Monday, December 31, 2012

Eris Kelli - Piper LeVine: A Gypsy's Truth - Author Interview

Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?
I always finish writing my book before I settle on a title. With Piper LeVine a Gypsy's Truth, I wanted to incorporate the mystery and magic that my readers will find in the book into the title, so they will have a good idea of what they're getting into when they pick it up.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Yes, and there are several but the message that I believe to be the most important would be that one's identity while tied to their roots is also discovered in one's character, their actions and choices made especially in the hardest of times. No one has to be what they are expected to be but what they make themselves to be.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
Well, not too much since this is a Paranormal Romance that mixes, Gypsy Magic, werewolves and Baobhan Siths (Mythical Scottish Vampires). However, I did my best to make my characters realistic and constant.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
Right now, no. LOL! If you ask me the same question in about eight months, or so I'm sure I'll have a list. As an author I find that I'm consistently learning and when I go back to books, I've written in the past I always find areas in which I can improve. It's a process.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Honestly, it was finding time to write. It's my passion and I get depressed when I don't get to take advantage of this outlet. Piper LeVine a Gypsy's Truth was written primarily in the middle of the night as that is when I found my time to write. I'm a proud Mommy, and my children are my first priority and loves. However, when they sleep, I write.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I did a lot of research on the Gypsy culture and on the Scottish legends about Baobhans (Scottish Vampires) and I really learned a lot, but I have to admit that I took advantage of my poetic license in both of those areas. Learning about different cultures and belief systems is very interesting to me and has crammed my muse full of spunky and magical ideas.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Absolutely! When I was a little girl, and I sat down to play Barbies with my friends I got so bored with the humdrum predictability of it all. Dress the Barbie brush its hair next they might go shopping or talk about a cute Ken doll. Boring!

So I would create an adventure instead. My Barbies became spies for America in WWII. They solved murders and hunted down the evil vampires. I became enchanted with how my ideas brought my friends to life and how much fun we'd have. During the summer, our games sometimes went on for days. We couldn't get enough and it was exciting to see what would happen and for me to consider what could happen.

The more I learn the more possibilities there are and to this day, I still can't wait to see what can happen next and hopefully my readers are like my friends, excited to find out right along side with me.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
Oh no! That is a REALLY hard question for someone who currently has over three hundred books on her Kindle. I have many favorites and it depends on when you ask me, but right now I'd have to say it is Iris Johansen. What keeps me coming back to read her books is that I always learn something and it's not in the painful classroom kind of way but along the way in the adventure. If I'm allowed to pick a second favorite, I'd pick Melody Anne because I love the way she can take an idea and recreate it in a way that it is new all over again.

9. Tell us your latest news.
The latest with me is that I am currently contributing to an Anthology entitled, Misery Loves Company, and this is my first time writing a short story. My short is called, Lost, and it is part of my ongoing love affair with the Piper LeVine series. This short is actually about one of my Baobhans and is a captivating read even if you haven't had the chance to read any of the Piper LeVine series. It is due to release in May on Amazon through Phoenix Fire Publishing. The second book in the Piper LeVine series, Piper LeVine and the Path of Betrayal is in to my editor and will have a release date soon. I am also working on the third book in the series which won't have a title until its complete.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Yes, I would love to take this chance to thank them for their loyalty and encouragement! It has made such a big difference for me and has me writing faster than my fingers can type. Please feel free to contact me on FB if you haven't already. I love to hear from you and will get back to you as soon as I possibly can. Until then, keep reading!


About the Book

Piper LeVine is the daughter of wealthy Senator, Harold and Katrine LeVine and or so she thought. When a stranger arrives in the night and throws her identity into question, Piper is forced to uncover secrets of her true origin. The treacherous demons from a past she never knew she had, are coming for her.  Only the Gypsies know how to deal with the monsters of myth, but can she trust them?

Nicholas proves less than truthful from the get-go but who else can she hold onto amongst a sea of mystic if not hostile strangers? He is dangerous, captivating, and the only one who she knows will stand toe to toe with the creatures of the dark that seek her. But what will it cost and is it a price she can afford to pay?

In search for the truth Piper will find more than her identity. She will discover her destiny, what she is made of, and the family that determines her fate.

Genre: Young Adult/Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Great Minds Think Aloud
Release Date: January 2013


About the Author

Eris Kelli grew up in the Pacific Northwest as the youngest of 8 children. Her writing is fueled by her love of adventure, learning and her drive to explore an idea. She now resides in Midwest America, with her husband, 2 beautiful children, and happy old dog. Currently she is fast at work on the third book in the Piper LeVine Series.

Links to connect with Eris:
Web Site
Facebook
Twitter
Blog




Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Friday, December 28, 2012

Noah Murphy - Ethereal Girls - Author Interview & Giveaway

Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?
The title comes from the name of the team, and also refers to the ethereal plane, another plane of reality. Reality in Ethereal Girls is split distinctly in two: Psychic Plane, ones of concrete objects, and the Ethereal Plane, one of spirits.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Heroism comes in all shapes and sizes. The book idea came about from the fact that male heroes can look however they want, but female heroes have to all be tall, thin and big-busted. Take The Hulk: huge, green and looks like he overdid the steroids. She-hulk looks like a green supermodel in most of the drawings of her. In some ways, Ethereal Girl's main character Liza is what She-hulk should look like, but doesn't because she has to be sexy.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
Many of the locations in the book, even if they had their names changed are very true to real locations. There's an important scene in the book that occurs at an elite girl's school named The Haddock School. It is based on a real elite girl's school located where I placed Haddock . When writing the scene, I had the map of the real school open for reference.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
Flesh out a few of the side characters, but there's always a sequel for that.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
I detest long flowery descriptions of everything taking up pages and pages, but if I leave description or exposition out, it leaves the work shallow and sparse. The challenge is balancing action with description.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
There’s nothing wrong with using convention. My first series, K23 Detectives, didn’t sell very well in part because I tried to write with particular methodology, namely using unconventional plot structures and cutting out all the filler. So when setting out to write Ethereal Girls, I used a conventional structure and it worked beautifully, hitting novella length and my strongest work to date.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Because I have all these stories in my head playing 24/7 and they need to come out somehow.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I mostly read nonfiction because I use it to provide inspiration for my books. It’s hard to narrow down. If I had to come up with list of recent books, it would be, in no particular order:

1. Physics of the Impossible by Michu Kaku
2. Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer
3. Female Chauvinist Pigs by Ariel Levy
4. Of Parrots and People by Mira Tweti
5. Packaging boyhood by Sharon Lamb, Lyn Mikel Brown and Mark Tappa

9. Tell us your latest news.
I'm currently working on revising and expanding my first book, A Clear and Feathered Danger.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Thank you for reading!


About the Book

The Axe of Boren falls into the hands of teenage Liza while she is driving home from cheerleading practice, transforming her into a muscle-bound warrior. At the same time, her best friend Macie is twisted into a psychopathic murderer by one of the Axe’s counterparts, the corrupted Sword of Boren, and goes on a gruesome killing spree.

