustration as a teacher, and the enduring value of tenaciously writing through it all.

I describe – often scathingly – the conditioning society imposes upon artists and awakened souls.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
The profound visceral truths in this book will speak to anyone who endeavors to be completely alive and aware.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
I would be more artful in casting phrases and sentences, in my definitions, and editing over and over again. I stand by the feelings and the thoughts I have set out, for the book is a summing up after more than 40 years of writing.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Weeding out the gold from the dross and sequencing the essays so that the reader would sense a flow.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I realized that I am one hell of a subversive.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
I write to explain myself to myself. It has always been a dialogue. I want to come to terms with my life so like Kazantzakis, my epitaph might read: “I hope for nothing. I fear nothing. I am free.” I write to be psychologically free in a heavily burdened world of mass conditioning.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
Nikos Kazantzakis, author of The Last Temptation of Christ and Report to Greco, for his transcendental genius and spiritual risk-taking, a man for all seasons, who had the audacity to write a sequel to Homer’s Odyssey – in verse – and by all accounts equaled Homer.

9. Tell us your latest news.
My next book is a collection of short stories, I Truly Lament, Working Through the Holocaust, and completes an endeavor to fathom the Holocaust which I began with The i Tetralogy, which some reviewers consider a major contribution on the subject. I was fortunate in 2011 to have eleven stories published from the book.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your reader?
Consider Epicurus’s epitaph while journeying on the Möbius strip: “I was not; I have been; I am not: I do not mind.”


About the Book

Release date: February, 2012
Formats: Paperback, Kindle
Publisher: Wheatmark
ISBN: 9781604947236
Price: $10.95 paperback. $9.95 Kindle
Availability: Amazon (paperback), Kindle, Barnes and Noble and Wheatmark.com

About the Author

Mathias B. Freese is the author of The i Tetralogy, a Holocaust novel, winner of the Allbooks Review Editor’s Choice Award 2007, and Down to a Sunless Sea, a collection of short fiction, Indie Excellence Finalist Book Awards, Mathias B. Freese is a psychotherapist and teacher. Non-fiction articles have appeared in the New York Times, Voices: The Art and Science of Psychotherapy, Pilgrimage and other journals. In 2005 the Society of Southwestern Authors honored him with a first-place award for personal essay/memoir. In November/December 2011 Mensa Bulletin published this essay in revised form. His new collection of short stories is in progress, I Truly Lament, Working Through the Holocaust. In 2011 ten stories from this collection were published, the latest being “Slave,” Del Sol Review #18, 2011. His writer’s blog is www.mathiasbfreese.com. This Möbius Strip of Ifs, a collection of essays written over four decades, was published in February 2012.

Connect with Mathias
Web Site
Email

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted here, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Knee Deep
by Jolene Perry
Publication Date: May 1, 2012

Shawn is the guy Ronnie Bird promised her life to at the age of fourteen. He's her soul mate. He's more uptight every day, but it's not his fault. His family life is stressful, and she's adding to it. She just needs to be more understanding, and he'll start to be the boy she fell in love with. She won’t give up on someone she’s loved for so long.

Luke is her best friend, and the guy she hangs with to watch girlie movies in her large blanketopias. He's the guy she can confide in before she even goes to her girlfriends, and the guy who she's playing opposite in Romeo and Juliet. Now her chest flutters every time he gets too close. This is new. Is Ronnie falling for him? Or is Juliet? The lines are getting blurry, but leaving one guy for another is not something that a girl like Ronnie does.

Shawn’s outbursts are starting to give her bruises, and Luke’s heart breaks as Ronnie remains torn. While her thoughts and feelings swirl around the lines between friendship and forever, she’s about to lose them both.

GoodReads link to Knee Deep

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Philip Bralich - Blaming the Japhy Rider - Guest Post

My thanks to Philip Bralich for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews & Giveaways for a guest post about his book, Blaming the Japhy Rider.

Guest Post

My book was first conceived in 1983 after a one-year, ESL teaching trip in Japan. It took me 28 years of reading, study, and contemplation to actually get to it. The core subject matter has to do with my efforts to resolve rather deep and complex psychological issues that arose after an accident in the “bush” in Peace Corps West Africa which cost my wife her life and me much use of my left leg, my home, my career and much else. Of major importance to this theme, one that will be recognized to others working through such traumas is a discussion of how the original pattern of the trauma repeats and how trauma victims must constantly watch out for these repetitions (in my case the loss of spouse, home and career) until the trauma is properly metabolized and resolved. Here are more details.

