Friday, November 30, 2012

Scott Thomas - Fellengrey - Author Interview & Giveaway

Author Interview 

1. How did you come up with the title?
The original title, PRIVET, was based on the name of the book’s main character. But the book contains both a short story and a novel, so I changed the title to indicate that it is more than just Privet’s tale. I chose FELLENGREY which is the name of the magical place where the story is based.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
The story serves as an entertaining adventure, but it also deals with issues of inhumanity and touches on themes such as loyalty and love and the power of one’s personal calling.


3. How much of the book is realistic?
While set in a fantastical realm, the world I created is very much based on 18th Century Britain. I obsessively researched everything from the style of speaking to the style of clothing and everything about ships and navy life at that time.


4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
I suppose most authors can go over a work and find particulars that they may have handled differently, but nothing jumps out at me that I think sways from my overall vision for the story.



5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Finding enough time is often a factor, a challenge in terms of writing. This book brought the specific challenge of research. I wanted to be very accurate in my depiction of 18th Century naval ships.



6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I discovered a passion for the age of sail that had not ever really manifested. I also learned about historical naval characters, historical battles, and what life was like for those who lived at sea in the past. 


7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Springing from a creative family, writing fiction seemed a natural progression from hand-drawn comic books and telling stories with toys in a sort of puppet show sort of way, and recording my own spooky stories on tape recorders to play back for folks, something inspired by old time radio plays. 



8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I generally think of Dylan Thomas as my favorite author. I love his powerful, creative, evocative use of language. While at times his fiction is almost surreal it speaks in poignant ways.

9. Tell us your latest news.
I have a short story in the anthology EXOTIC GOTHIC 4 from PS Publishing, and I have a story in an anthology called SPIRITS OF THE NIGHT from Netbound Publishing that will be out soon. My ghostly collection URN AND WILLOW from Dark Regions Press came out a few months ago, and I will be a guest on the live podcast program Scary Scribes at 6 PM EST, November 25, 2012. http://scaryscribes.com/

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I hope that my writing further stimulates a fondness for books and a love of imagination and history.



About the Book

Fellengrey is a nautical adventure set in a fantastical world reminiscent of 18th Century Britain. It follows the sailing life of Lt. Hale Privet as he battles villains, deals with the effects of magic, and finds himself smitten by a lovely lass. Included in the book is an introductory tale about an unfortunate coxswain named Mill Burnshire who finds himself shrunken to the size of a child and trapped on an island that he cannot leave.

Prices/Formats: $14.95 paperback, $29.95 hardcover
Pages: 236
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Raw Dog Screaming Press
Release Date: November 26, 2012
Buy Links: Amazon


About the Author

FELLENGREY is Scott Thomas’s first published novel. His short story collections include URN AND WILLOW, QUILL AND CANDLE, MIDNIGHT IN NEW ENGLAND and WESTERMEAD. He has seen print in numerous anthologies, such as THE YEAR’S BEST FANTASY AND HORROR # 15 and THE SOLARIS BOOK OF NEW FANTASY. His work appears with that of his brother Jeffrey Thomas in PUNKTOWN: SHADES OF GREY and THE SEA OF FLESH AND ASH. Scott and his girlfriend Peggy live in coastal Maine.

Links to connect with Scott:
Facebook




About the Giveaway:
To win a paperback copy of Fellengrey, kindly leave a comment with your email address. Ends 12/2/12.


Congratulations to our winner:
thejessiebelle (at) gmail (dot) com


Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Nora Weston - The Twelfth Paladin - Author Interview

Author Interview 

1. How did you come up with the title?
It’s great to be visiting at Tribute Books. Thank you for the interview!

The Twelfth Paladin’s title came about because while doing a major rewrite on the book, Jake Cottrell…the reluctant hero of this supernatural thriller, became more complicated as the story progressed. Jake’s life spins out of control because he foolishly dares Hell to burn him through a series of emails. Jake believes the threatening emails are purely a joke, but Hell invades his virtual space to steal his soul. So, the book was titled @hell. During the rewrite, Jake evolved into more than a man running from Hell. He is also running from his past and he spends all kinds of time avoiding his future.

After Jake realizes he’s been chosen to be a supernatural warrior, commanded by one hardnosed, rebellious angel named Micah, he begins to change for the better. I did not make this journey of self-exploration easy on him! Since Micah’s heavenly unit equals twelve, amazing men, and Jake is the newest addition to the group…he trains to become the twelfth paladin. That sounded like a fantastic title for the updated version, so I kept it. I considered The Twelfth Soldier? Nope. The Twelfth Warrior? Not quite. The Twelfth Paladin…yes!

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
It fascinates me how two people can react differently to the same exact situation, or how what tempts one person may not tempt another at all. For example, isn’t it interesting how some people are tempted to let go of commonsense, causing them to fall into dangerous situations? No less compelling is the ability of some people to love unconditionally—and then those who seemingly cannot love at all, and hope always intrigues me. Hope is a powerful thing. Since I’ve lived long enough to see people make dramatic changes in their lives, I know great potential can hide deep inside…until something forces it to shine. That people can change and positively affect those around them is the message I believe readers will recognize in The Twelfth Paladin.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
Oh, my! Fabulous question, and since The Twelfth Paladin concerns a battle between a warrior angel, some highly determined demons, and a temptress extraordinaire from Hell, let’s just say I am very happy this book is a work of fiction. However, it was inspired by a super creepy email I received years ago. That email was an invitation, possibly a prank—that invited me to fool around with wickedness. For about two seconds, I thought about clicking on the link within the message, but I decided no good would come from it. With my luck, had I ventured into that link’s virtual world, my computer might have crashed, or who knows...maybe I would’ve slipped into a virtual Hell. So glad I deleted that one!