But just as Liza and Macie are headed for battle, an evil spirit unleashes cannibalistic zombies on Washington, D.C. In order to defeat the spirit, Liza must ally with three odd girls: a wraith-like Phoenix from the ghetto, a slithering “Lamia” named Jonola, and Meadow, a reincarnated goddess who may know far more about the mystical weapons than she lets on. But even with her new friends, Liza faces a near impossible task. Macie is obsessed with destroying her regardless of the devastation unfolding around them…

Everyone can relate to the anxiety of being different. Ethereal Girls vividly illustrates young women can be powerful and unconventional. QVC watching aliens, ancient snake people and a host of quirky originals keep you on an exciting and action packed ride.

Prices/Formats: $10.99 paperback, $2.99 ebook
Pages: 278
Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction
Publisher: self-published
Release Date: October 21, 2012
Buy Link: Kindle, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, Drive Thru Fiction


About the Author

Noah Murphy grew up in Montgomery County, Maryland which features prominently in his writing. After graduating from Goucher College with a double major in philosophy and religion, he began a pet sitting service. In his spare time Noah volunteers at a not for profit parrot rescue. His love of animals provides inspiration for many of the anthropomorphic characters in his books.

Part of the generation just before autism awareness began, Noah was diagnosed at age 26. For him, a later diagnoses was a hidden blessing. Shares Noah, “Being forced to be “normal” gave me the skills and knowledge to publish and run a business.” How does autism affect his writing? “It unhinges my mind, allowing me to approach situations and characters in strange ways, and seriously enough to make it work: like the nerdy aliens who show up towards the end of Ethereal Girls in the USS Enterprise-D, which works better in the book than it sounds.”, explained Noah.

An avid writer and blogger, Noah Murphy is the author of the K23 Detective Series and his latest young adult superhero novel, Ethereal Girls, was released October 2012. He enjoys sharing his opinions on life, literature and popular culture with his 19,000 followers on Twitter and at The Murphyverse.

Links to connect with Noah:
Web Site/Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads



About the Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Thursday, December 27, 2012

Kate Tenbeth - Unlucky Dip - Author Interview

Author Interview 

1. How did you come up with the title?
The title ‘Unlucky Dip’ came to me in the small hours of the morning (3.34am to be precise!). I woke up, wrote it down in a barely discernible scrawl on the notepad by my bed and promptly went back to sleep! ‘Unlucky Dip’ just seemed perfect to me - I like the tie-in with the ‘lucky dip’ sweets I used to buy when I was younger, i.e. life is just a unknown mixture of randomness, you never know what you’re getting and that feeling of surprise reflects the character of the storyline, although in Holly’s case her surprises are not necessarily nice ones! I also like the fact you can have a ‘dip’ in the water which ties in with the start of the novel when Holly is thrown into the Thames by her step-mother.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
I have to admit that I haven’t really thought about this before, but if the book does have a message it would be that despite the fact that life can be difficult at times, there are always gifts along the way, it’s just a question of recognising them.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
I’d like to think that the conversations between the teenagers and the way their thought processes work are realistic. I’m laughing as I’m writing this because I have a feeling the teenagers might disagree but hey, I gave it my best shot! I’ve actually dedicated the book to my son and his friends – having a house full of teenagers over the last few years has been an absolute joy, they’re passionate, loyal, emotional, funny, intelligent and generally just brilliant!

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
No, and that’s not because I think it’s perfect it’s because if I were to start tweaking I wouldn’t be able to stop! 


5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
The hardest part was finding the time to write and then edit it (it took me over 5 years!). Like so many other authors I work full time, run a house, a son, cats and have lots of other responsibilities and it’s difficult to find time for myself. Thinking about it, that’s probably why I wake up in the small hours of the morning and have to write down ideas!

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
On a practical level I’ve learnt, through trial and error, how to structure a story, the importance of character development, continuity, etc. I’ve learnt that loving writing isn’t enough, it’s actually very hard work if you want your story to be captivating. I’ve also learnt the importance of editing – you have to edit, edit and edit again! The reviews I’ve had from ‘Unlucky Dip’ have taken me to the next step of actually believing that perhaps I can write, that I do have some small talent so that’s something else I’ve learnt!

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
I remember being about 8 and having to read out an essay in class. It was the one and only time I think I’ve ever had a round of applause and I’ve loved writing ever since!

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
Hmmm, this is a bit of a ‘lucky dip’ question because there are so many authors, so many genres that I truly love that it’s almost impossible to choose! However, if I had to pick one author it would be David Gemmell – I love the way he writes heroic fantasy. The trick to fantasy to make it seem realistic and David Gemmell’s characters just spring to life on the page.

9. Tell us your latest news.
I’m working hard on two different projects. One is the Burly & Grum Tales – I love writing these stories and want to write lots more. I’m now being invited to read at schools and libraries, the books are being converted to audio (if you’d like to listen to a free sample just go to https://soundcloud.com/#patscullion/burly-and-grums-halloween), I’ve got lots of ideas for competitions – in fact I have so many plans I have a feeling that 2013 will be an extremely busy year. The other project is a book I started writing many years ago and I have many different versions of it on my computer. It’s a fantasy adventure and it’s a story that I just need to finish because it’s important to me.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I can’t imagine life without writing but, having said that, I’ve never had a lot of confidence in my ability so the fact that people are taking time out of their busy lives to contact me and to leave such positive reviews is pretty awesome! I want to learn, to improve my skills, I want to write wonderful stories and I can do all that now because of the readers who have been so supportive – I simply would never have come this far without them! Thank you!


About the Book

There are always high stakes to play for in the world of gambling, but it’s a world 15 year-old Holly Maddon knows nothing about until her step-mother tries to kill her. The race is on as she tries to discover what her step-mother is up to and whether her father was murdered. She comes up against gangsters, multi-million pound land deals, treachery and deceit, she’s kidnapped, shot at and loses just about everything she loves – it’s a rollercoaster of a ride and Holly's intent on turning the tables.

Prices/Formats: $8.45 paperback, $3.12 ebook
Pages: 158
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: GMTA
Release Date: October 8, 2012
Buy Links: Kindle, Amazon


About the Author

I live in Essex, England with my son and two cats. I’ve been lucky enough to have worked in some very interesting places – the House of Lords, BBC Radio 4, The Economist Newspaper, a dive shop in Grenada, a charity called Mencap and the local Mayor’s office. Funnily enough, a lot of inspiration for my stories comes from the people I’ve met along the way! A couple of years ago I won an Arts Council award which helped me develop my writing skills. The award, along with the advent of self-publishing, changed my life – I’ve learnt an incredible amount, met many wonderful people, published three children’s books in the series ‘The Burly & Grum Tales’ and, more recently, I’ve published ‘Unlucky Dip’ for young adults. I commute into London and work full time, but when I get home each evening I do what I love most – writing.

Links to connect with Kate:
Web site
Facebook
Twitter
Blog





Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Best of 2012 Giveaway Hop

Enter to win an ebook of Owlet: Society of Feathers #1 by Emma Michaels.

***


Owlet: Society of Feathers #1
by Emma Michaels


Somewhere between falling and flying… there is a girl.

Iris has a secret. She lost her memory eight years ago and never told a living soul. After an asthma attack one night she finds out that her dreams of a strange house on a snowy island may be a memory resurfacing but the more she learns about the past the more she realizes the life she has been living is a lie. As the façade her father has built starts to crumble around her she will have to decide which means more to her; the truth or her life.