Inspired by and responding to Jack Kerouac’s Dharma Bums and surveying the spiritual landscape of America through the 70s to the present in Zen, Tibetan Buddhist, New Age and Christian movements, this memoir describes the journey of my life beginning as a twenty-something, leftist, married, 70’s idealist in the Peace Corps in West Africa through an accident in the bush which cost my wife her life and myself much of the use of my left leg, and through the growing and debilitating psychological difficulties that are finally resolved through a wide reading and personal experience of many of the spiritual and psychological movements of those four decades. The book commences in West Africa in 1978 but also goes back to as early as 1973, just four years after Jack Kerouac died.

The journey begins in Africa, goes through the Air Force med evac hospital in Wiesbaden, Germany, to the states, through two years in Japan, cross country jaunts, graduate school and teaching in Hawaii, one drive through Europe from Dundee, Scotland to Rome and then to Bonn, Germany, retreats at many spiritual centers and many conference presentations around the country. In between these national and international trips, there are many stops at Buddhist retreat centers, the Naropa institute, meetings with Allen Ginsburg and other beat poets and their cohort as well as commentary on the spiritual landscape of America over these thirty years as seen through the eyes of someone whose eyes the reader is not sure can be trusted due to the frank descriptions of psychological confusion. In the course of my studies and travels I had an inadvertent but much loved run-in with the Beats, which motivated the form the book took when I began to write. This is described in the book, and the appendix has a copy of a hand-written letter from Allen Ginsberg commenting on my poetry.

The memoir also describes my practice experience with Zen and Tibetan masters and the growth of my experience over 25 years from basic sitting to the highest yoga tantras to the Six Yogas of Naropa, all attained legitimately through years of practice and study and the completion of all necessary preliminary practices in the correct order. My resistance to becoming a teacher or a guru and my insistence on remaining an ordinary American rather than a new age rebel provides a somewhat different perspective on these practices and disciplines. The memoir is also cautious not to make claims at particularly wondrous successes with these practices. It focuses instead on occasional and convincing, minor experiences rather than dramatic breakthroughs or new age discoveries.

Of particular importance are the descriptions of the spiritual and psychological debilitation that was precipitated by the shock of the initial accident and for years was exacerbated as I sought out spiritual and psychological solutions. The descriptions of these states and the growing psychological awareness throughout the book give the readers an opportunity to explore their own psychologies and their spiritual beliefs while gaining insight into available faiths, practices and centers.


About the Book

Inspired by and responding to Jack Kerouac's Dharma Bums, this memoir details the psychological and spiritual triumph over severe psychological difficulties caused by a series of traumas endured in the Peace Corps in West Africa in 1978. Surveying the spiritual landscape of America through the seventies to the present in Zen, Tibetan Buddhist, New Age and Christian movements, this memoir describes the journey of author Philip A. Bralich's life, beginning as a twenty-something, leftist, married, seventies idealist in the Peace Corps in West Africa, through an accident in the bush that cost his wife her life and himself much of the use of he left leg, and through the growing and debilitating psychological difficulties that were finally resolved through wide reading and personal experience of many of the spiritual and psychological movements of those four decades. The book commences in West Africa in 1978 but also goes back to as early as 1973, just four years after Jack Kerouac died.

Pages: 260 pages
Release Date: January 25, 2012
Formats: Hardcover, paperback, ebook
Publisher: Balboa Press
ISBN: 9781452540511
Price: $35.95 hardcover, $17.99 paperback, $3.99 ebook
Buy Links: Amazon (hardcover), Amazon (paperback), Kindle

Dedication

“This book is dedicated to the elucidation of ‘the best minds of my generation destroyed by madness,’ to those who have sought to stop the madness rather than exacerbate it, to the best minds of the Eastern and Western traditions who never succumbed to the madness, and to the victims of those who did.”

Opening poem (a Beatish kind of a thing):

He*rd said.
He said she said that they said I said … but
What I really said
Is I think it’s you instead.


About the Author

Philip A. Bralich has a PhD in linguistics. He spent many years teaching ESL and essay and research writing. He has much experience presenting at professional conferences and publications in theoretical syntax, ESL, and computational linguistics, as well as with professional business presentations, business writing, and grant writing.