While it’s true this book is a supernatural/thriller and highlights the relentless battle between good and evil, The Twelfth Paladin has also been called a coming of age story. Jake Cottrell is a seeker of mischief in the beginning of the book, and he’ll do just about anything to feel alive…get a rush. He lives a selfish existence. Yet, in no time, his heart and soul come face to face with life and death situations that mark him forever. Once he enters the supernatural world once believed to dwell only in dreams and nightmares…he cannot escape his destiny. So, yes, this novel is fiction, but it also deals with many real-life issues.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
Do writers ever feel their books are finally finished? I’m not sure, although I will always be able to think of things to change in just about everything I’ve written. Why characters behave like they do, their history, is what I most want to update in my stories. Now, that being said, since The Twelfth Paladin was birthed from a previous novel, I’ve changed so many things up to this point I could not count them all. It was a real pleasure working on this book because I knew the characters very well, so their actions, dialogue, and motivations fell into place easily. If I could change one thing in this book, I’d give Angie Helms more breathing room. She’s feisty, a likable girl who manages to infuriate Davis Travers (the super nasty antagonist) so much it’s funny.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
The hardest part of writing The Twelfth Paladin was rounding out the demons’ personalities so they did not all blend together into one demon. Davis Travers, Rachel Darnell, and Rathe Blackwell all have distinct personalities and pretty much despise each other even though they are playing on the same team. Of the three demons, Rachel is my favorite. She is from Hell, very naughty, yet I do take time to show she sincerely feels for Jake and protects him from the other two. Make no mistake, Rachel is wicked, but her history, which spans thousands of years, makes it easy to understand why she is so lonely.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
Absolutely! This book takes a rowdy, young man with no hope for a bright future and sends him on a perilous journey to become a remarkable warrior. Eventually, Jake accepts he has more to offer the world than fulfilling his own selfish desires. It was through Jake’s trials and errors that I was reminded of how important time and patience are while raising teenagers. Always in a hurry to grow up, to test everyone and everything, teens slowly become who they are meant to be.

Choosing my words carefully…that is also another thing writing The Twelfth Paladin reminded me to do. Jake was deeply hurt by his mother and father, by things they said and did. His perception of the world was altered because of their personal struggles. Yes, Jake taught me many things about trying to be good to those around me.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Goodness, if only my mother knew way…way back when I was supposed to be paying attention in math class that my mind was wandering into fantastic realms located in the frightening woods behind my childhood home in West Virginia. Those woods, with fallen and crumbling trees, strange mounds of dirt covered with massive amounts of leaves, and a seemingly endless supply of animals to make me jump inspired me. What if? Two, tiny words that would make sure I’d have to back track to catch up and complete math assignments! What if the trees were falling and disintegrating because of toxic dust from an asteroid? What if that dust got inside of us? Oh, no! What if aliens are buried under those strange mounds of dirt that seem like they are hiding something…something dangerous?

That’s what did it for me. Those dark, spooky woods ruined my chances of becoming a math genius! 



8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
This is a tricky question because I respect and admire so many authors. Being that I write in the speculative genres, it is probably no surprise I love reading Edgar Alan Poe and Stephen King. Poe’s poetry and short stories have made me cringe because they scream with profound misery, but his boundless imagination and determination to write disturbing works made me curious about him a long time ago. Every time I read Poe, I’m always impressed.

Stephen King. Well, I could write a book as to why this man’s work strikes me. One thing about King’s work is that he takes ordinary situations and people, like in Dreamcatcher, where friends gather at a camp site for their yearly hunting trip, and then he turns their lives upside down due to an alien invasion. The friends are not super heroes from another planet wearing costumes, so they appear like everyday people. I really enjoy how King pulls you from everyday ho-hum and then shoves you into his world of horror and science fiction.

9. Tell us your latest news.
Danger is coming my way since secrets of betrayal are revealed that blow away Zane Grayson’s world in the sequel to Guardian 2632, which is my science fiction adventure. Time travel assists Zane, Elite Guardians, and Mercs, while super-computers named Gabriel and Acamar—battle for supremacy in the future.

Jake Cottrell never lets me rest, so naturally...he’s gotten himself into a supernatural situation that will test his fellow paladins, especially Obadiah and Suero because they do not trust him. So a sequel to “The Twelfth Paladin” is in the works as well.

For whatever reason, I write more poetry in the winter, therefore, when a line or two of something bizarre hits me…Zane and Jake must wait!

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I most definitely appreciate the interest in my writing, and I encourage everyone to write! If writing is not your thing, then explore your creative side through music, painting, dance, or any other option the arts have to offer. With all of the online communities that connect new writers, artists, and musicians with more experienced ones, any questions you have can be answered.

If you do write and are looking for markets to submit your work to, then check out duotrope.com and ralan.com. You won’t believe how much information there is on those two sites. Remember to always follow the guidelines for each market exactly as they are posted.

One last thing…if you are still in school, then please pay attention in math class!


About the Book

In The Twelfth Paladin, good against evil battles as angels, demons, and a temptress extraordinaire, named Rachel Darnell, vie for the soul of Jake Cottrell. Jake foolishly dares Hell to burn him. Hell agrees. Scarred with angelfire by a rebellious angel, named Micah, Jake Cottrell is sanctioned to become the twelfth paladin in Micah’s supernatural unit of slayers. However, regret abounds as Micah is banished and ordered to protect what he now despises…a human he believes is unworthy of such an honor. Never fear, Jake is a seeker of mischief who soars on a blistering blacktop to escape the wrath of Hell while he transforms into the twelfth paladin.

Prices/Formats: $5.99 ebook, $15.95 paperback
Pages: 242
Genre: Paranormal Thriller
ISBN: 9781612351766
Publisher: Melange Books
Release Date: 2011
Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Kindle, Melange Books


About the Author

Nora's publishing credits include the anthologies Mind Mutations, Cyber Pulp’s Halloween 3.0, and Dark Pleasures. Other venues in print and online include; The Hacker’s Source, The Dream People, Hoboeye, Abandoned Towers, Dark Moon Rising, Shadowkeep, Insolent Rudder, Poe Little Thing, Soul Engravings, Dark Walls, The Murder Hole, Word Salad, Lost in the Dark, Static Movement Online, Escaping Elsewhere, Decompositions, The Kudzu Monthly, The Burning Word, The Seeker Magazine, Dream Forge, The Sidewalk's End, and The Harrow. She took first place in a Lotus Blooms Journal’s past poetry contest. Her latest novel, Guardian 2632, came out in January 2011, from Melange Books. The Twelfth Paladin has just been released by Melange Books. Worlds Within-Worlds Beyond, Dark Gothic Resurrected Magazine, Trapeze Magazine, and Four and Twenty all featured her work during the autumn, 2010. Bete Noire has accepted work for 2012, and 1889 Labs just published Down in Death Valley. Crack the Spine published Nora's work in February 2012. Feel free to download previous interviews with Nora on Blog Talk Radio’s, Not Picture Perfect. Her blog is the Noracast.