Click here to follow the Owlet blog tour and win even more prizes!




a Rafflecopter giveaway


Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Katie Ganshert - Wishing on Willows - Author Interview

Author Interview 

1. How did you come up with the title?
Is it awful if I don’t remember? This is a rare occasion where the title never changed. Authors create working titles for their novels, but those working titles usually get changed at some point during the publication process. For example, the working title for my debut novel was Beneath a Velvet Sky, but was changed to Wildflowers from Winter.

For this one, the title never changed. It’s always been Wishing on Willows. There’s a willow tree in the story that holds a lot of meaning and memories for my main character, Robin Price. So the title came from that aspect of the novel. I remember liking the alliteration and thinking it sounded pretty, so I went with it.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
There are several. The book explores themes of loss, loneliness, letting go, second chances, stepping past the familiar, and figuring out how to deal when life doesn’t turn out as expected.

One of my favorite messages is probably the message of God’s grace and this idea that sometimes, it doesn’t comes in a neat, easily defined package. Sometimes, God’s grace comes to us in unexpected, messy packages. We just have to have eyes to see it.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
If you mean realistic as in what could happen in real life, then definitely all of it.

But if you mean realistic as in what I’ve experienced personally, then that requires a different answer! Thankfully, I haven’t experienced much of what my main character, Robin, experiences. I’m not a widow and I don’t have to face the immense challenge of single parenthood.

However, there are aspects of Robin’s journey that are drawn from personal experience. Like Robin, my husband and I have dealt with infertility. And our journey toward saying yes to adoption was very similar to the emotional journey Robin travels throughout this novel. We had to let go of the vision we created for our future. We had to step away from the familiar and step past our fear of the unknown, realizing that it’s often in those scary, uncharted territories where we experience God most profoundly.

And Robin’s four-year old son Caleb is very much based off of my little man, Brogan. Their personalities are quite similar.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
Hmmm….nothing major, I don’t think. I’m sure if I picked up the final copy and started reading, there would be a thousand little things I’d want to change. Like the phrasing of a sentence or a line of dialogue or a description or a word choice, but this is just my neurotic writer brain at work. A novel is never finished and definitely never perfect, but there reaches a point where you just have to let it go.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
The rewrites! This novel underwent significant rewrites, and more than one round. The final project looks very different than the original. I dealt with a lot of doubt and insecurity as a writer. It’s daunting when you know there are major problems with a novel and you’re not sure you’re equipped to fix them. Thankfully, I have a supportive, encouraging editor and agent who kept me going through the worst of it.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
Oh, tons! I always learn so much whenever I write a novel—not just about the writing process, but about life in general. For instance, there was a line that I wrote in this novel toward the end that came from my hero’s mother and it was a huge light bulb moment for me. It was as if God was saying, “This is for you, Katie. I want you to tuck this in your heart.” It’s always pretty amazing when that happens.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
I think I was born with it. Just like my blue eyes and my broad shoulders, it’s one of the ingredients God used when creating Katie Ganshert. Writing is the way I explore and discover and process. When I was younger, I’d lie in bed and fill notebooks with story after story (all of which are still in my mother’s basement) and then all through high school, I kept a journal (which is absolutely mortifying to go back and read).

I didn’t write my first novel, though, until I was 23 years old. I traveled to Kenya for HIV/AIDS outreach and came home from that trip with a story bursting inside of me. So I sat down that summer and wrote it. It’s a hot mess and safely hidden away in a drawer, but still, that’s when my journey as a novelist officially started.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
Oh, that’s tough! There are so many amazing authors and books out there that I love! But if I had to pick, I’d probably say Francine Rivers. I haven’t read her latest works, but Redeeming Love and most especially, the Mark of the Lion trilogy, are my all-time favorites. In fact, I’m rereading Mark of the Lion with my husband right now. This is his first time reading the series, so it’s like I get to experience it for the first time all over again.

Francine Rivers breaks all sorts of writing craft rules that are in place today, but it doesn’t matter. Her ability to capture truth in fiction and bring the reader along an emotional journey right alongside her characters is almost magical. It’s definitely something I aspire to do.


9. Tell us your latest news.
Wishing on Willows releases March, 2013. I’m not sure what’s in store after that quite yet, but the Lord does! As far as non-writing related news, we’re still in the process of adopting from the Congo. The wait is long and the journey isn’t easy, but we know we’re right where God wants us to be. So we’ll continue to wait and persevere and trust until we have our little Congolese cutie home or the Lord directs us down a different path.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Just that I’m grateful for each and every one of you and I hope my stories leave you blessed and encouraged! You’re the reason I do this publishing thing. Social media has its fair share of positives and negatives, but one of the best positives is how easy it is to connect! I’d love to connect with you on my Facebook page, or my blog, or Twitter. I’d also love to send you a welcome packet if I haven’t already. The sign up button is on the top of my website.


About the Book

Does a second chance at life and love always involve surrender?

A three-year old son, a struggling café, and fading memories are all Robin Price has left of her late husband. As the proud owner of Willow Tree Café in small town Peaks, Iowa, she pours her heart into every muffin she bakes and espresso she pulls, thankful for the sense of purpose and community the work provides.

So when developer Ian McKay shows up in Peaks with plans to build condos where her café and a vital town ministry are located, she isn’t about to let go without a fight.

As stubborn as he is handsome, Ian won’t give up easily. His family’s business depends on his success in Peaks. But as Ian pushes to seal the deal, he wonders if he has met his match. Robin’s gracious spirit threatens to undo his resolve, especially when he discovers the beautiful widow harbors a grief that resonates with his own.

With polarized opinions forming all over town, business becomes unavoidably personal and Robin and Ian must decide whether to cling to the familiar or surrender their plans to the God of Second Chances.

Prices/Formats: $9.99 paperback, $9.99 ebook
Pages: 320
Genre: Contemporary Romance/Christian
Publisher: WaterBrook Press
Release Date: March 19, 2013
Buy Links: Kindle, Amazon, Barnes and Noble


About the Author

Katie Ganshert graduated from the University of Wisconsin in Madison with a degree in education, and worked as a fifth grade teacher for several years before staying home to write full-time. She was born and raised in the Midwest, where she lives with her husband and their young son.

Links to connect with Katie:
Web site
Facebook
Twitter
Blog
Goodreads
Pinterest




Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Friday, December 21, 2012

Marissa Carmel - iFeel - Author Interview

Author Interview 

1. How did you come up with the title?
My zodiac sign. I was reading my horoscope one day and it said Cancer’s catch phrase is ‘I Feel’ and I thought that would be a great name for a book. A few months later when I started writing, that’s what I called it, iFeel, since the main character is a human receptacle for the world’s emotions.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
To be true to yourself, and that the courage inside will give you the greatest power.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
A fair amount. The setting is contemporary, and the issues modern conflicts I believe a wide range of audiences can identify with. Supernatural elements are folded into everyday life adding to the drama, romance and fun.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
Not. One. Word.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Editing! I just never seemed to get it right. Then I got hooked up with the most amazing editor ever. He not only helped my with my grammatical offenses, he really elevated my writing. I owe him a lot, and I’m excited to be working with him on the next novel. Shameless plug, Gravitational Pull. Due out 2013.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I think I could write a novel from everything I learned! The one thing that stands out most is perseverance. I wanted to quit so many times, but for some reason, I just kept pushing. I’m really glad I did, because I’m so happy with the outcome.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Senior year of high school. I was coming off a really bad academic year, and basically gave up all hope of ever liking school, or teachers for that matter. There was a new English teacher in the building, and lucky me, I had her second period. With no expectation, and a huge chip on my shoulder I reluctantly took her class. It was then she gave out those little blue notebooks and asked us answer a series of questions. She was young and cool and for some reason something about her resonated. So I answered the off the wall questions honestly; and very detailed. It was she, who pointed out my descriptive ability. She also restored my faith in the educational system; that year anyway. It all snowballed from there.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
Jonathon Swift. I love satire. That’s probably why my books are filled with snarky commentary.