He is motivated by the tragic accident that took his wife's life and much of the use of his left leg; the memoir describes a thirty-year journey through western and eastern psychology, including much reading, practice, and an inadvertent but much loved run in with the word of the beats.

Bralich currently lives in Monterey, California, where he is writing screenplays and this memoir. After having been laid off once again from the best job of his life, he decided to take his meager savings and resolve his difficulties once and for all. The PTSD and survivor's guilt from his accident were finally resolved through this effort. His studies and travels began in Peace Corps in West Africa, and moved through years in Hawaii, two years in Japan, and approximately two years in group meditation retreats and many Buddhist centers across North America.

Connect with Philip
Website
Blog
Email
Facebook
LinkedIn
Twitter
YouTube
Shelfari
Goodreads
LibraryThing
PRweb

William Dickerson - No Alternative - Author Interview

My thanks to William Dickerson for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews & Giveaways for an author interview about his book, No Alternative.

Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?


I like titles that attempt to say it all, and I felt “No Alternative” as a title is an attempt to do just that. On its surface, it reflects Bridget’s opposition to the overwhelmingly favored musical genre of the time. For both Thomas and Bridget, it embodies their respective obsessions with music, music as a way to escape the inner turmoil of their angst-ridden teenage bodies and minds. I also think the title is meant to hint at the idea that music may not be enough to heal their woes – that self-destruction may ultimately be the only choice left – that there is no alternative in the most existential sense of the phrase. It’s a phrase employed by a suicide at the moment of greatest desperation – to kill oneself because life presents no alternative.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?


Aside from the cautionary elements in the book, I think a key cultural message is the celebration of the true DIY spirit. The person who is the true individual, who doesn’t fit into any box, or peg-hole, is the hero; not the person that follows the trends. The true hero is, and should be, the iconoclast, the person who can see through the illusions and just be him or herself, and be satisfied and comfortable being him or herself.

3. How much of the book is realistic?


Insofar as I picked up a guitar for the first time after Kurt Cobain killed himself and started a grunge band in the mid-nineties, it’s realistic. I was a teenager during those times and I wanted to dramatize that universal sense of alienation, apathy and angst we all felt through the fictitious lives of the characters in this book.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?


Oh, man, it’s too early to tell! Several years down the road, or even before that, I’m sure I’ll want to go back in time to alter parts of it, or burn it, what-have-you. I’m a filmmaker also, and I say from experience that after I make a film, and it sits in the world for a while, and I watch it again, I always want to go back and do some things differently. But then I think of George Lucas and how he continually screws around with his first three STAR WARS films, and I say to myself, “I’m probably better off not touching it – let the art speak for itself in the context of the time that it was made and reflect the emotional state that the artist was in when it was created.”

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?


Rewriting. Writing is rewriting, as they say…and they speak the truth. I find it very cathartic and satisfying to sit down with a blank page and begin writing. It starts out like free association with me; I’m able to generate a lot of material, at first, but then the challenge is going back through it with a fine-toothed comb and crafting it into something that I can live with. That’s the tedious part. But it’s also a very gratifying part of the writing process, in an OCD kind of way. I’m a musician, and I also edit some of my films, and I feel both of those skill sets typify a kind of obsessive-compulsive/grasping-at-perfectionism part of me that lends itself well to the blissful torture of rewriting – it’s rhythmic, it’s the separation of beats by comma, by semi-colon, by period. Rewriting is the Pro Tools part of the literary mastering process.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?


I learned that the stuff that works best on the page is the stuff that is authentic, that is emotionally true. A good story should be an emotional roller coaster. That doesn’t mean it has to be over-the-top, the emotion can be subtle, but either way it needs to feel real, it needs to resonate with people.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?


I’ve always gravitated toward the written word, which is fortunate because I’m terrible at mathematics. First time I can remember being moved by a book was in third or fourth grade when I read Robb White’s “Deathwatch,” an awfully adult book to assign to children, but then again one of the first movies I saw and remember liking in my formative years was RAMBO: FIRST BLOOD PART II. “Deathwatch” was the first example of a literary work that was able to infiltrate my mind in such a way that engendered concrete visual images and landscapes from the words and the spaces between words. It had a lasting effect.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?