Nora has also had the pleasure of reaching people through the airwaves on radio stations throughout the US. She's been a guest on WBIG/ 1280 am/ People to People with Paul Morgan, and KFIZ/1450 am/Backstage Live with Joe Scheibinger. Radio interviews took place with WDLB/1450 am/Insight with Ryan Lindsey, WFAD/1490 am/ Jerry Germaine & Jae Show, KBAR/1230 am/ In The Dark with Bill Shields, WJON/1240 am/The Midday Show with Kelli Gorr, Trip N Tyme In The Morning / Ellusions Radio Network, LLC and with Jack Landman of Cybercity Radio.

Nora is available for radio/podcast interviews to discuss writing and/or Internet safety.

Links to connect with Nora:
Web site
Blog
Twitter
YouTube




Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Samuel Ben White - First Time - Book Blast & Giveaway


First Time: The Legend of Garison Fitch

"What if history didn't happen that way ... the first time?"

Garison Fitch was one of the most revered scientists in the Soviet Americas until he left fame behind to work on a secret project in his log cabin in the mountains of Marx.

But something went wrong. Instead of traveling interdimentionally, Garison has traveled through time ... twice.

Now, he's in something called "The United States of America" and a woman he's never met before is calling herself his wife. It it a hoax? Or, has he somehow changed history?

If so, can he return the world to what he believes is "normal", or must he live in this strange world he created?



Purchase



Praise:

"Sam continues to weave his magic as a storyteller. I always find myself anxious to find out what will happen next and what kind of twist will befall the adventurers. It helps to be familiar with the places that the heroines go, which adds to the story."
~Labdaddy, Texas

"I've had a few very unproductive but enjoyable days thanks to Samuel Ben White. If you haven't read Sam's books you have been missing a treat. These were funny, suspenseful, spiritual and kept you turning the pages."
~Karen S.

"Just wanted to say how much I have enjoyed your books. I have a Kindle and I have purchased all of the Garison Fitch novels. I am in Saudi Arabia and your books have really helped take me away from here."
~Scott, Saudi Arabia


Also Part of the Series:


Saving Time

Two years ago Garison Fitch traveled through time and rewrote history. An accident in the eighteenth century created a whole new world, and even gave Garison a wife he had never met before. Now, he’s got a daughter and he’s coming to enjoy this world he created. Until he’s attacked by men masquerading as Indians, and a funeral procession from out of the past enlists his help, and a tree grows from sappling to full-grown in a matter of minutes, threatening his daughter’s very life. Time itself is unraveling and Garison’s trips through time seem to be the cause. Garison must go back in time once again and keep himself from making the original trip that started the problem. But he can’t use his time machine to go back. How does one sew up a rip in time?





Lost Time

Jason Kerrigan and Brownwyn Dalmouth are pilots with the Republic of Texas Army Air Corps. A world war is going on and bombs have just brought an end to Crockett Air Field in south Texas. Jason and Bronwyn, though, are called away from the battle to be test pilots for a new aircraft that-they're told-will bring the war to an end. The experimental craft lives up to expectations in early tests, but then it lands them somewhere it never should have sent them. Another place? Another time? Another dimension? Somehow, they've taken a trip to the future and changed the past. Or did they? The answer to their change of reality may be known to a Justice of the Peace in Colorado named Garison Fitch. To figure it out, though, Garison may have to team up with his least favorite person: Bat Garrett.





Purchase



Author Samuel Ben White

Samuel Ben White (“Sam” to his friends) is the author of the national newspaper comic strip “Tuttle’s” (found at www.tuttles.net) and the on-line comic book “Burt & the I.L.S.” (found at www.destinyhelix.com). He is married and has two sons. He serves his community as both a minister at a small church and a chaplain with hospice. In addition to his time travel stories, Sam has also written and published detective novels, a western, three fantasy novels and four works of Christian fiction.





Links




Tour Schedule





Book Blast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 12/16/12
*You need not enter your twitter name for each entry. Simply enter it when you follow Sam then you can leave the others blank.

Open to anyone who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent's permission. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Caryl Rivers - Girls No More - Author Interview

Author Interview 

1. How did you come up with the title?
Since Virgins was about girls in high school, the title says to readers that we are picking up the characters as they become adults.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Yes. So many people loved the characters as young girls, I wanted to explore their lives in a really interesting time—just as the women’s movement was opening new doors for women, and as these particular young women were becoming Washington journalists in a time of upheaval and challenge.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
Much of it is based on events I lived through—The Vietnam war protests, the impact of Kent State, the rise of Black protest organizations, the Nixon years and womens’s struggle to succeed in what was still very much a man’s world.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
I don’t think so. I loved braiding together the women and their personal lives and loves with national events.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Making sure to keep all the threads of the story moving along. There was Peg meeting up again with her old love, Sean, and Con, now a married woman, re-discovering her old ambitions, and a new character, Kitty, a widow who has become a popular hostess who is also a power player in Washington and who has a passionate affair with an very ambitious young congressman.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I found that I really enjoyed telling a large story that spreads out on a large canvas, bringing women’s personal lives into focus with great, far-reaching national events.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Yes. I joined my high school newspaper, (Just like Peg and Con do in Virgins) and I remember how wonderful it was to see my actual name in print. I have to admit, I still get a kick out of that! 



8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I guess my very favorite author is Edith Wharton, and how she tells stories about women’s lives in a time when women had few choices, and how they struggled to find a true identity apart from the narrow confines of the worlds they inhabited.

9. Tell us your latest news.
I am working on a mystery with my daughter, Alyssa Lupo Zulueta, called “The Silver Screen Murders.” It has a Hollywood theme, of course. And I am working on a new novel to be called “Fancy Girls” about young women in the Mad Men era. It’s such an interesting time. Women are struggling to break out of old restrictions and boundaries, but they haven’t yet gotten society’s permission to do so.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I hope that when young readers delve into my books, they will get a good sense of all the battles that were fought to win the opportunities they now have. Not all the battles are over, by a long shot, but we have to understand our history. And I hope they never stop reading.


About the Book

The Sequel to the International Bestseller VIRGINS…

Two best friends from high school, Peggy Morrison and Constance Masters, reunite in Washington and continue their indecent behavior. One becomes a Capitol Hill gossip columnist and the other is a prize-winning journalist, and both exploit their feminine wiles to get what they want.