9. Tell us your latest news.
Gravitational Pull is almost complete and ready for editing! It is very exciting and nerve-racking all at the same time. I’ve been working like crazy these past few months.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Just, that I hope they will give my books a chance. And also, I understand that when you pick up a book, you’re investing time and money, and with my novels, I want to be able to give readers a return.


About the Book

Lust. Anger. Hate. Desire. Love. Happiness. Joy. iFeel.



What happens when an unknowing empath meets a pixie who wears leather, a snitch who is repulsive and a fiery angel who can literally set your soul on fire? A whole lot of emotional turmoil and one love story ignited.



Liv Christianni is isolated, alone, tortured and withdrawn, saddled with the torrential downpour of the world’s emotions. Accepting of her providence Liv has lost all hope, until one day fate steps in and spins the course of her life like a spiraling top. Hunted by a Spirit Stalker, Liv is forced to gain control of herself and her surroundings, threatened by the touch of her immortal love; she must find a way to survive both physically and emotionally. Can she find the courage to accept her true self? Can she love unconditionally cognizant of the condemning consequences? Can she rise from the ashes to become the person she was always meant to be? Funny, witty, real, and poignant, iFeel rips into your soul, and sets your emotions on fire. If you are a fan of Charmed or Supernatural, The Vampire Diaries or The Secret Circle this series is for you!

Prices/Formats: $14.99 paperback, $4.99 ebook
Pages: 382
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Great Minds Independent Ppublishing
Release Date: June 2012
Buy Links: Kindle, Amazon

Excerpt:

I direct my anger towards the mocking bottles of crazy pills settled in the cabinet. I attack them; clearing all the glass shelves in one angered fit. Tiny orange bottles fly all around my white tiled bathroom, exploding an array of colored pills against the walls and floor. It feels like I am bombing my past; liberating my future and releasing myself from whatever binds me. I want to be free, and if that means destroying my whole apartment in the process to get there, I am willing to do that.


I can feel the rage course through my veins; my head throbs and my throat burns as I thrash at my tiny bathroom. All I can hear are the voices of people who mean the most to me, those who encourage me, those who support me. To my surprise, the loudest voice is the one who is farthest away. Justice’s words echo against the tiled surface, telling me to let go, to accept my fate, to be magical and not mental. It makes me miss him all the more, but what he said finally makes sense.


My breaths pulse quickly in my lungs, as if the air is thinning. I have worked myself up into a crazed frenzy to expel my true self. My enraged fit has resulted in a bathroom bloodbath, me versus myself.
And I won.


About the Author

Marissa Carmel has been writing since a young age and although it has always been for personal enjoyment, she finally decided breakout and share her imagination with the world. She hopes that her universe is as fun and intriguing to her readers as it is to her. Marissa Carmel is originally from NJ but moved to Maryland several years ago, she enjoys reading, writing, and catching up on her ever growing DVR library. She is currently working on the sequel to iFeel, Gravitational Pull and the third and final installment of the Vis Vires trilogy, Constellation.

Links to connect with Marissa:
Web site
Facebook
Twitter




Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Mid-Winters Eve Blog Hop

Enter to win an ebook of Owlet: Society of Feathers #1 by Emma Michaels.

***


Owlet: Society of Feathers #1
by Emma Michaels


Somewhere between falling and flying… there is a girl.

Iris has a secret. She lost her memory eight years ago and never told a living soul. After an asthma attack one night she finds out that her dreams of a strange house on a snowy island may be a memory resurfacing but the more she learns about the past the more she realizes the life she has been living is a lie. As the façade her father has built starts to crumble around her she will have to decide which means more to her; the truth or her life.


Click here to follow the Owlet blog tour and win even more prizes!




a Rafflecopter giveaway


Sonya Watson - The Tide Breaker - Character Guest Post

Character Guest Post 

Michael’s Memoirs
I am dead inside

I envisioned cradling my mother’s body as she died. My heart was filled to the brim with regret since she died without any of us by her side. The monsters that prowled the night as well as the day took my mother from me. I vowed as a man, human and hunter I would rid the world of the plague the Guardians knew as the Strangelings. Life filled my soul and travelled to my limbs and escaped through my smile. But now the reaper was my shadow. Many have died by my hand. My heart knew no joy or misery. My innards have been carved out leaving an empty shell. “Who would love me?” I was loved once. In the beginning, love blossomed and happiness was infinite. But when death came for my mother I no longer had time to entertain the trivial matters of love. Rage consumed my thoughts, revenge filled my heart and wrath tainted my spirit. “Am I any better than the things I hunt?” Although I have shoved love aside, it stalked me like a hunter would stalk its prey. Whether night or day, snow or rain, the memories of what it was to love would find me. I was lost on the path called revenge. Anger pulled the strings of the limbs that wielded the weapons. The blood of the enemy covered my hands and stained my core but concern was absent since what I needed was irrelevant. My mother was dead and my father was absent. I had no one. All I needed was me. My resolve was tested many times but I remained true to the mission until Abrianna. The light from her soul beamed when she smiled, her voice calmed the ravenous seas of hate and her touch warmed a heart encased in stone. Maybe just maybe she will help me find my way.


About the Book

Once upon a time, there was a sixteen year-old girl that lost both her parents under unusual circumstances. Abrianna was lonely and found some comfort in the arms of her boyfriend, Michael. Life turned grim when she realizes that a man, who was once the enforcer of fate, wanted her to die. The disgraced enforcer had taken great steps to ensure Abrianna’s death and planned to do this by enlisting the help of humans and creatures without their knowledge. Evil had washed over the land the humans named Dainesville. Abrianna had the power to heal the land and when she did she would return prosperity to the lives of the townspeople. When the time came for Abrianna to stand alongside her half-brother, Stephen, to fight the coming evil she did so without hesitation. Life ended. Darkness fell. Love faded. The End?

Prices/Formats: $2.50-$2.99 ebook
Pages: 168
Genre: Dark Paranormal Romance
Release Date: September 29, 2012
Buy Links: Amazon, Smashwords


About the Author

I am a 27 year-old Jamaican Canadian attempting to find my place in the world. I have a BA in Kinesiology and I am pursing a graduate diploma in Culture and Heritage Site Management. I am a lover of chocolate, shoes and baked goods. I love the freedom I feel when I dance, run or write. I am a feminine tomboy and a cynical romantic.