This is probably the toughest question of all. I don’t think I can pinpoint a specific author, but if I’m up against a wall and have to make a choice, then right now I’d say Ernest Hemingway. He’s a great writer to read while writing, because he says so much with so few words. In that sense, he’s a great role model. For example, I often look at a sentence and say to myself, how can I say this as simply as possible? That question, which is a crucial one in the rewriting process, is derived almost directly from Hemingway and his Iceberg Theory, which holds that the text, what’s on the surface, should be fractionally smaller than the subtext, what lies underneath the surface (80% of an iceberg’s mass is underwater). It’s not what we say to each other that rings true, it’s the behavior we exhibit that reveals character – it’s the thing that’s left unsaid that tells the story. But there are so many writers who are really important to me and who I can’t imagine living without. I’ve also been reading a lot of Philip K. Dick and Rick Moody lately.

9. Tell us your latest news.


In addition to publishing “No Alternative,” I just finished my first feature film, which I wrote and directed, called DETOUR. It’s about an advertising executive who gets trapped in his car during a California mudslide. We’re in the midst of finding distribution and applying to film festivals with our executive producers, Level 1 Entertainment.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
This seems like the perfect moment for a quote from the person who inspired me to pick up the guitar, and ultimately inspired the writing of this book:

“Punk is musical freedom. It’s saying, doing and playing what you want. In Webster’s terms, ‘nirvana’ means freedom from pain, suffering and the external world, and that’s pretty close to my definition of Punk Rock.”
- Kurt Cobain


About the Book

No Alternative is a coming-of-age drama that drills a hole into the world of suburban American teenagers in the early 1990's.

Thomas Harrison is determined to start his own “alternative” band, an obsession that blinds him to what’s either the mental collapse, or the eruption of musical genius, of his little sister, Bridget. Calling herself “Bri Da B,” Bridget boldly rejects her brother’s music, along with the music of an entire generation of slackers, and becomes a gangsta’ rapper, channeling the persona of a well-endowed black man from the hood.

No Alternative probes the lives of rebellious kids who transition into adulthood via the distortion pedals of their lives in an era when the “Sex, Drugs & Rock’n’Roll” ethos was amended to include “Suicide” in its phrase.

Kurt Cobain’s suicide inspires Thomas, 17, to start a band with his friends – to pick up where Kurt left off – and use the grunge music that’s hot in mid-90s Westchester County, NY, to find a girlfriend and sex. Thomas’s sister, Bridget, 15, is an artist with no ambition and aspirations dulled by anti-depressants. Rejecting alternative as commercialized pap, she finds expression in the emerging gangsta’ rap and writes songs that blow away preppy cafe audiences. The siblings’ parallel musical ambitions, and parallel paths to self-slaughter, are set against the backdrop of picturesque suburbia. Their father William, fully invested in the Law as a State Supreme Court Judge, and their mother, Maureen, professional homemaker, embody the suburbs, the upper-middle class ethos, and the notion that their kids should strive for success. The problem is their kids, like kids in every generation, are bent on the destruction of that success.

Release Date: April 2012
Format: Paperback, ebook
Pages: 331 pages
Price: $12.99 paperback, $2.99 ebook
ISBN: 9780985188610
Publisher: Kettle of Letters Press
Genre: Fiction
Buy Links: Amazon, Kindle


About the Author

William Dickerson graduated from The College of The Holy Cross with a degree in English and received his Masters of Fine Arts in Directing from The American Film Institute. He is a writer/director whose work has been recognized by film festivals across the country and who recently completed his debut feature film, Detour, which was acquired by Level 1 Entertainment whose company credits include RENDITION, GRANDMA’S BOY and STRANGE WILDERNESS.

No Alternative is his first novel. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife, Rachel, and Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, Duet.

Connect with William:
Facebook

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Frank Nappi - The Mickey Tussler Novels - Author Interview

My thanks to Frank Nappi for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews & Giveaways for an author interview about his books, The Legend of Mickey Tussler and Sophomore Campaign.

Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?
For the first book I used the word "Legend" to reflect the extraordinary nature of the protagonist's circumstances. And for the second book, in sports there is the expression "Sophomore Jinx" - I figured Mickey's second pitching season would be best described as a sophomore or second campaign.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
The essential message is one of tolerance for those who are different from us. Both books (The Legend of Mickey Tussler and Sophomore Campaign) also celebrates resiliency in the face of great adversity.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
Many of the characters are composites of real individuals from my life. The circumstances are perhaps a little more fictional.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
Not really. I am very pleased with the way everything came together.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Presenting a realistic portrayal of an individual on the Autism Spectrum was at times challenging.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
That characters will take you where they need to go; that one must not be rigid in his/her approach to writing

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Yes. I was inspired to begin writing formally after forging a friendship with two WWII veterans with whom I became very close. They were the subject of my first novel Echoes from the Infantry.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
By far F.Scott Fitzgerald. His writing is truly an art form, lyrical and poetic. He writes the way the birds sing.

9. Tell us your latest news.
Well, my novel The Legend of Mickey Tussler was just released as a feature film (A Mile in His Shoes) and the sequel to the book Sophomore Campaign just came out this month. I am working on a third book to complete the series.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Yes. Please give the Mickey Tussler series a chance. You will find that the books are so much more than baseball tales - they are stories that transcend the baseball diamond into much more universal realms ....

About the Books

The Legend of Mickey Tussler

Buy Link: Amazon

Seventeen-year-old Mickey Tussler is recruited to play for a minor league affiliate of the Boston Braves. Arthur Murphy swears Mickey has the greatest arm he has ever seen, that anybody has ever seen. And it might be true. But Mickey's autism is prohibitive. It keeps him sealed off from a world he scarcely understands. Lost both in the memory of his former life with an abusive father and the challenges of a new world filled with heckling teammates, opponents and fans, there's no way Mickey can succeed. But his inimitable talent -- one of the most gifted arms in the history of baseball -- gives him a chance. Can he survive a real life dream? Or are the harsh realities of life too much for him? This is the powerful underdog story of how a young man with an extraordinary gift comes of age in a harsh and competitive world.


Sophomore Campaign
(the sequel to The Legend of Mickey Tussler)


Buy Link: Amazon

It's 1949 and eighteen-year-old pitching phenom Mickey Tussler is back with the rejuvenated minor league Brewers in the sequel to The Legend of Mickey Tussler (the basis for the television movie A Mile in His Shoes). Despite Mickey's proclamation that he will never play baseball again after last season's violent conclusion, his manager and now surrogate father Arthur Murphy cajoles the emotionally fragile, socially awkward boy with autism into giving it another shot. Mickey reluctantly returns to the field and must once again cope with the violence and hatred around him. When a young African American player joins the team, the entire team is subjected to racial threats and episodes of violence, one of which Mickey witnesses firsthand. Struggling to understand such ugliness and hatred, and fearful of reprisal should he tell anyone about what he has seen, the boy's performance on the field suffers. Mickey now must deal with a side of human nature he scarcely comprehends.


Author Bio

Frank Nappi has taught high school English and Creative Writing for over twenty years. His debut novel, Echoes From The Infantry, received national attention, including MWSA's silver medal for outstanding fiction for 2006. His follow-up novel, The Legend of Mickey Tussler, garnered rave reviews as well, including a screenplay adaptation of the touching story which aired nationwide in the fall of 2011 (A Mile in His Shoes starring Dean Cain and Luke Schroder). Frank continues to produce quality work, including The Legend of Mickey Tussler: Sophomore Campaign, the intriguing sequel to the much heralded original story, and is presently at work on a third installment of the unique series. Frank lives on Long Island with his wife Julia and their two sons, Nicholas and Anthony.

Connect with Frank
Website
Goodreads
Twitter

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Desperately Wanting Wednesday

Desperately Wanting Wednesday is not only for releases that I’m waiting on, it’s also for already released novels that I just haven’t purchased yet, or gotten to.

Knee Deep
by Jolene Perry
Publication Date: May 1, 2012

Shawn is the guy Ronnie Bird promised her life to at the age of fourteen. He's her soul mate. He's more uptight every day, but it's not his fault. His family life is stressful, and she's adding to it. She just needs to be more understanding, and he'll start to be the boy she fell in love with. She won’t give up on someone she’s loved for so long.

Luke is her best friend, and the guy she hangs with to watch girlie movies in her large blanketopias. He's the guy she can confide in before she even goes to her girlfriends, and the guy who she's playing opposite in Romeo and Juliet. Now her chest flutters every time he gets too close. This is new. Is Ronnie falling for him? Or is Juliet? The lines are getting blurry, but leaving one guy for another is not something that a girl like Ronnie does.