PRAISE FOR VIRGINS…

“Rings with authenticity…few writers are as funny as she, and none funnier. Yet she is capable of wrenching your heart and soul.”
- The Chicago Tribune

“This is a riotously funny novel…The ending hints at a sequel. Yes, please, for readers’ sakes!”
- Library Journal

“To read Virgins is to remember a day when a kiss was two tightly closed mouths colliding and there were definite rules as to where a roving hand could move…And no, if you are too young to remember those days, Caryl Rivers is not making it all up. Rivers has written a very funny book.”
– The Washington Post

Prices/Formats: $2.99 ebook
Pages: 320
Genre: Chick Lit
Publisher: Diversion Books
Release Date: November 13, 2012
Buy Links: Kindle, Nook, iBookstore, Kobo


About the Author

Caryl Rivers is a nationally known novelist, journalist, media critic and professor of Journalism at Boston University. Her coming of age novel, "Virgins" sold a million copies around the world and has been republished as an eBook by Diversion press. Her journalism has focused on media, politics, women's issues and civil rights. In 2007 she was awarded the Helen Thomas Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society of Professional Journalists for distinguished journalism.

Links to connect with Caryl:
Goodreads




Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Monday, November 26, 2012

Tara Fox Hall - Shadow Man (Lash series #2) - Author Interview & Giveaway

Author Interview 

1. How did you come up with the title?
I decided on Shadow Man after writing the following passages: Being a guest of honor, Devlin hung out for a while, with me as his shadow to make sure no one tried anything.

AND

It was a long, long night. I was tired, and I kept seeing my dead sister’s face flash before me, telling she was leaving, about how she couldn’t live in my shadow anymore. I felt guiltier and guiltier about how her life had been lived, because it had been in the shadows, specifically my shadow, the shadow of death, and murder, and being hunted.

The phase “shadow man” has a two-fold meaning. The first to make reference to Lash’s line of work as an assassin and bodyguard. He is someone that shadows both those he is trying to protect, and those he is hired to kill. The second reference is to Lash’s own wide shadow he casts of murder, death, and tragedy to all who know him. Relatives, business associates, and friends of Lash come to grief in Shadow Man because they associate with and/or care about Lash, or he cares about them. Even those who are innocent when they meet Lash—such as street boy he nicknames Spiderboy—fall under his shadow and are affected by his lack of morals, his brutal code of life, and his aptitude for violence.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
See above question for the main message. But there are also other many other themes that run through my Lash Series: being an outsider, discrimination, the benefits and drawbacks of family loyalty, evil begetting evil, and the lengths a person will go to in order to protect someone they love. The protagonist, Trystan, initially becomes Lash because he sees no other way to save his loved ones or himself. His actions to protect his loved ones drive the book, and change the course of his life, putting him on the path to infamy. When you have everything in your life reinforcing the worst in you, it’s a hard not to succumb.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
I did research into the time period in which the book was set, trying to find slang for the 30’s, memorable events, inventions, and other historical aspects. The mention of The Hindenburg, Scotch tape, and Lash’s phrases like “Go screw” rather than “Screw yourself” are factual and accurate for the time period. I wrote this series as a drama work first. It’s a genre book only because I love supernatural characters. Take away the supernatural aspects, and you still have a hell of a good story.


4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
No.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Getting some time to myself where no one is bothering me is and remains the hardest part of writing. I love to write, but right now, there is little money in it, which means my day job comes first. I also have to take care of my family, and meet various charity commitments, which leaves little time for writing. I will be taking a hiatus from promotion in the first half of 2013 to work more on my Lash Series.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I learned that I loved history more than I realized. Historical fiction will remain a genre I will write in for a long time to come.


7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
This answer is a long, long story. Here is a short version.

I was in 6th grade, and a teacher asked us to write a poem, giving us several parameters. I looked at the piece of the paper and began writing my first scary work. The teacher read it to the class as an example of a good effort. I was so proud of myself. It was called The Abandoned Town, a scary description of a ghost town. I continued writing poetry until 2007. I also wrote nature stories beginning in 2003, detailing wildlife rescues in articles for a friend’s small paper magazine. I always wanted to write a book, but never seemed to find the time to sit down and write more than a page short story, at the most. Then, in 2007, my mom got sick, visited her doctor, and the doctor told her she had cancer. The diagnosis was she had a year to live, max. I began my first book, Promise Me, that night. I did nothing else but write it, revise, and write sequels for it the next six months. My mother didn’t find out she had been misdiagnosed for several months, and it took her another four months to get completely well. By that time, I had four double length books finished, so I decided to submit them to a friend of my husband who was an editor. She said they were interesting, but needed a lot more work. So I began rewriting and revising. Five years later, Promise Me published.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I get asked this a lot and the truth is I don’t have a favorite author. Really. I have read many, many authors over the years, horror, action, romantic suspense, and otherwise. I think the scariest novel I ever read was Dan Simmons Summer of Night. I’ve reread it at least 5 times already, and plan to reread it again. I also like Tolkien. I’ve read his The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings at least 3-4 times. I grew up watching the animated versions, which made me want to read the books.

9. Tell us your latest news.
I had a ton of releases this fall. Beau to Beau books released two 99cent novellas, Grow a Pair (transgender romance) and The Chalet (gothic supernatural romance), and a third, Snake Eyes, a collaboration with Paul Deadeye Dick involving Lash, should be out soon.

Melange Books released three books in print and e-book. The first was Bedtime Shadows, my short story horror and romance anthology with my fellow author Jenny Twist. The second was Broken Promise, the second book in the paranormal romance Promise Me Series. The third was Make Me Behave, an erotic domestic discipline anthology with fellow author Nancy Pirri. The third Promise Me series book, Taken in the Night, will release late January 2013.

Bradley Publishing released Shadow Man late October 2012. The third Lash book, War, will be out hopefully late next spring.

I was also involved in two charity anthologies: Wild at Heart Vol II, YA romance to benefit the Turpentine Animal Sanctuary, and Fear Vol I, benefiting Doctors without Borders. I was also involved in A Quick Bite of Flesh, a zombie anthology from Hazardous Press that launched this past October.

Rounding out the publishing are my online children’s stories The Perfect Dog and A Tree’s Dream. They are available free of charge on www.childrens-stories.net. A third story, The Present People, will launch this December.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Thank you for reading, and happy holidays to you and yours!


About the Book

When a renegade vampire begins amassing followers, threatening America’s vampire hierarchy, weresnake Lash partners with old enemies and new allies to annihilate them. Betrayed and left for dead, Lash reemerges the victor, catching the eye of the sultry nightclub singer Cassandra Nile, even as enemies close in from every side.