Links to connect with Sonya:
Facebook
Goodreads





Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Mike Evers - The Spirit Archer - Author Interview

Author Interview 

1. How did you come up with the title?
I knew I didn’t want the title to be a direct reference to the legendary character in the book, but I did want to allude to the supernatural element. At first I toyed with the title of ‘The Spirit in the Woods’, but the end title was far more appropriate and catchy. 


2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
It’s a coming of age story. We have to take opportunities when they appear to us. We need a little help sometimes, though.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
I tried to make the historical elements as realistic and gritty as possible. This contrasts with the cosy and familiar present day setting. The modern Yorkshire locations are genuine, as is the legend. However, the names have been changed a bit.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
Hmm? Seeing some of the review feedback, I’d possibly change one or two phrases. I’d also perhaps make it a bit longer, but I always intended it to be of a size that schoolboys (in particular) would have the patience to read through.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Like Dorothy Parker once said, it’s all about getting your bottom on the chair and typing out the words. I’m an awful procrastinator!

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I put a lot of thought into the structure of The Spirit Archer, and I guess it’s something I’m still working on in my writing. I suppose the main thing is learning about the publishing and promotion process, and how to take reviews.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
It’s always been there – at least since my teens. I just wanted to gather more knowledge and experience before I started doing it. It’s quite scary at first, knowing that people are reading and judging your work.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I’d have to say JRR Tolkien. The scope of his imagination and creativity was breath-taking. He even created whole new languages for the denizens of ‘Middle-earth’. He was an Oxford professor of linguistics and an expert in myths and legends. Oh, and he could create incredibly captivating characters and situations. What a dude!

9. Tell us your latest news.
I’m well into writing the third of the ‘Hopfield Tales’. The Spirit Archer is the first of these and Campaign of the Gods is the second. I’m please to say that I’m having a lot of fun writing it and I can promise you it will be another entertaining story with a historical twist. The title is likely to be Mark of the Legion. The first two tales have been about medieval bowmen and Vikings. Can you guess the historical angle of the forthcoming one?


10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Please check out my debut novel, too. It’s a bit different to my Hopfield stories, and is about luck goblins and Chaos Theory. It’s called The Chaosifier.


About the Book

Some secrets are meant to be shared; and a boy’s encounter with England’s most legendary archer will change his life forever. 



In 1237, a man journeys to a priory in Yorkshire to seek refuge and treatment for battle wounds. He is betrayed and murdered. His final, dying act is to fire an arrow through a window, asking to be buried where it lands.



Nearly eight hundred years later, a schoolboy’s incredible discovery will lead to a friendship that will alter his life forever. 



And he’ll hear some tales and secrets of England’s most legendary archer of all.

Prices/Formats: $6.00 paperback, $2.99-$3.15 ebook
Pages: 74
Genre: Young Adult/Urban Fantasy
Publisher: Great Minds Think Aloud Publishing
Release Date: March 2012
Buy Links: Kindle, Nook, Amazon, Barnes and Noble


About the Author

Mike often taps out stuff on his keyboard in the fantasy, urban fantasy and paranormal genres: a habit which his wife finds fairly amusing - and sometimes a little bit strange. So far he has published two novellas - The Spirit Archer and Campaign of the Gods - with GMTA Publishing. These form part of The Hopfield Tales. The third and final tale is due out in early 2013.

Mike's debut novel, The Chaosifier, is also available on Amazon, where it is ambushing unsuspecting fans of contemporary fantasy with its general mischief and mayhem. Mike's educational background is in History, International Conflict Analysis and Education. He is qualified as a teacher in ESOL and Adult Literacy, and lives and works in West Yorkshire. He's married to a long-suffering wife, Joanne, and they have a young son called Joseph.

Links to connect with Mike:
Blog
Facebook
Twitter




Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

J.A. Campbell - Summer Break Blues - Author Interview & Giveaway

Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?
Well, that sort of starts with the original book in the series, Senior Year Bites. I wanted something that matched that title. Picking titles is really hard for me so I agonized for a long time, and eventually came up with the title while I was driving to the airport for my day job. It was one of those ah ha! Moments that leave you grinning.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
The importance of good friends, and trust and standing by them.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
All of it. I followed the life of a teen vampire very closely while researching this book. Um, hehe, uh, sorry. It’s set in our world of course, but it’s fantasy. I tried to get the world details right but leave them vague enough that people could fill in their own blanks, and the interactions between the characters of the books are pretty realistic but as far as I know, vampires and werewolves don’t actually exist. That’s the fun of Urban Fantasy though, mixing the real with the fantasy.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
Yeah, I’d mix up the character races a little to make that more realistic. I wasn’t thinking about any of that when I wrote the first book and by the time I realized that all of my characters where white, it was already published. I’ve become more conscious of things like that in the last few years.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
The middle. The middle is always the hardest.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
Sequels are hard. But I learned that I could do it.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Sort of. I’ve been a voracious reader most of my life and somewhere in there I decided to write an illustrated kids book about Willy the bookworm. I was pretty young and I just kept writing from there. I always enjoyed it in school. I got serious about it in college when I started my first real novel. I really enjoyed what I was doing and decided to chase that dream of becoming a published Author. I regret nothing.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
Hmm, I have two favorites, though there are tons of authors I really really enjoy and will buy anything they write. Timothy Zahn and Kristen Britain. Both of them have great characters, clean writing and really interesting situations. What I like most about Mr. Zahn is that he writes very human tales in very interesting settings. He’s a Sci Fi author. Ms. Britain writes great stories and writes horses well, which is rare.

9. Tell us your latest news.
Summer Break Blues just came out in November and I recently had a story in a ghost story anthology come out at the end of November. I just released my first steampunk novella and I have a short story coming out in late January. Lots to read!

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Thank you so much for reading! You guys make writing worth it.


About the Book

Meg managed to survive her senior year of high school as a vampire, and now she’s looking forward to a relaxing summer with her friends before trying to tackle college. Unfortunately, some unfinished business from the previous year rears its ugly head. Meg is forced to deal with the Sidhe who are distinctly unhappy that she killed one of their kind last winter. Then Ann’s parents vanish while on their annual summer vacation in Maine and it’s up to Meg and the rest of the gang to come to the rescue. Though she is still trying to figure out who and what she has become, Meg feels she and her friends are up to the challenge. That is, until things really start to fall apart.

Prices/Formats: $4.99-$5.99 ebook
Pages: 54,000 words
Genre: Young Adult Urban Fantasy
Publisher: Bono Books, YA division of Decadent Publishing
Release Date: November 12, 2012
Buy Link: Kindle, BonoBookstore.com


About the Author

Julie writes fantasy novels and short stories about Vampires, Dogs hunting Vampires, Horses, and many other entertaining things.

Julie has been many things over the last few years, from college student, to bookstore clerk and an over the road trucker. She's worked as a 911 dispatcher and in computer tech support, but through it all she's been a writer and when she's not out riding horses, she can usually be found sitting in front of her computer. She lives in Colorado with her three cats, her vampire-hunting dog in training, Kira, and her Irish Sailor.

She is the author of the vampire and ghost hunting dog series, the Clanless series the Into The West series and many other short stories and novels.