Shawn’s outbursts are starting to give her bruises, and Luke’s heart breaks as Ronnie remains torn. While her thoughts and feelings swirl around the lines between friendship and forever, she’s about to lose them both.

GoodReads link to Knee Deep

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Happy Book Birthday to SPECTRAL

happy birthday butterfly glitter

Celebrate Spectral's April 10th release day, by following the kick-off to the blog tour or purchasing a copy at these links:

Kindle - $2.99
Nook - $4.95
Google - $3.79
Smashwords - $4.99
PDF - $4.95

Convinced she’s a part of the witness protection program, sixteen-year-old Jewel Rose is shuffled around the globe with her family like a pack of traveling gypsies. After arriving at lucky home twenty-seven, she stumbles upon a mysterious boy with magical powers claiming to be her guardian . . . and warning of imminent danger. Despite the obvious sparks between them, Jewel discovers a relationship is forbidden, and the more she learns about dark, brooding Roman, she begins to question who she can even believe — the family who raised her, or the supposed sworn protector who claims they’ve been lying to her all along.

As she struggles to uncover who her family has really been running from, she is forced to hide her birthmark that reveals who she is. With new realities surfacing, unexplained powers appearing, and two tempting boys vying for her heart, Jewel battles to learn who she can trust in an ever growing sea of lies, hoping she’ll make it through her seventeenth birthday alive.

Autism Awareness Giveaway Hop

Congratulations to our winner!
Dhidey
dhidey [at] aol [dot] com

Enter to win a PDF ebook of Second Chance, a children's autism title from Tribute Books.


1) Share Second Chance on:
Facebook (through this link)
or
Twitter (through this link)
or
Pinterest (through this link)

2) Leave a comment with your email address along with the direct link back to your share.


***


Second Chance:
How Adoption Saved a Boy with Autism
and His Shelter Dog

by Sandra J. Gerencher


Over the past 10 years, author Sandra Gerencher has been on a mission to save dogs from high-kill animal shelters. Her first rescue was P.J., the black and white Pomeranian in the story. She also adopted the orange Pomeranians Shelby and Lil Rascal, and of course, Chance, the big black Rottweiler/German Shepherd mix.

All characters in the story are based on Sandra's real life family. The book is filled with softly blended watercolor photos of her loved ones.

Her most significant adoption was her son, Terry. He was considered a special needs child because he was born with a genetic disorder known as Fragile X Syndrome. The disorder can cause many cognitive disorders, such as autism, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, mental retardation and depression.

“This is a delightful story about belonging and love from the viewpoint of the underdog in all of us ... a great treat!”
– Chris Remick, M.A., B.C.B.A.
clinical director of autism services, Friendship House

"Second Chance touches on the companionship of a boy and his new pet dog and the importance of stability and PERMANENCY in their lives."
– Kathy Roach
director of permanency, Diakon Adoption & Foster Care



Thursday, April 5, 2012

Happy Easter Eggstravaganza Giveaway Hop

Congratulations to our winner!
Sheila
ssdawn2002 [at] yahoo [dot] com

Enter to win the latest young adult ebook release from Tribute Books.


1) Add Jolene Perry's upcoming May 2012 release, Knee Deep, to your Goodreads to-read list. Click here for the direct link.

2) Leave a comment with your email address.


***


Night Sky
by Jolene Perry


After losing Sarah, the friend he’s loved, to some other guy, Jameson meets Sky. Her Native American roots, fluid movements, and need for brutal honesty become addictive fast. This is good. Jameson needs distraction – his dad leaves for another woman, his mom’s walking around like a zombie, and Sarah’s new boyfriend can’t keep his hands off of her.

As he spends time with Sky and learns about her village, her totems, and her friends with drums - she's way more than distraction. Jameson's falling for her fast.

But Sky’s need for honesty somehow doesn’t extend to her life story – and Jameson just may need more than his new girl to keep him distracted from the disaster of his senior year.

http://night-sky-book.com/



Monday, April 2, 2012

Karina Fabian - Author Interview - Live and Let Fly

My thanks to Karina Fabian for stopping by Tribute Books Reviews & Giveaways for a guest post about her book, Live and Let Fly.

Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?
Since it’s a spy spoof, it seemed an obvious play off Live and Let Die…which I think has the lamest theme song as far as lyrics go, and yet is incredibly catchy and NEVER leaves the brain. Ack! I thought of it. Help me! (Sigh. At least the piano and guitar are good.) Here, let me share. (Bwahaha)
http://youtu.be/JK2hKzZss5Y

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
* Even we Mundanes live by cliché.
* Sometimes, the mechanical eyes are watching you.
* If you knock out the guard, use his thumb to open the door BEFORE you lock him in a cell.
* Just because you’re in a crisis doesn’t mean you can’t have some fun.
* Hel hath no fury like her step-mother Sigyn.
* We get by with a little help from our friends…sometimes, too little, but you can always count on the cavalry (or in this case the USMC—OOH-Rah!)

3. How much of the book is realistic?
Um…. The BILE headquarters are pretty close to real. And the Powerpoint presentations. (Been there, done that.) Oh! And the bathrooms of the Evil Overlord Headquarters are reminiscent of many a home improvement store. Hmm… I think just about everything else is an exaggeration of reality if not an outright fantasy.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
Not that I can think of right now. I’m so tickled at how it turned out. My editors at MuseItUp were great fun to work with (though we had a couple of frustrating moments), and they made the book even better.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
The edits. I had to cleanse the book from any brand names and obvious cultural references. Vern, being a dragon and the materialistic type as well as an aficionado of Mundane culture, uses a lot of brand name/cultural references. I think I rewrote to remove between twenty and fifty references. I lost track.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
* James Bond was afraid of flying…and it inevitably stormed when he was in the air.
* Hungry Hippos is a vicious game if you’re a plastic ball.
* There’s at least one instance when it’s satisfying to pave the road to Hel with good intentions.
* Dragons don’t like shoes.
* There’s still a lot of mileage to be had from puns like Phil A Minion (filet minion)

More seriously, I did learn a lot about Norse mythology as I sought the perfect villain and uncovered her diabolical scheme.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
It’s been too long ago to remember. I’ve always loved stories and had an active imagination. I got a lot of encouragement in school; I still have my tall tale from fourth grade, and I remember I got some kind of recognition for a story I wrote about a rodeo horse in sixth grade. Still remember loving that story, though I can’t remember much of it. I also remember feeling like if I’d had more time, I could have made it better.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I have a lot of favorites, but when it comes to the same kinds of books as Live and Let Fly, I have to say Terry Pratchett. He has such a great way of twisting things that is at once hilarious and yet oddly logical. I loved the footnotes in his Discworld books. I’d love to do a novel sometime with lots of jokes in the footnotes.

9. Tell us your latest news.
During Lent, my father’s and my book, Why God Matters: How to Recognize Him in Daily Life, is being promoted by several bloggers as a great devotional. We’re also asking folks to share their faith stories concerning Lent and Easter on our website, http://whygodmatters.com

In February, I finished my serious science fiction novel about a man whose ship is dragged across the event horizon of a black hole. The tentative title was The Old Man in the Void (a nod to Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea. In March, my short story “Illusion” came out in Corrupts, Absolutely? It’s pretty dark; a bit of the boyhood of my character from Mind Over Mind—Deryl, when he first gets his psychic powers. So this month, I’m editing Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator 2: I Left My Brains in San Francisco and I start on my next DragonEye, PI novel, Gapman. It’ll be a superhero spoof. http://youtu.be/XlzneaTGZss

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I’m absolutely thrilled that Vern and Grace are back at last with this novel, and I hope it will be the first of many. However, they’ve been in numerous short stories in the meantime. You can read more about them at http://dragoneyepi.net.

About the Book

When a dragon and a nun play secret agent, all Hel breaks loose!

For a dragon detective with a magic-slinging nun as a partner, saving the worlds gets routine. So, when the US government hires Vern and Sister Grace to recover stolen secrets for creating a new Interdimensional Gap--secrets the US would like to keep to itself, thank you—Vern sees a chance to play Dragon-Oh-Seven.

No human spy, however, ever went up against a Norse goddess determined to exploit those secrets to rescue her husband. Sigyn will move heaven and earth to get Loki—and use the best and worst of our world against anyone who tries to stop her.