Prices/Formats: $14.99 paperback, $4.99 ebook
Genre: Paranormal - Action - Adventure
Pages: 410
Publisher: Bradley Publishing
Release Date: October 2012
Buy Links: Amazon UK, Amazon USA, Bradley Publishing, Barnes And Noble


About the Author

Tara Fox Hall’s writing credits include nonfiction, horror, suspense, action-adventure, erotica, and contemporary and historical paranormal romance. She is the author of the paranormal action-adventure Lash series and the vampire romantic suspense Promise Meseries. Tara divides her free time unequally between writing novels and short stories, chainsawing firewood, caring for stray animals, sewing cat and dog beds for donation to animal shelters, and target practice.

Links to connect with Tara:
Web site
Facebook
Twitter
Blog

Tara also runs a monthly contest on her website where one lucky winner will win any of her latest release in eBook form. To take part email her to join her mailing list.


About the Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Friday, November 23, 2012

Fall in Love Giveaway Hop

Enter to win an ebook of Owlet: Society of Feathers #1 by Emma Michaels.

***


Owlet: Society of Feathers #1
by Emma Michaels


Somewhere between falling and flying… there is a girl.

Iris has a secret. She lost her memory eight years ago and never told a living soul. After an asthma attack one night she finds out that her dreams of a strange house on a snowy island may be a memory resurfacing but the more she learns about the past the more she realizes the life she has been living is a lie. As the façade her father has built starts to crumble around her she will have to decide which means more to her; the truth or her life.


Click here to follow the Owlet blog tour and win even more prizes!




a Rafflecopter giveaway



Hop and find more prizes!

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Kimball Fisher - Finding the Baby Jesus - Book Blast


Finding the Baby Jesus by Kimball Fisher

After being forced to wear lederhosen for the annual holiday card picture, twelve-year-old Chris thinks that the least his parents can do is get him the Tony Hawk skateboard he wants for Christmas. But when he recovers the hand-carved Baby Jesus that everyone thought had been destroyed in a fire the year his Grandma died, Chris realizes that some gifts are even more important than skateboards.

When the author had to discontinue a cherished tradition of reading Christmas stories out loud with his family and holiday guests each week in December, he wrote Finding the Baby Jesus. He had been unable to locate enough meaningful stories that could be read in a single sitting with wiggly children.



Praise for Finding the Baby Jesus:
“Tender and true, this warm Christmas tale brought tears to my eyes.”
–Heather Vogel Frederick, author of the much-beloved Mother-Daughter Book Club series and Oregon Book Award winner for The Voyage of Patience Goodspeed

“A touching story that speaks to the importance of family, giving, and the true spirit of Christmas.”
–Matthew Kirby, author of Icefall, winner of the Edgar Allen Poe and the Pen Center USA Literary Awards for Children’s Literature

“Deeply moving. Poignant.”
–Deborah Halverson, former editor at Harcourt Children’s Books and author of Honk If You Hate Me, a Gayle McCandliss Literary Award Winner

"The perfect little book to tuck away with your Christmas things and bring out year after year to read with family. As mother to three boys, I can't imagine a better protagonist than Chris. His typical teenage attitude followed by the softening of his heart towards a friend teaches a poignant and very relatable lesson on the true meaning of Christmas."
–Amazon review

"After I read this short story I felt like I had read a novel--every sentence is packed with action and imagery. I was emotionally connected to the characters, and the story is touching. I didn't see the plot twist at the end coming! A great story to read every Christmas."
–Amazon review


Purchase


Author Kimball Fisher


Kimball Fisher writes novels for young readers. He is also a best-selling business author, professional speaker, and management consultant. Some of his past jobs include: sailboat builder, ghost writer (not as scary as it sounds), illustrator, and factory manager (more scary than it sounds). For fun he builds furniture, stained-glass windows, and writing pens.

He graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Humanities (with minors in English, Asian Studies, and Japanese), and a Master of Organizational Behavior degree from Brigham Young University. He and his amazing wife Reenie live in Portland, Oregon, where they have seen pheasants, coyotes, and a bobcat in their own backyard.

Links



Blog Tour
November 23rd to December 21st
Tour Schedule

Blast Giveaway:
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 12/21/12




Open to anyone who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent's permission. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Diony George - Imperfectly Beautiful - Book Blast & Giveaway


Imperfectly Beautiful by Diony George


At 1:30 am, in New York City, Regan Wright is ripped out of a sound sleep with a jolt - her heart thuds in her ears and her face feels flushed. Straining to hear anything out of the ordinary, she fumbles to turn on the bedside lamp. Nothing seems out of place. Suddenly her stomach twists in knots - it's her identical twin, Rebecca. Something is terribly wrong...

Though twins, Rebecca and Regan couldn't be more different.

Independent and outspoken, Regan chose a high-profile career as a fashion designer in New York City. Despite her hard-earned success, Regan’s become disillusioned by the glamour and the glitz. She’s tired of coming home to a lonely penthouse apartment welcomed only by her cat and has all but given up on ever finding “Mr. Right.”

Steady and reliable, Rebecca chose to be a wife and stay-at-home mom. From the very first moment she met James Conrad—tall and muscular with eyes as blue as a cloudless sky—she was captivated. Married and four children later, Rebecca’s life is not what she expected. Her marriage has lost its shine and her sweet babies have become challenging and often unappreciative children.

Both Rebecca and Regan must discover, a higher power has the answers to what matters most, but when a serial killer strikes nearby, and his victims look eerily similar to the twins, will it be too late?


Praise for Imperfectly Beautiful

“5 Stars! Great Novel-Romance with Suspense. Captures your attention from the very beginning...then difficult to put down...A good solid read!”
-Booklover, amazon review

“This was a great book. I could relate to Rebecca and the trials she was going through with her marriage and her children. I feel this way at times too. I liked the suspense and it was enough to keep my hooked…” 
-K. Neilson, Utah

“I enjoyed the development of the characters. Lots of dialogue took me right into the everyday lives and struggles of each person. The underlying story of the unsolved murders of women who look like the twin sisters simmers through out the chapters until it finally boils over into an exciting ending! I recommend it!”
-J.T. Bolla, Washington

Purchase



Author Diony George


Diony George is a wife, full-time mom of seven, grandmother of two, and a published author of uplifting women’s fiction and inspiring nonfiction. She is also a regular contributing writer for Deseret Connect and FamilyHow. Originally from Alaska, she currently lives in Salt Lake City with her family. Besides writing she loves to read, especially romantic suspense, bake, sew and craft.

Her current fiction WIP, Inside the Heart, is based around the kidnapping and disappearance of four-year-old Emma and is slated for release in Feb 2013. Her next nonfiction book, Heaven’s Just a Prayer Away will be released by Cedar Fort, Inc in July 2013.