Links to connect with Julie:
Web Site/Blog
Facebook
Twitter



About the Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Monday, December 17, 2012

Olivia Hardin - Witch Way Bends - Author Interview

Author Interview

1. If you could invite any 5 people to dinner who would you choose?
Uhm… Hugh Jackman because he’s yummy, Angelina Jolie because she’s sexy and smart, Kris Kristofferson because I’ve heard he’s a road scholar, Michio Kaku because I’m a science nerd and I love watching him talk about the universe… and last, my mom, because I’d want her to share this fantastic dinner party with me!

2. What is your favorite flavor of ice cream? 
Chocolate chip… but it can’t be just any brand. It has to be Blue Bell. It’s a Texas thing…

3. Night owl, or early bird? 
Early bird… I tend to crater by 10:00 pm and I’m up between 5:30 and 6:00 am!

4. Any other books in the works? Goals for future projects? 
The final book in my Bend-Bite-Shift Trilogy will be released any day now. I’m also working on the first full-length book in my super-fun MAUCs series which began with a Novelette “Trolling for Trouble” in October.

5. What inspired you to want to become a writer? 
Dreams inspire me. From my teenage years on I had “character dreams.” My consciousness in those dreams floated amongst all the people in the dream. It made those visions tangible and they stuck in my mind into the next day… eventually I know I needed to put those dreams to paper.

6. Tell us your most rewarding experience since being published. 
That’s easy. I had so many people help me get to this point along the way and the best experience has been to be able to give back to others. I’m honored when people contact me and ask for advice. I still have so much to learn but I love mentoring others.

7. Is there a song you could list as the theme song for your book or any of your characters? 
For my newest release, Shifty Business the theme song would be “Try” by Pink. Even the video epitomizes the essence of the book… the push and pull of relationships and the marks, good and bad, that she leave on each other.

8. What’s one piece of advice you would give aspiring authors? 
Find support. I would never have become a published author were it not for the group of fellow writer who had mentored me. Writing is the easy part. Becoming good and getting published and building success is hard. It can’t be done without people to listen, to encourage, to give you a good shove when necessary. My fellow writers are an invaluable resource to me.

9. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be? 
As long as I’m living somewhere in Texas, I’m good.

10. When you were little, what did you want to be when you “grew up”? 
An artist when I was really young and then eventually…. A writer!

11. Can you see yourself in any of your characters? 
Uhm… yes, very much so. Devan has my insecurities, Jill has my penchant for talking excessively (especially when nervous), and Gerry… well, she has my fear of flying. Haha!

12. What’s the craziest writing idea you’ve had? 
I have this weird idea about a futuristic story with a justice system in which convicted murderers are implanted with a device that will kill them at the exact time of day in which they killed their victims, only they won’t know the day. They just have to go on indefinitely until they drop dead… I know, crazy and morbid and weird.

13. What’s the best advice anyone has ever given you? 
Love yourself first. You won’t have anything to give anyone else unless you learn to love you.

14. Favorite Candy? 
Lucky Country Strawberry Licorice… mmmmm

15. Nickname? 
Trouble. My close friends pretty much know me as Trouble. I’m fierce about standing up for things and people I believe it.

16. Give us a glimpse into a typical day in your day starting when you wake up till you lie down again. 
I have a regimen. We live on a lake and so we wake up each morning and drink coffee out on the deck. After cooking and eating breakfast, we walk our little Corgi mix and then she and the hubby give me a kiss and a hug and send me off to my day job (a legal assistant.) On my lunch break I try to catch up on promo work, blogging, etc. When I get home we eat supper then I try to take an hour or two to write. I’m in bed usually around 9:00 and I read and/or watch TV until we his the sack by 10:00… and that is my very boring day!

17. What’s your favorite season/weather? 
I love winter. When we moved here to East Texas I was so thrilled that we had two years of a very beautiful snowfall in the winter… being from the Texas Gulf Coast we didn’t get much snow at all.

18. Who or what inspired you to become an author? 
I had wanted to be a writer since I was in high school. It’s in my blood, its part of me, it feeds my soul. In 2010 I got a Kindle for Christmas and happened upon a book by H.P. Mallory. When I read about how she self-published I was intrigued. I joined a Facebook group she created for aspiring writers and from there I met a super talented group of people… the folks in that group inspired me.

19. What TV show/movie/book do you watch/read that you’d be embarrassed to admit? 
Uhm, not sure if I’m embarrassed, but I’m a trekkie. Preferably Star Trek Next Generation… I could watch the episodes, read the books over and over. I was totally geeked out in high school when my godmother took me to a convention and I got to meet Jonathan Frakes!



Buy Now @ Amazon and Smashwords

Genre – Paranormal Romance

Rating – PG

More details about the author and the book

Connect with Olivia Hardin on Facebook and Twitter

Barry Johnson - Unbridled Greed - Author Interview

Author Interview 

1. How did you come up with the title?
Greed, opportunity and entitlement are what drives both licensed providers and professional crooks to commit health care fraud.  Of those motivators, "Greed" I believe is the most powerful, and the word that I thought would be most compelling to someone considering books on a shelf.  "Unbridled" was chosen from a list of words that were synonymous with "unlimited" or "unrestrained", the aspects of fraud that ultimately result in the apprehension of the culprits (boldness due to early success results in sloppiness and overreaching, which even in our flawed detection systems eventually gets detected).

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Absolutely. Health care fraud and abuse is a 300 to 500 billion dollar a year problem in this country and not only are licensed providers now guilty of it but major crime rings are stealing a larger portion of our health care dollars every year. These crimes cost every family in the country over $5,000 a year either in wasted tax revenue or increased health care insurance premiums. If the general population were more engaged, more aware of the extent of the problem and how it affects them, we could all play a larger role in helping prevent it. 


3. How much of the book is realistic?
The actual fraud schemes, detection techniques and limitations of detection and enforcement are all based on actual crimes and real schemes.  The murders, other violence, and the characters are fictitious, but are representative of actual criminal activities that are now growing more and more common because of the involvement of multiple organized crime rings.    


4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
Yes. I feel the second half of the book is better written and involves less lecturing/teaching about health care fraud, but pursuant to question #2, education was one of the reasons I wanted to write this series.  My editor told me fiction is for fun, not for education, but I learn a lot about the law when I read a Grisham novel, and so I hoped I would be able to mix in a little education.  I believe now that I have some experience I could do it better the next time in the next story.  More story, faster pacing, more description of the characters, who in my mind I can see clearly but that may be a problem for the reader, and fewer teaching moments. Also, I think I would shorten the dialog and make it more realistic and natural in the first part of the book because I think I got better at it in the last half. 


5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Writing it multiple times. I submitted a portion of the first draft to a carefully chosen editor and he blasted me and told me I needed to understand Point of View and tense and needed to read a couple of books he recommended, which I did.  So I re-wrote it the first time.  Then the entire newly re-worked manuscript went to that same editor and he edited it again. I then included all his punctuation changes, and re-wrote many sections he didn't like or commented needed change.  So I essentially re-wrote it the second time, it took 6 weeks of 9 hour days to accomplish that task.  After I converted it for the publisher to a book format/layout, I made additional changes along the way. Re-works are very challenging and when you consider every chapter was written at least 3 times before the editor even saw the first draft, that's the most difficult part of the process in my opinion.