It's super-spy spoofing at its best with exotic locations (Idaho--exotic?), maniacal middle-managers, secret agent men, teen rock stars in trouble, man-eating animatronics, evil overlords and more!

Buy Links


Live and Let Fly comes out April 20.

For more information on how to purchase, visit:
http://dragoneyepi.blogspot.com/p/live-and-let-fly.html

or e-mail Karina to get on the notification list at:
http://karinafabian.com/index.php?name=ContactPro

Read an Excerpt


Charlie started to close the door behind us, his other hand gripping the handle of his dagger so tightly I could hear the leather wrap on the handle strain, as we listened to the footsteps coming our way, slow, bored. My predator's instincts rose; then I had a great idea. I shook my head at Charlie and winked, and he shuffled out of my way, leaving the door ajar. I settled myself with my back to the door, just inside the shadows and let the script play itself out:

CLUELESS MINION enters Stage Left. He pauses, hearing a noise, but does not report it. Instead, he fondles the stars on his nametag and moves toward the empty hallway, his mind on adding another. (Probably saying, "I was proactive today!")

CLUELESS pauses at door, hesitating. He stands and, back to the door, reaches for his walkie-talkie.

Suddenly, a well-muscled and gorgeously scaled tail whips out from the crack in the door and wraps itself around his neck. He only has time to grab ineffectively at the tail before he's drawn into the darkness. The door shuts behind him.

Pan shot of the empty hallway.

FADE TO BLACK

I slammed my victim on the floor and pinned him with my forelegs, then I leaned my face in nice and slow, making sure he got a good look at my fangs before he saw my eyes. "Where's the girl?" I growled low and menacingly.

"Wh-What g-g-girl?"

Charlie crouched down by Stutterboy and glanced at his nametag. "Look, Philip, we're in a bit of a hurry. We know Rhoda Dakota's being held captive somewhere nearby. Now you can be a good survivor and tell us where…or you can be dinner."

"I-I don't—"

"Phil A. Minion." I mused and drooled a bit for effect. I live for these moments, I really do. I licked his cheek and asked Charlie, "Can I have fries with that?"

"Why not? This is Idaho."

About the Author

If there’s such a thing as ADD of the imagination, Karina Fabian has it—in spades. Craft books, devotionals, serious science fiction, comedic horror and chilling fantasy—she follows her interests and the characters that tell her their stories.

Even before she could write, Karina strung tall tales about everything from making human pyramids in Kindergarten to visiting alien worlds. Her first attempt at novel writing was in fourth grade; she completed her first novel in college. However, her first published work was an anthology of Christian science fiction, Leaps of Faith, an EPPIE finalist for best anthology in 2006. Her next anthology, Infinite Space, Infinite God, featured Catholic characters and themes and won the EPPIE for science fiction. The second Infinite Space, Infinite God anthology came out in 2010.

Watching the comedy improve show, Whose Line Is It, Anyway, inspired her noir-style dragon detective, Vern. Vern and his partner, Sister Grace, have solved mysteries and saved the Faerie and Mundane worlds numerous numerous times in the DragonEye, PI stories and novels. Their serial story, World Gathering, won a Mensa Owl; and the novel, Magic, Mensa and Mayhem (Fabian’s first published novel), won the INDIE for best fantasy in 2010.

At a friend’s request, Karina wrote a funny story about a zombie exterminator, which grew into the Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator novels. The first, Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator, won the 2011 Global E-Book award for best horror.

She also writes serious science fiction. Her first SF novel, Discovery, is currently under consideration, and she’s working on a second on, The Old Man and the Void, based loosely on Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea, but taking place in the accretion disk of a black hole.

Karina has a strong faith, which she explored in her devotional, Why God Matters: How to Recognize Him in Daily Life, which she wrote with her father Steve Lumbert, and which won the 2011 Christian Small Press Publisher Award. She also writes Catholic school calendars and has written three craft books for the Little Flowers/Blue Knights clubs.

Fabian is married to Colonel Robert A. Fabian of the USAF. They have four children, a dog and a cat. When not writing, teaching writing, or chatting about writing, she’s hanging out with her kids or swinging a sword in haidong gumbdo.

Connect with Karina
Website (author)
Website (book)
Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Google +
YouTube

Blog Tour
Twitter Hashtags: #DragonEye, #L&LF
Calendar of Stops