Links


Book Blast Giveaway
$100 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 11/29/12
*You need not enter your twitter name for each entry. Simply enter it for the first person you follow and leave the others blank.

Open to anyone who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent's permission. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, November 19, 2012

Timothy L. O’Brien - The Lincoln Conspiracy - Author Interview



Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?
I wanted something that evoked Abraham Lincoln, of course, but something that also captured the intense forces surrounding him and at work in the era. The Lincoln Conspiracy offered a way to accomplish both of those things as a title.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
I think the core message is that people in post–Civil War America had to respond to extraordinary change and that the men and the women of the period were remarkable in how, exactly, they chose to respond. I think another core message is that political upheaval and conflict often simply come down to what they have always come down to: money.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
I hope all of it! Much of the book involves actual historical figures and I tried to keep as close as possible to the fact pattern and the realities of the world in which people such as Edwin Stanton, Alexander Gardner, Allen Pinkerton, Sojourner Truth, Mary Todd Lincoln, and Dorothea Dix all lived and breathed.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
There are always passages in which I feel like I could have made the writing better or made the plot deeper. But I suppose that is something that will always plague me when I review my own stuff, so I try to take that into account. The short answer is no and the long answer is…not really.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Time management, since I have a busy day job, and finding the creative space to immerse myself in the work.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I learned a lot about women in the Civil War era and a lot about how primal and important the railroads were.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Great question. I always just loved to write, but I also had wonderful teachers and mentors who encouraged me to take writing seriously, particularly in high school. 



8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I love James Wright and Elizabeth Bishop, the poets; William Shakespeare and Charles Dickens; and Martin Cruz Smith and Hilary Mantel. All of them are wonderful writers and they all evoke complex worlds that I enjoy exploring with them.

9. Tell us your latest news.
I’m at work on the next Temple McFadden mystery. He and Fiona are moving to New York and they will continue to encounter many of the same wheeler-dealers and manipulators that spent so much time avoiding in The Lincoln Conspiracy.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I’m deeply grateful for your interest in The Lincoln Conspiracy and the remarkable cast of characters who inhabit the book.


About the Book

A nation shattered by its president’s murder. Two diaries that reveal the true scope of an American conspiracy. A detective determined to bring the truth to light, no matter what it costs him.

From award-winning journalist Timothy L. O’Brien comes a gripping historical thriller that poses a provocative question: What if the plot to assassinate President Lincoln was wider and more sinister than we ever imagined?

In late spring of 1865, as America mourns the death of its leader, Washington, D.C., police detective Temple McFadden makes a startling discovery. Strapped to the body of a dead man at the B&O Railroad station are two diaries, two documents that together reveal the true depth of the Lincoln conspiracy. Securing the diaries will put Temple’s life in jeopardy—and will endanger the fragile peace of a nation still torn by war.

Temple’s quest to bring the conspirators to justice takes him on a perilous journey through the gaslit streets of the Civil War–era capital, into bawdy houses and back alleys where ruthless enemies await him in every shadowed corner. Aided by an underground network of friends—and by his wife, Fiona, a nurse who possesses a formidable arsenal of medicinal potions—Temple must stay one step ahead of Lafayette Baker, head of the Union Army’s spy service. Along the way, he’ll run from or rely on Edwin Stanton, Lincoln’s fearsome secretary of war; the legendary Scottish spymaster Allan Pinkerton; abolitionist Sojourner Truth; the photographer Alexander Gardner; and many others.

Bristling with twists and building to a climax that will leave readers gasping, The Lincoln Conspiracy offers a riveting new account of what truly motivated the assassination of one of America’s most beloved presidents—and who participated in the plot to derail the train of liberty that Lincoln set in motion.

Price: $26.00
Pages: 368
Genre: Historical, Suspense, Thriller
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Release Date: September 18, 2012
Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, IndieBound


About the Author

Timothy L. O’Brien is the Executive Editor of The Huffington Post, where he edited the 2012 Pulitzer Prize–winning series about wounded war veterans, “Beyond the Battlefield.” Previously, he was an editor and reporter at The New York Times. There, he helped to lead a team of Times reporters that was a finalist for a Pulitzer Prize in Public Service in 2009 for coverage of the financial crisis. O’Brien, a graduate of Georgetown University, holds three master's degrees -- in US History,Business and Journalism -- all from Columbia University. He lives in Montclair, New Jersey, with his wife and two children.

Links to connect with Timothy:
Web site
Facebook
Twitter 

Blog Tour
#LincolnConspiracyTour

Friday, November 16, 2012

Book Lover's Holiday Giveaway Hop

Enter to win an ebook of Owlet: Society of Feathers #1 by Emma Michaels.

***


Owlet: Society of Feathers #1
by Emma Michaels


Somewhere between falling and flying… there is a girl.

Iris has a secret. She lost her memory eight years ago and never told a living soul. After an asthma attack one night she finds out that her dreams of a strange house on a snowy island may be a memory resurfacing but the more she learns about the past the more she realizes the life she has been living is a lie. As the façade her father has built starts to crumble around her she will have to decide which means more to her; the truth or her life.


Click here to follow the Owlet blog tour and win even more prizes!




a Rafflecopter giveaway


Kate Riordan - Birdcage Walk - Author Interview

Author Interview 

1. How did you come up with the title?
Newgate Gaol is featured in the book and I researched its history. Before it was demolished in 1904, a certain area of the prison was nicknamed ‘Birdcage Walk’. As a title, it struck me as fitting on different levels. In real life, George Woolfe’s father was a birdcage maker – I didn’t invent that because it sounds picturesque, the proof is there in the 1901 English census – and, on a more implicit level, this is a book concerned with class and in London there is a real street called Birdcage Walk. In contrast to where George comes from it’s in a very affluent part of town, running alongside St James’s Park and not far from Buckingham Palace.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
There’s a lovely message in the classic novel Howard’s End by EM Forster, ‘only connect’. I think that’s what I wanted to leave readers with; the belief that connecting with people, whatever their background and class, is what matters.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
Obviously the book is a blend of fact and fiction – where the documentary evidence of the era and its events petered out, I have imagined the rest. So while it’s definitely not all real I hope it is realistic. Although there is a lot about Edwardian London that won’t be familiar to readers I hope the characters – the way they think and how they react and love and are frightened – are universally human and therefore recognizable.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
I got stuck at various points during the first part and each time I came back to it, I had to go through it all again so I was immersed in that world again. Towards the end the momentum really took hold and I felt as though I had it all in my head. That made it much easier and quicker to write.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Actually sitting down and writing it! There’s nothing I love more than writing once I’m in that ‘zone’. But I will still do anything to avoid it. If everything at home is a mess and I haven’t brushed my hair then the writing’s going well.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I learnt that, despite all my avoidance techniques, I can actually sit down and write a whole book. I’ve wanted to for as long as I can remember but work and life in general gets in the way (or I allow them to!). I didn’t think I would have the self-motivation to do it so I’m pleasantly surprised. I wish I could be disciplined enough to write 2,000 words a day like Stephen King but I’m an all or nothing person and have to work around that. On a very productive day I can do 5,000 words but there are many guilt-wracked days in between those!