6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I began to learn a new skill and to appreciate aspects of good writing that I was never aware of.  As a reader you know what you like personally about a book and a style of writing, but you have no idea of how it is achieved. I was never consciously  aware of a story pace that appealed to me as a reader until I read the first things I wrote and could tell it was too slow/boring.  I was never aware of differing POV's, thinking rather that the narrator was always a disinterested and objective observer, and that piece of knowledge was the biggest thing I learned other than the time and dedication it takes to actually write 140,000 words and keep the story straight and moving forward. In the process of selecting an editor and a printer and distributor I also learned there are sharks in the waters preying on amateur authors. Many are trying to get you to pay up front and sign contracts that no one with any experience would ever agree to. I'm thankful I've been in the business world for 40 years.

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
As a sophomore in high school I was blessed to be in an accelerated English class where Mrs. Baumgartner tutored 12 fortunate students for a solid year on how to write and use the English language.  Those skills were honed in college and in dental school and in my professional career over the last 40 years.  I have written articles and contributed to other authors' works but never undertook writing a fictional manuscript before now. I also learned in college that interesting writing in exams can make up for lack of knowledge in many cases.




8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I have two. John Grisham and Malcolm Gladwell. The commonality between their works is that I gain a perspective of some aspect of our everyday world and environment that I was not previously aware of and many times had not even thought about. Gladwell is unique and presents thought provoking perspectives and describes things we've all experienced but never dissected or though about (BLINK was a revelation about something that governed many of my decisions every day, but which I never really thought was universally valid). Grisham, he is the master of story telling, pace, twists and revelation. I have always thought capital punishment was 90% good until I read The Confession which gave me a new perspective and modified my thinking. This is a common experience I have in every book he writes and I read. Also, the moral aspect of his stories allows us to see the good and bad in all situations and we see how his characters deal with those issues.  The fact that we see good and moral outcomes and decisions from his characters is something missing in many author's works.  I love almost everything he writes.

9. Tell us your latest news.
I am working on another manuscript that deals with drug and pharmacy fraud and medical identity theft.  I just spent 3 days at the National Health Care Anti Fraud Association's Annual Conference where I signed nearly 300 books and met a lot of interesting professionals in the anti-fraud business. I also attended several classes on the latest fraud schemes and most recent convictions.


10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Buy the book and read a good story that hopefully will awaken you to the realities of a serious problem that is continually understated by our government and the health care industry. Because they cannot fully control it and they can't accurately measure it they downplay the magnitude of it.  Medicaid and Medicare have the most serious abuse and fraud problems but so does every commercial insurer.  Some are becoming more proactive and are preventing fraud but the growing problem of medical identity theft and the public's lack of concern and involvement in reporting or even being aware of it will only worsen as health care reform covers more and more previously uninsured individuals. 



About the Book

A tough, tenacious DOJ investigator, Bryan Hampton is hot on the trail of a greedy doctor suspected of insurance fraud. But when this major medical fraud investigation is suddenly and shockingly derailed by politics, greed, and bribes, Hampton decides he's had enough of Chicago's dirty politics and cronyism—let alone fighting corruption on both sides.

Hampton transfers to Las Vegas and teams with Paul Dixon, with whom he shares a common goal: aggressively fighting the health care fraud and abuse that victimizes countless patients and robs every American household of thousands of dollars each year. Soon, Hampton and his team uncover a massive fraud scheme operating beneath the bright lights of Sin City. But this highly organized and highly sophisticated band of fraudsters will stop at nothing—violence, torture, and even murder. As he launches a pulse-quickening quest for justice, Hampton will realize the peril of fighting this good fight. This might be the fight of Bryan Hampton’s life—or, if he’s not careful, it could be the fight for his life….

Prices/Formats: $14.99 paperback
Pages: 362
Genre: Fiction, Thriller
Publisher: Rocochi Ridge Publishing
Release Date: November 2012
Buy Links: Amazon, Pathway Book Service


About the Author

A native of Las Vegas, Dr. Barry L. Johnson was a founding partner, President and CEO of HealthCare Insight (HCI), a health care fraud and abuse detection and prevention organization for 15 years. Prior to founding HCI, Johnson worked in medical software, publication, and database development with Medical Data Research and Medicode where he was a senior vice president. Johnson earned his D.D.S. at Northwestern University School of Dentistry and a B.S. at the University of Utah. He and his wife Joyce have 5 married children and 15 grandchildren. They live in Utah. Johnson is currently at work on the second thriller in the series, Deliberate Misdirection.

Links to connect with Barry:
Web site




Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Friday, December 14, 2012

End of the World Giveaway Hop

Enter to win an ebook of Owlet: Society of Feathers #1 by Emma Michaels.

***


Owlet: Society of Feathers #1
by Emma Michaels


Somewhere between falling and flying… there is a girl.

Iris has a secret. She lost her memory eight years ago and never told a living soul. After an asthma attack one night she finds out that her dreams of a strange house on a snowy island may be a memory resurfacing but the more she learns about the past the more she realizes the life she has been living is a lie. As the façade her father has built starts to crumble around her she will have to decide which means more to her; the truth or her life.


Click here to follow the Owlet blog tour and win even more prizes!




a Rafflecopter giveaway


Thursday, December 13, 2012

Kelly Oram - V is for Virgin - Author Interview & Giveaway

Author Interview

1. How did you come up with the title?
In the book, Val wears a “V” necklace. The V stands for Valerie, but after she professes her virginity to the entire school the kids start making fun of her and saying that the V stands for Virgin. I didn’t have a title for the book until I got to that part, but it fit so perfectly that there was never any question after that. It also became the name of Val’s “campaign” and her website in the book.

2. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
I didn’t intentionally set out to write a book with a message, but it’s definitely there. This book is about knowing yourself and standing up for what you believe in. It’s about making choices for you and not giving in to peer pressure.

3. How much of the book is realistic?
I suppose that depends. Most people don’t personally know celebrities and have to deal with fame the way Val does, but everyone can relate to her situation in one way or another. We all have to deal with the pressures of sexual relationships at some point. We all experience peer pressure and probably feel persecuted by our classmates at some point. That aspect of the book is very realistic.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
After as many rewrites as I just went through, I don’t know that there’s anything left that hasn’t already been changed. Ask me again ten years from now.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Finishing it. For some reason this one was always my “in between” novel. I’d write a chapter or two then start a different novel and not come back to it until that one was finished. I think I wrote three other novels between the time I started and finished V.

6. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I think V taught me discipline more than any of my other novels. Not that I didn’t like the story, but there was a time when I didn’t think I’d ever finish it. I learned how to push myself through a slump and I am so glad I did!

7. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
I’ve always had trouble sleeping. My brain tends to run on overdrive and I have a hard time shutting it off. I remember lying in bed at nights when I was just a little girl and daydreaming up all kinds of adventures to pass the time. Then I would get frustrated when I couldn’t remember them from one night to the next, so I started writing them down.

8. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
There are so many authors that I love to bits and pieces, but Meg Cabot has to be my favorite. I mostly love the tone of her books. They’re always light and fun whether they’re contemporary, sci-fi or fantasy. I also love that they’re always squeaky clean. That’s harder to accomplish than it looks! Meg is a great role model and I love her quirky writing style.

