Monday, April 14, 2014

The Rainy Day Killer up for 2014 Arthur Ellis Award for best crime novel

Press Release
For Immediate Release

(Ottawa, April 11, 2014) The Rainy Day Killer by Michael J. McCann, the fourth book in the Donaghue and Stainer Crime Novel series, has been selected to the longlist for the 2014 Arthur Ellis Award for best crime novel of the year.

Established in 1984 and named after the alias of Canada's official hangman, the Arthur Ellis Awards are awarded annually by the Crime Writers of Canada for excellence in Canadian crime writing. Past winners of the best novel award include William Deverell, Linwood Barclay, Louise Penny, and Peter Robinson. The shortlist for the award will be announced on April 24, 2014, and the winner on June 5, 2014.

The Rainy Day Killer is a police procedural in which the series protagonists, Lt. Hank Donaghue and Det. Karen Stainer, pursue a terrifying serial killer who wears a business suit and carries an umbrella as he kidnaps unsuspecting victims, whenever it rains. Series favorite Karen Stainer finds her focus affected, however, by plans for her upcoming wedding and threats by the Rainy Day Killer to choose her as his next victim.

Other novels in the series include Blood Passage (2011), Marcie's Murder (2012), and The Fregoli Delusion (2012).

A native of Peterborough, Ontario, Canada, Michael J. McCann now lives and writes in Oxford Station, Ontario. His website is

For more information contact:

The Plaid Raccoon Press

No comments:

Post a Comment