7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
It came from reading. When I was little I was scared of the dark and so I’d put the light on and read until I fell asleep most nights. The books I read – many of them again and again – were such a comfort and escape and eventually I wanted to create a little piece of that myself. 



8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
It’s almost impossible to pick one. There are writers I admire for their skill and writers I just love – and some who fit into both categories. One of those is Alice Munro, whose short stories are just exquisitely written. I love writing short stories, it’s a real challenge to try and convey so much – a whole place and whole lives – in so few words. Alice Munro is the master of this – she can nail a person so that they’re fully formed in your head in a single sentence.

9. Tell us your latest news.
I was really pleased to be selected by Barnes and Noble for their NOOK First Program, which runs until early December. I’m also excited about the audiobook of Birdcage Walk that has been produced by AudioGO – it should be on sale in time for Christmas.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Only that I hope they enjoy it – there’s nothing like that little temporary escape from the everyday that a book can provide. If I manage to transport someone to somewhere else, even for a minute, I will be very happy!


About the Book

A London Murder Mystery Based on a True Historical Crime

George Woolfe is a young working class East London printmaker in the early 1900’s. Frustrated by the constraints of his class and station, he sees an opportunity to escape when he by chance meets Charles Booth, author of one of the most comprehensive social surveys of London ever undertaken. But this auspicious encounter has tragic consequences for George who, within six months, is charged with the murder of a young woman. But did he do it?

Set at the dawning of a new century, when the rigid class and gender boundaries of the Victorian age were soon to shift and realign, Birdcage Walk is a historical novel that vividly brings to life a real-life Edwardian murder and the possible miscarriage of justice that followed it.

Prices/Formats: $3.99 ebook
Pages: 372
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Diversion Books
Release Date: November 4, 2012
Buy Links: Kindle, Nook, iBookstore


About the Author

Kate Riordan is a writer and journalist from England. Her first job was as an editorial assistant at the Guardian Newspaper, followed by a stint as deputy editor for the lifestyle section of London bible, Time Out magazine. There she had assignments that saw her racing reindeers in Lapland, going undercover in London’s premier department store and gleaning writing tips (none-too subtly) during interviews with some of her favorite authors. After becoming a freelancer, she left London behind and moved to the beautiful Cotswolds in order to write her first novel. Now at work on her second, a ghost story, she is visiting haunted pubs as part of her research.

Links to connect with Kate:
Goodreads




Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Thursday, November 15, 2012

Cynthia Langston - The Very First Bite - Author Interview

Author Interview 

1. How did you come up with the title?
The title The Very First Bite pinpoints Lanie’s (the main character) moment of downfall when it comes to sinful food, but it’s also a metaphor for her moment of downfall when it comes to love. Food and love: the two things we’re most drawn toward, and the two things we most struggle with, right?


2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
There are a few, but one of them is that life doesn’t have to be a choice between quality and quantity.


3. How much of the book is realistic?
So far, my readers have agreed that Lanie’s triumphs and struggles are extremely realistic and relatable. Things we all go though, but don’t necessarily talk about.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
I would change one word. It has to do with boobs in the shower. That’s all I’m saying!

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Narrowing down the title. The book is about a lot more than food (the bigger story is about Lanie visiting the ghosts of her past, to emotionally prepare for her approaching high school reunion). But it’s also about food. So the hard part was trying to find something that captured it all. I’m not sure I succeeded though!

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
That if we’re patient, the mysteries of our lives will eventually reveal themselves to us. And that we really can eat a cheeseburger without beating ourselves up about it. You know, all the important stuff.


7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
I wrote a soap opera in 6th grade called Yesterday’s Desire. The girls in my class loved it. That’s when I knew I wanted to be a writer.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
As I was writing both of my novels, I was reading Jane Hamilton’s The Book Of Ruth. I’m doing it again for the next book. I have no idea why, but it totally inspires my writing process.

9. Tell us your latest news.
My first novel, Bicoastal Babe, is being developed for a new television show on the CW network. You can read all about it at my website: www.cynthialangston.net.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Enjoy the book, thanks for reading and definitely drop me an email, tweet or FB message to say hi!


About the Book

The Very First Bite chronicles the toils and triumphs of Lanie Albers, who has just ten weeks to mentally and physically prepare for the ultimate day of reckoning: her high school class reunion.

With twenty pounds of extra weight, a dead-end job and a boyfriend who won’t commit, the prospect of revisiting old classmates has Lanie reeling with panic. Not to mention the loose ends she’ll finally have to face, like Chad, her first love, for whom she suspects she might still have feelings. And Candace, her lifelong best friend, who abruptly ended their friendship seven years ago with no explanation.

By examining the ghosts of her past, Lanie begins to prepare for the revelations and confrontations of the big night. She also launches a desperate campaign to lose weight: an uproarious battle with fad diets and disastrous workouts, most of which lead her right back to the cookie jar.

Prices/Formats: $9.99 paperback, $2.99 ebook
Pages: 332
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: August 27, 2012
Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble


About the Author

Cynthia Langston was born and raised in Appleton, Wisconsin.

She began her writing career at the age of twelve, with a bi-weekly soap opera called “Yesterday’s Desire.” Scrawled in a series of tattered red notebooks, YD was passed around the 6th grade class at St. Pius Catholic Gradeschool, where its enormous popularity and demand-for-more inspired Cynthia to make writing a priority.

She continued penning short stories and screenplays throughout high school. She eventually moved to Chicago to study writing in the prestigious Radio/TV/Film department at Northwestern University, where she also wrote film and theatre reviews for the school’s prize-winning newspaper, The Daily Northwestern. During her senior year, she received national attention for pioneering one of the first authentic “sex columns,” a weekly he-said/she-said column called “Bungalations.”