9. Tell us your latest news.
Well, obviously V is for Virgin is finally here, which is great news. But I’ve also got another release coming up pretty fast. My next book, a YA paranormal romance titled Chameleon, is set to release summer 2013 and is the first in a 4-book series! I’m also currently working on two more Jamie Baker books, so the next few years are going to be very busy for me.

10. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I always want to say thank you to my readers. I can’t ever say it enough! I have been overwhelmed by the response to V is for Virgin and feel truly blessed to be able to share my stories with you. Thank you, thank you, thank you for all the support!


About the Book

When Val Jensen gets dumped for her decision to stay a virgin until marriage, the nasty breakup goes viral on YouTube, making her the latest internet sensation.

After days of ridicule from her peers, Val starts a school-wide campaign to rally support for her cause. She meant to make a statement, but she never dreamed the entire nation would get caught up in the controversy.

As if becoming nationally recognized as “Virgin Val” isn’t enough, Val’s already hectic life starts to spin wildly out of control when bad boy Kyle Hamilton, lead singer for the hit rock band Tralse, decides to take her abstinence as a personal challenge.

How can a girl stay true to herself when this year’s Sexiest Man Alive is doing everything in his power to win her over?

Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Bluefields
Release Date: December 11, 2012


About the Author

Kelly Oram wrote her first novel at age fifteen–a fan fiction about her favorite music group, The Backstreet Boys, for which family and friends still tease her. She's obsessed with reading, talks way too much, and loves to eat frosting by the spoonful. She lives outside of Phoenix, Arizona with her husband and four children.

Links to connect with Kelly:
Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads




TOUR GIVEAWAY
$30 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Open Internationally
Ends 1/6/13

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Tribute Books Blog Tours 
Put our promotional experience to work for your book.

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Marissa Carmel - iFeel - Cover Reveal

We are honoured to join Marissa today as she reveals her brand new cover for iFeel.

iFeel has been regenred as New Adult and we think this is the PERFECT cover!! We hope you agree too!!


Lust. Anger. Hate. Desire. Love. Happiness. Joy. iFeel. Liv Christianni is isolated, alone, tortured and withdrawn, saddled with the torrential downpour of the world’s emotions. 

Accepting of her providence Liv has lost all hope, until one day fate steps in and spins the course of her life like a spiraling top. Hunted by a Spirit Stalker, Liv is forced to gain control of herself and her surroundings, threatened by the touch of her immortal love; she must find a way to survive both physically and emotionally as her reality is shaken up like dice on a Craps table. 

Can she find the courage to accept her true self? Can she love unconditionally cognizant of the condemning consequences? Can she rise from the ashes to become the person she was always meant to be? 

Funny, witty, real, and poignant, iFeel rips into your soul, and sets your emotions on fire. If you are a fan of Charmed or Supernatural, The Vampire Diaries or The Secret Circle this series is for you! 

Amazon



Marissa Carmel has been writing since a young age and although it has always been for personal enjoyment, she finally decided to break out and share her imagination with the world. She hopes that her universe is as fun and intriguing to her readers as it is to her. 

Marissa Carmel is originally from NJ but moved to Maryland several years ago, she enjoys reading, writing, and catching up on her DVR library. She is currently working on the sequel to iFeel, Gravitational Pull, which she hopes to release sometime in 2012.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Robert Gray - Eve Hallows series - Book Blast & Giveaway


EVE HALLOWS AND THE BOOK OF SHRIEKS (BOOK 1)

For fourteen-year-old Eve Hallows, life can be summed up in one word—horrible.  She has the most horrible friends.  She lives in a horrible old castle.  Even her family is a bunch of horrible monsters.

However, in the monster-inhabited world of Gravesville—a world where messages are sent through Ouija boards, jack-o’-lanterns get facials to suit their moods, and the worst thing Eve has to deal with are those annoying zombie tourists who overrun her favorite graveyard during the Halloween season—horrible means wonderful.  And everything for Eve is perfectly horrible.

But her life is about to go head over heels when a mysterious group known as The Source starts terrorizing Gravesville.  Now she must move to the human world—where everything is opposite ... and for Eve, that's absolutely adorable!


Praise for Eve Hallows and the Book of Shrieks:

"Move over, Neil Gaiman’s CORALINE and THE GRAVEYARD BOOK … make room, Lemony Snicket’s A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS … you’ve got company and competition for shelf space!" -- THE HORROR FICTION REVIEW

"WOW! What an absolutely horrible book (horrible meaning fantastic!) ... This book was laugh out loud funny.  I loved when Mom accidentally turned people to stone.  Dad's crazy attempts at running a pizza store were just hysterical." -- KIDS 'N' BOOKS

"This is the perfect book to be read aloud, read at night under the covers or simply devoured in one sitting. Robert Gray’s Eve Hallows and the Book of Shrieks simply shines with all of its fun creepiness, compelling characters and stellar writing. A MUST read for any MG fan!" -- WORD SPELUNKING

 "Eve Hallows is highly imaginative without being too complex for its target audience. Fall in love with Eve, her friends and her family of adorable monsters. Lose yourself in a light read that will remind you of those days when your English teacher just want you to read something, anything. This book is it. The one that you wish you read when you were in grade school." -- JOYOUS READS

"Overall, this book was fantastic. It presents an admirable role model as well as a strong family unit which will benefit young readers. When so many books right now have presented teens in a not-so-flattering light, it is so wonderful to find a book like this one." -- BOOK COVER JUSTICE


Purchase



EVE HALLOWS AND THE BOOK OF SHADOWS (BOOK 2)

Ever since encountering The Source and its minions on Halloween, Eve Hallows has found life surprisingly quiet … not to mention adorably boring!  So when Dad receives a Ouija message that she must return to Gravesville, Eve couldn't be happier—at least until she discovers the Director of URNS, also known as the Grim Reaper, has a special job for Eve … one that will lead her to New York City and to the true identity of The Source.


With The Book of Shrieks offering zero help and a new URNS agent driving the school boys—and Eve!—crazy, Eve's beginning to realize this whole saving-the-world nonsense isn't what it's cracked up to be.

All this and she still has to find The Book of Shadows....

Praise for Eve Hallows and the Book of Shadows:

"This book was perfectly horrible! Horrible meaning amazingly awesome, of course. Eve's world once again sucked me in and would not let go until this part of Eve's story was finished" -- LILI LOST IN A BOOK

"This is a perfect combination of YA, Horror, Paranormal and Fun!" -- BOOK LOVERS PARADISE



Purchase



Blog Tour: December 10th to 23rd

Tour Schedule



Author Robert Gray

Robert Gray is a writer.  If that job description doesn't impress you, how about fantasy writer? Too general? Well, he doesn't get insulted if you call him a horror writer. If horror's not your thing, then scratch out horror and replace it with suspense. And for the kiddies, you can slap on a YA or MG in front of that title.

Gray lives in Bushkill, Pennsylvania with his wife and two children.






Book Blast $50 Giveaway
Ends 12/23/12

*You need not enter your twitter name for each entry. Simply enter it when you follow Robert and leave the others blank.

Open to anyone who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent's permission. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


a Rafflecopter giveaway