After college, Cynthia moved to the New York area, where she continued to write for a wide variety of publications, including a stint as a film critic for Film Journal International. While in New York, she began a side career in advertising and eventually launched her own successful market research company, Consumer Dig.

In 2001, Cynthia moved herself, her company and her two cats to Los Angeles, where she now lives in the gorgeous Hollywood Hills with her husband and brand new baby boy.

Currently, Cynthia is re-launching Bicoastal Babe to coincide with the development of Katherine Heigl’s “Trending,” a new drama series in development on the CW network (which is based on BB).

Links to connect with Cynthia:
Web site
Facebook
Twitter




Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Sheron Long - Dog Trots Globe - Author Interview

Author Interview 

1. How did you come up with the title?
Chula, our sheltie, doesn’t just pad along—she trots. When she found out that she’d be going with us on a 2-month trip to France, she danced and pranced and then began to trot, not realizing how far France was from California. In fact, France is halfway around the globe from us. I began to see Chula as a globe-trotting dog with a spinning world under her paws, and it seemed like there was a good title in that image. That’s how the title Dog Trots Globe was born.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
The book is light-hearted and captures the joie de vivre that Chula, Bob, and I all feel when we are in France. I wanted my readers to have a fun read and to experience another culture. That’s why the book includes videos in the enhanced ebook version (and online for other readers) and why there are songs set to traditional French music and sung in French. The serious message is how much experiencing the history, language, life, and culture of another country can enrich your life.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
The book includes over 150 photographs showing all the places we visited with Chula. Readers can step right into France via these photos of real places. The historical details, anecdotes on customs, and information on such things as types of French cheese or how the Eiffel Tower is painted are factual. In these respects, the book is realistic, but when Chula puts her spin on things, we move into another realm--not that dogs don’t speak the real truth!

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
Yes, I’d include even more information on France. Since the book is told by Chula, a dog or chien in French, I started out being uncomfortable that she could relate information. As I got more into the book, I decided she was a chien savant, so I had her tell more about France. After the book was published, I then created a number of Extras pages for the OIC website where my additional information on France could live.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
The hardest part was selecting the photographs and weaving the narrative around them. I had thousands of images to choose from, but I didn’t want to create a book of just photos and captions. Instead, the images had to go with Chula’s adventures as they unfolded and still give readers a vivid view of France.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
Of course! Almost everything I write involves some research. In fact, when I learn something new and surprising, I’ve found something that will probably interest my readers, too. For example, I didn’t know that the Eiffel Tower had started out red or that it takes 15 months to paint it. I didn’t know each coat adds a little to its weight, or that too great an increase in weight is a cause of concern for its stability. Fascinating!

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
There was not a specific moment when it happened. Even as a young child, I knew that what you could say you could write, and that what you could write could be read and understood by someone else. These links in communication are basic concepts, but they led to an interest in publishing that started when I became editor-in-chief of my sixth-grade newspaper, deepened when I ran a daily newspaper in college, and culminated in running an educational publishing company in my professional life.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I love to read and have many favorite authors. For fiction, a few are Barbara Kingsolver (Poisonwood Bible; The Lacuna), Julia Alvarez (Something to Declare), Ann Patchett (Bel Canto; State of Wonder), Joanne Harris (Five Quarters of the Orange), and Khaled Hosseini (Kite Runner; A Thousand Splendid Suns). All these authors have a rich cultural backdrop to their novels so that I get engrossed in the story and learn about life in different times and places.

9. Tell us your latest news.
Just started writing for an exciting blog, called OIC Moments (say “Oh, I see”), whose goal is to enrich people’s lives through connections to positive, creative ideas and diverse cultures. I value curiosity, imagination, innovation, and different perspectives—I’ll write about all these in the blog.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Thank you for your comments on Dog Trots Globe. May you experience the fun that Chula and I had in France and in recording our adventures. To see what Chula is up to next, come be her friend on Facebook.


About the Book

This travelogue recounts the adventures of Chula, a 9-year-old Sheltie, whose travels take her from California to France. With over 150 vivid photographs of France, the lively narrative follows Chula as she sniffs around the boulangeries, lavender fields, and big outdoor markets of Provence and as she wags her way through Paris. Throughout, the reader gets anecdotes on French life and information on everything from cheeses to the Eiffel Tower, all from a fun dog's-eye view.

A helpful Afterword gives tips on pet travel. The publisher’s website offers Extras with related videos, travel planning guides, dog fun, free downloads, and more.

Prices/Formats: $19.95 hardcover, $9.99 ebook
Pages: 160
Genre: Pets / Travel
Publisher: OIC Books
Release Date: 2011
Buy Links: Amazon, Kindle, OIC Books, iTunes, Barnes and Noble, Google


About the Authors

Sheron Long first visited France as a student in Grenoble. In love with the culture and the sights, she returned dozens of times exploring all corners of the country. Sheron and her husband Bob settled in Provence, where they now live part-time and enjoy charming villages, outdoor markets, remarkable scenery, and delicious food. But as much as they enjoyed themselves, their experiences were somehow lacking. You see, the family was incomplete because they always left their beautiful dog, Chula, behind when they traveled.

In 2010, Sheron and Bob planned a two-month trip to France. Their longest trip yet! Unable to bear that much time apart from Chula, they decided to take her along. It was by far their best trip. Upon her return, Sheron decided to capture and share the adventure of traveling to and through France with Chula by creating the book and ebook, Dog Trots Globe — To Paris & Provence.

***

Chula Wula D’Augue, whose first name means "pretty" in Spanish, is an 11-year-old, 30-pound Shetland Sheepdog (Sheltie) with a true sense of adventure. Whether chasing squirrels in her backyard in Carmel Valley, California, or evicting feline squatters from her backyard in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, Chula gives it her all. She's always ready to drop everything and go on a trip to town or across the globe, and she does it all with that lovely Sheltie smile.

In Dog Trots Globe--To Paris & Provence, Sheron combines the elements of an armchair travelogue, canine memoir, and photographic celebration of France by having Chula provide a humorous dog’s-eye view of the trip. The book offers a truly unique perspective of Paris and Provence, mixing the experiences shared with interesting facts and tidbits of French life and culture. Sheron also decided to include helpful tips and information on traveling overseas with your pet, in hopes of encouraging and helping others who might also want to do so. As for Chula, after experiencing France for two glorious months, she is eager to return at anytime, or travel more of the globe with her dedicated owners.

Links to connect with Sheron and Chula:
Web Site
Blog
Facebook




Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.